Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2024, 05:07:19 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Instawallet Problems - Was told Jav could help  (Read 862 times)
gundalf (OP)

Activity: 4
Merit: 0

View Profile
January 19, 2013, 04:50:44 AM
Last edit: January 19, 2013, 11:47:50 PM by gundalf

I'm new to bitcoins and a few other things so I'll try to keep this brief.  I purchased coins through BitInstant and sent them to my Instawallet URL.  At the time I was using the tor browser.  Once I paid for the bitcoins I saw them in my Instawallet and clicked over to another tab to start the process of moving them, when I clicked back the page was displaying that it had timed out and I couldn't get it to refresh.  I hit the new identity button in tor since that usually kick starts pages for some reason, and it killed tor, reopened it, and reopened my Instawallet. When my Instawallet came back up the coin count was zero.  When I set it up I had initially saved my URL and btc address (as advised), however when I contacted BitInstant about my transaction they told me that the blockchain info showed that my transaction had gone through and sent me a link.  

I checked out the blockchain info that they sent me and it seemed good, however every time I checked my Instawallet the btc count is zero. I noticed that the btc address that BitInstant provided me did not match what I had saved when I created my Instawallet.  My concern is that somehow (possibly through my own fault, I'm not sure) that a new Instawallet was created and that ended up being where my bitcoins were sent.  I have all of the information including the amount of bitcoins purchased, USD amount, and order information for BitInstant, ZipZap, and of course the btc address the funds were sent to as well as my original wallet I was trying to send them to.