Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 10:43:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I have a 1366 Board what GPU's should I buy to mine with?  (Read 824 times)
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:02:10 AM
 #1

It's a 3-way crossfire; I think extenders would be required

What GPU cards should I buy to mine with?

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
1513507411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513507411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513507411
Reply with quote  #2

1513507411
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513507411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513507411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513507411
Reply with quote  #2

1513507411
Report to moderator
1513507411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513507411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513507411
Reply with quote  #2

1513507411
Report to moderator
1513507411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513507411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513507411
Reply with quote  #2

1513507411
Report to moderator
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:14:59 AM
 #2

It's a 3-way crossfire; I think extenders would be required

What GPU cards should I buy to mine with?
I've got a 990FXA-UD5, which is also a 3-way CF board. This board has seen 5830s, 5850s, 5870s, 5970s, 7770s, and 7970s. You can use any GPU, regardless of the fact that it's a 1366 board.

But you gotta ask yourself, are GPUs worth it?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:17:47 AM
 #3

yes

I wish 7990's were cheaper

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:22:31 AM
 #4

yes

I wish 7990's were cheaper
They maybe look for some used 7970s? They'll still have some resale value until the 8xxx cards come out.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:30:03 AM
 #5

A board does not need to be crossfire-certified for the purpose of multi-gpu mining. I have a board with a pci-e 16x and pci-e 1x slot (2 slots total) and I installed 2 gfx cards in there just fine with the help of a riser. Also, all PCI-E slots are forward and backward compatible. You can plug in whatever PCI-E gfx card in any slot and it'll negotiate to the lowest common version between the two.

Getting a 1366 CPU will be kinda of prixy though compared to budget single core CPU's (1366 is an enthusiast platform)

420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:39:31 AM
 #6

Is there still a maximum of 8 cores per board for 79## series?

(maybe the number was less than Cool

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:51:13 AM
 #7

Is there still a maximum of 8 cores per board for 79## series?

(maybe the number was less than Cool

The Radeon Driver has a maximum of 8 GPU's. It can be a mix of any of the GPU's supported in the driver. I also imagine you have have 8 Radeon GPU's and some number of nVidia GPU's as well since it's a separate driver.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!