Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 09:20:14 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: finding a block  (Read 1790 times)
powrslave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2016, 02:10:14 AM
 #1

If you find a block with solo cgminer would you only know by your btc balance?

Would it be saved in a log or anything within cgminer? Or do you just view the blockchain block?
1540113614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540113614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540113614
Reply with quote  #2

1540113614
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540113614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540113614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540113614
Reply with quote  #2

1540113614
Report to moderator
1540113614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540113614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540113614
Reply with quote  #2

1540113614
Report to moderator
Avirunes
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1092



View Profile
February 27, 2016, 03:21:00 AM
 #2

If you find a block with solo cgminer would you only know by your btc balance?

Would it be saved in a log or anything within cgminer? Or do you just view the blockchain block?

Whatever you set up address for payout or address as username to start up the mining work,you will get the block reward (i.e 25BTC).
It will be shown in blockchain.To see in blockchain go to https://blockchain.info/blocks .Blockchain itself keeps a log in that page or you can check up on the bitcoin address where you will receive the block reward like   New Coins Generated => {Bitcoin Address}
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 27, 2016, 07:27:15 AM
 #3

the software will simply say "BLOCK!!!" and you will know it, or you will simply see an incoming transaction of 25 btc to your core wallet, because you need to leave it open while mining in solo
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 27, 2016, 01:53:31 PM
 #4

You will also have a "Best Share:" equal to or greater than current difficulty.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
powrslave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2016, 05:44:56 PM
 #5

the software will simply say "BLOCK!!!" and you will know it, or you will simply see an incoming transaction of 25 btc to your core wallet, because you need to leave it open while mining in solo

I'm not using core wallet to solo but I understand what you are saying.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 27, 2016, 08:16:48 PM
 #6

try this version of cgminer

Why? Mainline CGMiner tells you everything you need to know without the risk of downloading trojans from strange places.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
RussiaCoinDotInfo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 342
Merit: 250


RC Market Cap 3854.1 BTC @11th Jan 2018


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2016, 08:43:21 AM
 #7

the software will simply say "BLOCK!!!" and you will know it, or you will simply see an incoming transaction of 25 btc to your core wallet, because you need to leave it open while mining in solo

You have to be quick seeing a Block Found! message in between the other messages concerning the mining.  Once you close the Miner program, there should be a summary of the mining values and the number of blocks found (if any).  Good Luck, and keep us posted.

Web: RussiaCoin.Info Explorer: explorer.russiacoin.info Exchanges: (1) CRYPTOPIA CO NZ (2) Trade Satoshi (3?) AltCoin dot IO | Twitter: @RussiaCoin | Facebook.com/RussiaCoin/ | RussiaCoin Forum | BCT: RussiaCoin on BCT | DISCORD | RC Given Away: 6 in every 1,000 | Nodes: addnode=62.99.220.186 addnode=212.24.97.214:19992 addnode=188.214.30.193:19992 | GITHUB.COM /RussiaCoinDotInfo/ ~~~ FAUCET - *Live* | RC CoinMarketCap |
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 26, 2016, 11:10:48 AM
 #8

As long as you are only bitcoin mining and not messing with multiple sha256 alt-coins, the API has a correct count of the number of blocks you found.
See the API-README

If you are using non-master cgminer clones where they've fuxored that, some of them (Bitmain for sure) screw up the block count, so it may not be correct.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!