Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 02:53:52 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Add a "low priority" setting for Windoze?  (Read 2765 times)
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2013, 03:30:37 AM
Last edit: January 21, 2013, 06:07:52 AM by CIYAM Open
 #1

Running bitcoin-qt on a not so powerful laptop running XP can be a pain as it consumes basically all CPU every time it validates a new block (so every 10 minutes or so my computer *freezes* for generally around 5 seconds which feels like a long time when you're trying to code).

Of course I know how to lower the priority of the bitcoin-qt process (and do this for now) but I think this makes for a pretty bad new user experience (especially if you are catching up blocks) and I would guess that many users may not even know how to adjust the process priority.

So maybe it would be a good idea to have a setting to "Run as low priority"?

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
1714056832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714056832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714056832
Reply with quote  #2

1714056832
Report to moderator
1714056832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714056832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714056832
Reply with quote  #2

1714056832
Report to moderator
1714056832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714056832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714056832
Reply with quote  #2

1714056832
Report to moderator
Activity + Trust + Earned Merit == The Most Recognized Users on Bitcointalk
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714056832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714056832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714056832
Reply with quote  #2

1714056832
Report to moderator
1714056832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714056832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714056832
Reply with quote  #2

1714056832
Report to moderator
grue
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1431



View Profile
January 21, 2013, 04:09:15 AM
 #2

Code:
#ifndef WIN32
#include <Windows.h>
#endif
[...]
SetPriorityClass(GetCurrentProcess(), BELOW_NORMAL_PRIORITY_CLASS);

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2013, 04:55:41 AM
 #3

Sure and I have coded SetPriorityClass before - but I was suggesting something that might be more usable for Gavin's Grandma than an API call - let's say a check box perhaps? Smiley

Hmm... just realised I posted this in the wrong sub-forum (should have been posted in Development & Technical Discussion) - any mod want to move this for me?

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
dree12
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1077



View Profile
January 21, 2013, 05:27:57 AM
 #4

Any mod want to move this for me?
You can do so yourself.
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2013, 05:48:12 AM
 #5

You can do so yourself.

Oh - how?

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1065



View Profile
January 21, 2013, 05:56:26 AM
 #6

Oh - how?
start /b /belownormal c:\program files\bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe

from the command line; or you can make a shortcut:

c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe /c start /b /belownormal c:\program files\bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2013, 06:00:13 AM
 #7

I *know* how to do these things (changing the priority either from a shortcut or from the Task Manager or in code, etc.).

I posted in the wrong sub-forum and I thought that I was being told I can *move* my topic so that is what I want to know "how to do".

Can someone please explain "how do I move this topic"?

(actually maybe I'll just delete it as it looks as though it will take me more time to explain what the purpose of this topic is than I think I can be bothered with)

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1065



View Profile
January 21, 2013, 06:06:36 AM
 #8

Can someone please explain "how do I move this topic"?

(actually maybe I'll just delete it as it looks as though it will take me more time to explain what the purpose of this topic is than I think I can be bothered with)

I'm sorry, I misunderstood your request.

The "move topic" is somewhere on the bottom of the page on the left, next to the "lock topic".

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2013, 06:08:48 AM
 #9

IIRC the "move thread" is somewhere on the bottom of the page on the left.

Thanks!

I had actually never noticed that link was there before (wasn't trying to be lazy).

Finally moved to where it should have been originally posted (must be a bit tired today).

Smiley

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1072
Merit: 1174


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2013, 10:36:52 PM
 #10

I'm quite sure your computer freezing up is not caused by the CPU needed for verifying signatures, but by the database I/O blocking your OS and other applications from accessing your hard disk. Scheduling the task at low priority will not help in that case.

The next release (0.8 ) should decrease I/O requirements a lot. If you're interested, feel free to try the test builds

BTW: I'm not saying that a checkbox to lower CPU priority (or even a default) is a bad idea - I just don't think it will help preventing freezes.

I do Bitcoin stuff.
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 12:24:06 AM
 #11

BTW: I'm not saying that a checkbox to lower CPU priority (or even a default) is a bad idea - I just don't think it will help preventing freezes.

When I switch the process to low priority I get *no* freezes at all so yes I *do* very much think that it is CPU.

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 01:02:22 PM
 #12

Can you plese stop using that "Windoze" slang Wink, thanks.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
DarkHyudrA
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


English <-> Portuguese translations


View Profile
January 22, 2013, 01:31:18 PM
 #13

Can you plese stop using that "Windoze" slang Wink, thanks.

Dia
What a helpful post .-.

OP: Unless that in the coming years there will still exists slow laptops or even those crap netbooks, I don't believe that this is necessary.

English <-> Brazilian Portuguese translations
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1079


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 22, 2013, 01:42:13 PM
 #14

Unless that in the coming years there will still exists slow laptops or even those crap netbooks, I don't believe that this is necessary.

Um I would say that is an absolute GUARANTEE.  Either underpowered hardware sold to meet price points accepted by the general public or otherwise decent hardware slowed to a crawl by software bloat.  Ever seen the amount of services and background processed launched by third parties in the average user's (think your mom not anonymous hacker) computer after say 3-4 years.
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 01:59:30 PM
 #15

Can you plese stop using that "Windoze" slang Wink, thanks.

Oh sorry - didn't mean to offend - it's just that I'm not going to put a TM every time a type a bloody standard English word just because some American company things it has the right to *own* common English words and sue people who don't do this.

So let me know what I should call it (in a way the M$ is happy for me to with but with no TM or the like)?

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 02:37:15 PM
 #16

Can you plese stop using that "Windoze" slang Wink, thanks.

Oh sorry - didn't mean to offend - it's just that I'm not going to put a TM every time a type a bloody standard English word just because some American company things it has the right to *own* common English words and sue people who don't do this.

So let me know what I should call it (in a way the M$ is happy for me to with but with no TM or the like)?


Just use Windows Cheesy, I call Linux Linux and Mac Mac, so that should be rather straight forward ^^.

Thanks Smiley,
Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 02:40:04 PM
 #17

I'm quite sure your computer freezing up is not caused by the CPU needed for verifying signatures, but by the database I/O blocking your OS and other applications from accessing your hard disk. Scheduling the task at low priority will not help in that case.

The next release (0.8 ) should decrease I/O requirements a lot. If you're interested, feel free to try the test builds

BTW: I'm not saying that a checkbox to lower CPU priority (or even a default) is a bad idea - I just don't think it will help preventing freezes.

After reading this thread I took a look at the same idea, to use some lower than normal priority. Perhaps I'll create a pull for this.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
CIYAM (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1075


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 02:45:58 PM
 #18

BTW: I'm not saying that a checkbox to lower CPU priority (or even a default) is a bad idea - I just don't think it will help preventing freezes.

As I already stated I have tested this on my laptop many times I am certain that it must be CPU and not I/O (it does not *freeze* when the task has been set to low priority).

After reading this thread I took a look at the same idea, to use some lower than normal priority. Perhaps I'll create a pull for this.

That would be great and I'll happily use that on my old and dirty windows. Cheesy

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 05:24:56 PM
 #19

You are free to take a look at my (untested and yet to be commented) pull-request.
It's perhaps just a starting point or could even be considered useless by other core devs, well see Smiley.

https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/2199

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1072
Merit: 1174


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2013, 07:45:00 PM
 #20

BTW: I'm not saying that a checkbox to lower CPU priority (or even a default) is a bad idea - I just don't think it will help preventing freezes.

As I already stated I have tested this on my laptop many times I am certain that it must be CPU and not I/O (it does not *freeze* when the task has been set to low priority).

Interesting - thanks for reporting, in that case.

I do Bitcoin stuff.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!