Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2014, 05:52:14 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 205
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 203872 times)
jgarzik
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 05:54:14 PM
 #1

Here is a general thread for owners of Avalon ASICs.

This is the review I posted: http://garzikrants.blogspot.com/2013/01/avalon-asic-miner-review.html

The restart issues mentioned appear to be have subsided (knock on wood) since I laid the unit down, and adjusted some air flow issues in my office.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
1398318734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398318734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398318734
Reply with quote  #2

1398318734
Report to moderator
    mBitCASINOWIN BITCOINS IN OUR
24/7 LIVE DEALER CASINO

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398318734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398318734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398318734
Reply with quote  #2

1398318734
Report to moderator
kaerf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 595


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 06:04:54 PM
 #2

users thread! ha! rub it in will you?  Grin

waiting on my unit...

Inaba
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 06:33:03 PM
 #3

Paging Jgarzik.  Party of one.  Jgarzik, party of 1!  Your seat at the ASIC table is ready.  JGarzik, party of 1!

I think this is one dinner you'll be happy to eat alone. Smiley

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
jgarzik
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 06:35:45 PM
 #4

Paging Jgarzik.  Party of one.  Jgarzik, party of 1!  Your seat at the ASIC table is ready.  JGarzik, party of 1!

ITYM party of 2 Smiley  Bitcoin Foundation has theirs too.

With so many in transit, it won't be along though, I'm guessing.

And in the meantime, folks who have purchased Avalons can ask questions here.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
loshia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 06:42:11 PM
 #5


Nevertheless, the unit has seen several cgminer restarts, and a few full machine restarts.  Machine restarts seem to happen every 4-6 hours.  Even ignoring more obvious means of restart detection (login and look at uptime, or ping-monitoring etc), a restart is a clearly audible event:  At startup, the fans race at full speed for a few seconds, before "calming down" to a more moderate pace.


jgarzik ,

I am running my lancelot cluster on similar tp-link platform with 64M of ram. I am noticing the restart of my system because cgminer 2.10.4 slowly and steadily eats all of the available RAM about 45M. Can you just run now and then free and post the results. Probably some tweaks/patches are needed to cgminer.

 *Link Removed*
jgarzik
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 06:54:51 PM
 #6

Can you just run now and then free and post the results.

Request not understood.

I can watch the process size over time, if that's what you're asking.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
loshia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 06:59:17 PM
 #7

Can you just run now and then free and post the results.

Request not understood.

I can watch the process size over time, if that's what you're asking.


Exactly..
pls do excuse my English sucks:)

root@cgminer:~# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:         61752        28748        33004            0         2928
-/+ buffers:              25820        35932
Swap:            0            0            0
root@cgminer:~# top
Mem: 28772K used, 32980K free, 0K shrd, 2928K buff, 8432K cached
CPU:  23% usr   0% sys   0% nic  76% idle   0% io   0% irq   0% sirq
Load average: 0.39 0.22 0.11 2/79 14414
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %VSZ %CPU COMMAND
14414 14397 root     R     1536   2%  15% top
 6062  6056 root     R    69864 113%   8% /usr/bin/cgminer

And when cgminer eats all memory folowing happens

Feb  1 14:36:53 cgminer kern.warn kernel: [281314.280000] miner 11 invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0x201da, order=0, oom_score_adj=0



 *Link Removed*
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 09:07:41 PM
 #8

I ordered several units ( on my birthday Cheesy ), patiently waiting their arrival.

Did you ever try it in p2pool or with a high diff share?
jgarzik
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 09:22:22 PM
 #9

Did you ever try it in p2pool

Yes, see the review linked in OP.

Quote
or with a high diff share?

Yes, "vardiff" works on BTC Guild with this miner.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile

Ignore
February 01, 2013, 11:06:43 PM
 #10

Any idea what temps the modules and heatsinks are hitting? Curious if those heatsinks were overkill or necessary.
jgarzik
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:29:25 AM
 #11

Power numbers snapshot:

     620 Watts, 5.6 Amps

thanks to Kill-A-Watt.

Code:
  [Elapsed] => 2186
   [MHS av] => 66320.47
   [Found Blocks] => 0
   [Getworks] => 73
   [Accepted] => 2060
...
   [miner_count] => 24
   [asic_count] => 10
   [fan1] => 0
   [fan2] => 1920
   [fan3] => 1920
   [temp1] => 27
   [temp2] => -1
   [temp3] => 48
   [temp_max] => 49

Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
darkip
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:32:50 AM
 #12

    620 Watts, 5.6 Amps
That is not 400W :\ I think I might be reconsidering my purchases from batch 2 now.

Thanks for taking the time to write the review and take the readings Jeff Smiley

Did I help you? Tip me Smiley
1darkipMn5JwxXxH6tqN5idcKKHRVCGaH
organofcorti
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:33:54 AM
 #13

Power numbers snapshot:

     620 Watts, 5.6 Amps

thanks to Kill-A-Watt.

Thanks Jeff. That makes a big difference to the earnings potential in the long run - but probably not for the next batch, unless BFL manage to deliver.

    620 Watts, 5.6 Amps
That is not 400W :\ I think I might be reconsidering my purchases from batch 2 now.

Thanks for taking the time to write the review and take the readings Jeff Smiley

Even at the US$0.25/kWh, $20 USD/btc and difficulty = 6 million (after 300 Avalon units have been added) you'll still clear US$108 per day.

If BFL ships another 40Ghps and diificulty = 12 million, you'll still clear US$52 per day. You should still be able to make an ROI if the exchange rates hold. I'll try to post something quick about the limits of profitability later.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
crazyates
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:35:05 AM
 #14

Power numbers snapshot:

     620 Watts, 5.6 Amps

thanks to Kill-A-Watt.
200+W per unit? Holy balls. That's a hell of a lot more than 400W.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
PowerColor R9 290s for sale! | Previous Trade History
julz
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 952



View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:44:23 AM
 #15

Ouch.
I sure hope they deliver to Australia quickly... because I have a feeling I won't be running my Avalon for long.
I'll probably find a use for the case and sell off the modules to someone who has cheap elec :/

@electricwings   BM-GtyD5exuDJ2kvEbr41XchkC8x9hPxdFd
MrTeal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:54:49 AM
 #16

Power numbers snapshot:

     620 Watts, 5.6 Amps

thanks to Kill-A-Watt.
200+W per unit? Holy balls. That's a hell of a lot more than 400W.
Looking at the images from the Bitcoin Federation unit, it looks like they're using the 1000W Platinum unit.
Compare the sides on the 850W PSU

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/reviews/1358/pg2/enermax-revolution87-850w-power-supply-review-external.html
vs the sides on the 1000W

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=270

Looks like they might need it to run 4 modules.
Mikej0h
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119

Life is short, play long


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:56:32 AM
 #17

My questions are mainly of shipping:
- Did you have to sign for the shipment (was it registrered/insured)?
- Did the machine clear off to customs, or was it taxed?
organofcorti
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:57:36 AM
 #18

My questions are mainly of shipping:
- Did you have to sign for the shipment (was it registrered/insured)?
- Did the machine clear off to customs, or was it taxed?

And do you remember how much shipping was when you ordered it last year?

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
Mikej0h
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119

Life is short, play long


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 02:59:16 AM
 #19

My questions are mainly of shipping:
- Did you have to sign for the shipment (was it registrered/insured)?
- Did the machine clear off to customs, or was it taxed?

And do you remember how much shipping was when you ordered it last year?

60,- USD if I recall correct.
repentance
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile

Ignore
February 02, 2013, 03:02:47 AM
 #20

My questions are mainly of shipping:
- Did you have to sign for the shipment (was it registrered/insured)?
- Did the machine clear off to customs, or was it taxed?

And do you remember how much shipping was when you ordered it last year?

Jeff's machine got special shipping because it was intended to arrive on a specific day.  Avalon said towards the end of January that shipping the units was going to cost more than they thought so it may well be more than they charged for batch 1. This may be another reason why they're so keen on resellers entering the game.

All I can say is that this is Bitcoin. I don't believe it until I see six confirmations.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 205
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!