Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2018, 11:36:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Unlocking Shaders on a 6950...  (Read 1524 times)
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:03:24 AM
 #1

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
1529364993
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529364993

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529364993
Reply with quote  #2

1529364993
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:10:44 AM
 #2

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

AFAIK, if you have a nonreference card, you can't unlock it.
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:45:57 AM
 #3

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

AFAIK, if you have a nonreference card, you can't unlock it.

And because it doesn't show the shaders I can't unlock it?

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:58:17 AM
 #4

I got two 6950s and I was wondering if anyone has unlocked shaders and if it is possible to brick the cards? I'd rather not brick the cards since I just got them.

I've been browsing this guide. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

And downloaded the TechPowerGPU program but the shaders section is grey'd out.

Any idea why that is?

Thanks,
Dd.

AFAIK, if you have a nonreference card, you can't unlock it.

And because it doesn't show the shaders I can't unlock it?

The shaders are what you unlock.
misch0ng
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:27:48 AM
 #5

Do you got 6950 with 1 or 2 GB RAM?
Can you tell us how many Mh/s this 6950 can do without unlocking the shaders?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:31:47 AM
 #6

Do you got 6950 with 1 or 2 GB RAM?
Can you tell us how many Mh/s this 6950 can do without unlocking the shaders?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

roughly ~420mh/s
misch0ng
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:39:43 AM
 #7

The highest entry in this table is 314 Mh/s without unlocking shaders.
Or am I wrong?  Undecided
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:43:02 AM
 #8

The highest entry in this table is 314 Mh/s without unlocking shaders.
Or am I wrong?  Undecided

Right, sorry. You might be able to overclock it and get it past 314 though.
bradminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:53:36 PM
 #9

I've got 2 6850 1G too. Any advice about PSU ? an Enermax modu82+ II 625W 25A+25A on 12V PCI-X cords may be enought ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!