Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:09:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Unlocking Shaders on a 6950...  (Read 1420 times)
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:03:24 AM
 #1

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263771
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263771

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263771
Reply with quote  #2

1481263771
Report to moderator
1481263771
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263771

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263771
Reply with quote  #2

1481263771
Report to moderator
1481263771
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263771

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263771
Reply with quote  #2

1481263771
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:10:44 AM
 #2

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

AFAIK, if you have a nonreference card, you can't unlock it.
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:45:57 AM
 #3

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

AFAIK, if you have a nonreference card, you can't unlock it.

And because it doesn't show the shaders I can't unlock it?

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:58:17 AM
 #4

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

AFAIK, if you have a nonreference card, you can't unlock it.

And because it doesn't show the shaders I can't unlock it?

The shaders are what you unlock.
misch0ng
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:27:48 AM
 #5

Do you got 6950 with 1 or 2 GB RAM?
Can you tell us how many Mh/s this 6950 can do without unlocking the shaders?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:31:47 AM
 #6

Do you got 6950 with 1 or 2 GB RAM?
Can you tell us how many Mh/s this 6950 can do without unlocking the shaders?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

roughly ~420mh/s
misch0ng
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:39:43 AM
 #7

The highest entry in this table is 314 Mh/s without unlocking shaders.
Or am I wrong?  Undecided
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:43:02 AM
 #8

The highest entry in this table is 314 Mh/s without unlocking shaders.
Or am I wrong?  Undecided

Right, sorry. You might be able to overclock it and get it past 314 though.
bradminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:53:36 PM
 #9

I've got 2 6850 1G too. Any advice about PSU ? an Enermax modu82+ II 625W 25A+25A on 12V PCI-X cords may be enought ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!