Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 06:21:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: rpi B for cgminer  (Read 7495 times)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 01:24:50 PM
 #41

Finally switched mine off today to replace the SD card (attempt 3 - this time Class 10, 8GB)
A bit over 23 days non-stop mining on an MMQ at 820MH/s with cmginer2.11.3a
(was actually mining for 26 days but I restarted cgminer when I updated it to 2.11.3a)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1513146106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513146106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513146106
Reply with quote  #2

1513146106
Report to moderator
1513146106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513146106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513146106
Reply with quote  #2

1513146106
Report to moderator
1513146106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513146106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513146106
Reply with quote  #2

1513146106
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513146106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513146106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513146106
Reply with quote  #2

1513146106
Report to moderator
1513146106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513146106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513146106
Reply with quote  #2

1513146106
Report to moderator
1513146106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513146106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513146106
Reply with quote  #2

1513146106
Report to moderator
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 01:32:47 PM
 #42

Finally switched mine off today to replace the SD card (attempt 3 - this time Class 10, 8GB)
A bit over 23 days non-stop mining on an MMQ at 820MH/s with cmginer2.11.3a
(was actually mining for 26 days but I restarted cgminer when I updated it to 2.11.3a)

That is good to hear, I really hope they can handle a Single SC.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 05:00:32 PM
 #43

Jala rpi screen shot ... mining 256diff - using approx 3% CPU
Click to see:

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 05:37:12 PM
 #44

Jala rpi screen shot ... mining 256diff - using approx 3% CPU
Click to see:


Yeah! Grin
astutiumRob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 197



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 04:31:15 AM
 #45

I have actually even had bitcoind running running on a PI but I gave up long before the blockchain synced.  I suspect if I let it go I would have ended up with a toasted SD card.

I tried a while back, it to ~275 days to-go worth of data, then seems to take longer than a day to add the blockchain for that day - so was neverexpected to finish - left it a while and my rPi died Sad

Another good reason for having "balance as at" version of the blockchain Smiley

www.astutium.com - domains | hosting | vps | servers | cloud - proud to accept bitcoins. UK colocation for BFL and KNC ASICs in Tier3+ DC
Register Domains with BTC
Want to make some bitcoins ? Miner on ebay | Buy GH/s
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
May 07, 2013, 10:33:55 PM
 #46

Jala rpi screen shot ... mining 256diff - using approx 3% CPU
Click to see:

How much do you think the rPi could handle? If a SC Single is ~10x as much hashpower, are we gonna see ~10x as much CPU usage?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 10:55:18 PM
 #47

Jala rpi screen shot ... mining 256diff - using approx 3% CPU
Click to see:

How much do you think the rPi could handle? If a SC Single is ~10x as much hashpower, are we gonna see ~10x as much CPU usage?
No the CPU usage isn't directly linear.

However, USB seems to be the larger factor in CPU usage on the rpi.
My driver also doesn't linearly increase the polling for work results - with the Jala, it polls more often than needed since latency is still an issue when it takes almost 1s to complete a nonce range.

The 50or60GH/s device will need polling for results about twice as often as I do with the Jala
Sending work to it of course is 10x as much and processing replies is also 10x as much.
Anyway, we'll see once I get one ... not sure when yet.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!