Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2018, 04:38:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU mining  (Read 4401 times)
tono18
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
January 27, 2013, 12:28:20 PM
 #1

Some one please tell me the best way to CPU mine please?
1516595889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516595889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516595889
Reply with quote  #2

1516595889
Report to moderator
1516595889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516595889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516595889
Reply with quote  #2

1516595889
Report to moderator
1516595889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516595889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516595889
Reply with quote  #2

1516595889
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516595889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516595889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516595889
Reply with quote  #2

1516595889
Report to moderator
Beepbop
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
January 27, 2013, 12:34:51 PM
 #2

It's a long time since CPU mining was profitable.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 27, 2013, 12:36:08 PM
 #3

Some one please tell me the best way to CPU mine please?

Is a CPU all you have available to mine with?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
tono18
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
January 27, 2013, 12:37:51 PM
 #4

I have a windows 7  copaq I tryd using 50btc to mine with aprently the dobt use inbuilt graphics cards:/
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 27, 2013, 12:51:48 PM
 #5

I have a windows 7  copaq I tryd using 50btc to mine with aprently the dobt use inbuilt graphics cards:/

What is the integrated graphics card?  You need an AMD/ATI GPU to mine with.

If you want to CPU mine just to get some experience I would recommend trying the Ufasoft miner.  It's a great miner for newbies to get started with and it's easy to use.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3486.msg48996#msg48996

Don't expect to make any Bitcoins CPU mining.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
tono18
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
January 27, 2013, 01:11:10 PM
 #6

Is there anyway too mine using ure bandwith?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 27, 2013, 01:14:32 PM
 #7

Is there anyway too mine using ure bandwith?

Uh, use your own bandwidth.

Goodbye

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2013, 01:18:01 PM
 #8

If you CPU mine, you'll lose money and earn minimal coin.

Assuming you're not trolling for the hell of it, try using using BitMinter: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.0

They have a simple client that will allow CPU mining.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
January 27, 2013, 06:46:37 PM
 #9

If you CPU mine, you'll lose money and earn minimal coin.

Assuming you're not trolling for the hell of it, try using using BitMinter: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.0

They have a simple client that will allow CPU mining.

I know you're trying to help organofcorti...but please, never tell somebody how to CPU mine Sad.  They suck up the same pool resources as GPUs (or worse with some CPU miners), and they're simply wasting [or in most cases, stealing] electricity.  You can't even "test" mining with a CPU these days, you'll never earn enough BTC to be able to spend it anywhere.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2013, 11:32:09 PM
 #10

If you CPU mine, you'll lose money and earn minimal coin.

Assuming you're not trolling for the hell of it, try using using BitMinter: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.0

They have a simple client that will allow CPU mining.

I know you're trying to help organofcorti...but please, never tell somebody how to CPU mine Sad.  They suck up the same pool resources as GPUs (or worse with some CPU miners), and they're simply wasting [or in most cases, stealing] electricity.  You can't even "test" mining with a CPU these days, you'll never earn enough BTC to be able to spend it anywhere.

Yes, you're right.

I didn't think to figure out how long it would take (on average) to create a share. At 5 Mhps and D = 3000000, that's about 100 shares / day or 0.0008333333 btc (at current D) and 1.4c (at current BTCUSD), and would have cost about a dollar or two of electricity. I'm sure even a botnet owner could find more lucrative ways to use their herd of cpus. Even for non botnet owners that don't pay for electricity, you could probably earn more through free bitcoin sites.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2013, 02:35:05 AM
 #11

If you CPU mine, you'll lose money and earn minimal coin.

Assuming you're not trolling for the hell of it, try using using BitMinter: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.0

They have a simple client that will allow CPU mining.

I know you're trying to help organofcorti...but please, never tell somebody how to CPU mine Sad.  They suck up the same pool resources as GPUs (or worse with some CPU miners), and they're simply wasting [or in most cases, stealing] electricity.  You can't even "test" mining with a CPU these days, you'll never earn enough BTC to be able to spend it anywhere.

Yes, you're right.

I didn't think to figure out how long it would take (on average) to create a share. At 5 Mhps and D = 3000000, that's about 100 shares / day or 0.0008333333 btc (at current D) and 1.4c (at current BTCUSD), and would have cost about a dollar or two of electricity. I'm sure even a botnet owner could find more lucrative ways to use their herd of cpus. Even for non botnet owners that don't pay for electricity, you could probably earn more through free bitcoin sites.
my CPU gets about 35mhash/s

add that to 30mhash from my hetzner machine , and  that's cash money

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 02:53:33 AM
 #12

The best and most profitable way to CPU mine is........DON'T!

It's not worth the extra electricity usage + the huge wear and tear its doing to your CPU.

mjester93
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 03:05:18 AM
 #13

The best and most profitable way to CPU mine is........DON'T!

It's not worth the extra electricity usage + the huge wear and tear its doing to your CPU.

Off topic, but are you the same Blazr on BTCJAM (https://btcjam.com/users/150)?
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 05:06:43 AM
 #14

my CPU gets about 35mhash/s

add that to 30mhash from my hetzner machine , and  that's cash money

$4~6/month is hardly "cash money".  The CPU burns more than that in electricity each week.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2013, 07:34:54 AM
 #15

my CPU gets about 35mhash/s

add that to 30mhash from my hetzner machine , and  that's cash money

$4~6/month is hardly "cash money".  The CPU burns more than that in electricity each week.

That's enough for 3 nacho cheese chalupas

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2013, 07:36:32 AM
 #16

my CPU gets about 35mhash/s

add that to 30mhash from my hetzner machine , and  that's cash money

$4~6/month is hardly "cash money".  The CPU burns more than that in electricity each week.

That's enough for 3 nacho cheese chalupas

3 nacho cheese chalupas cost negative money? They pay you to eat them? I wouldn't eat anything you're paid to eat, seriously.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2013, 07:38:39 AM
 #17

my CPU gets about 35mhash/s

add that to 30mhash from my hetzner machine , and  that's cash money

$4~6/month is hardly "cash money".  The CPU burns more than that in electricity each week.

That's enough for 3 nacho cheese chalupas

3 nacho cheese chalupas cost negative money? They pay you to eat them? I wouldn't eat anything you're paid to eat, seriously.
hetzner doesn't charge me more for using more cpu cycles

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2013, 07:40:12 AM
 #18

my CPU gets about 35mhash/s

add that to 30mhash from my hetzner machine , and  that's cash money

$4~6/month is hardly "cash money".  The CPU burns more than that in electricity each week.

That's enough for 3 nacho cheese chalupas

3 nacho cheese chalupas cost negative money? They pay you to eat them? I wouldn't eat anything you're paid to eat, seriously.
hetzner doesn't charge me more for using more cpu cycles

I'm confused. I don't know what a hetzner is. Is it the German conglomerate that also pays you to eat nacho cheese chalupas?

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 07:16:51 PM
 #19

hetzner doesn't charge me more for using more cpu cycles

I hope you're on a dedicated server.  If you're on a VPS, you should be sentenced to death for mining on it.


I'm confused. I don't know what a hetzner is. Is it the German conglomerate that also pays you to eat nacho cheese chalupas?

Hetzner is a relatively cheap german hosting company.  It's actually the host for Deepbit and the DE server for BTC Guild.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 04:17:31 PM
 #20

I've been with 4 diff hosting companies, and Hetzner has been the best...   despite it being the cheapest...   yeah, there are setup costs, but you can also avoid those doing the serverbidding (the selection seems a little weak nowadays however)..  the customer support is better than 2 of those other 3... at least you get a response within a day.   last time I had some software issue and tech responded within an hr saying that they can't help at all with software problems on unmanaged servers, so he hooked up their LARA.  i fixed the problem, and was also able to change the BIOS.  so it was like win/win

i was sad to see that nearly all of OVH's offerings in Canada are Xeons.  It's damn near impossible to find any hosting company in the US that has high end i7's....

US needs a Hetzner and less overpriced Xeons and ECC RAM...  jesus frowns upon ECC RAM, which costs 2x as much for some feature that Intel just disables on desktop memory...   when was the last time you lost data from memory failure?  i haven't in... well.... forever.   yes, there are certain circumstances where you'd want it (very, very, very important data), but I suspect they wouldnt apply to 98% of the people that get it.   likewise, xeons cost 2-4x as much as similar i7's, without any huge benefits... unless you want to pay even more to add a second.   even then, you'd have to be doing something like running a ton of virtual machines for it to be worth it.

i spent months looking for a decent US provider.  there is one in Kansas City (I think that's probably the one EMC uses), though I forget the name...  other than that, you've basically got a few European companies that have US centers

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!