Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 08:08:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 433744 times)
SLok
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 568


View Profile
February 20, 2013, 02:17:57 PM
 #341

16*5 = 80 chips for 22GH/s => 275MH/chip @ 2.5W.
BFL should do around 6GH/chip @ 13W

Maybe someone already did this math but i still find it interesting.
Where did you get that from? Last thing I heard it was 72W at the wall for the 60GH/s single, which' 8 chips clock at 7.5GH/s btw, so the whole device uses 1.2 W per GH/s.
Sorry... i did the math with what i recalled by mind and i had an error of 20%...
Sure, 6GH/s @13W= 130Watt for the device vs 72Watt is about 20%. If you used Puerto's calculator that is.

Anyone asked for shipping information at DHL lately?

WARNING! Don't trade BTC with Bruno Kucinskas aka Gleb Gamow, Phinnaeus Gage, etc Laundering BTC from anonymous sellers, avoid!https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=649176.msg7279994#msg7279994 #TELLFBI #TELLKSAG #TELLIRS WARNING! Darin M. Bicknell, a proclaimed atheist, teaching at the Jakarta CanadianMontessori School. Drop your kids there at your own risk! WARNING! Christian Otzipka - Hildesheim is a known group-buy scammer, avoid! WARNING! Frizz Supertramp, faker with dozens of accounts here! WARNING! Christian "2 coins to see SLOk's" Antkow, still playing his little microphone...WARNING! Slobodan "Stolen Valor" Bogovac, faking being a ProfessorWARNING!Marion Sydney Lynn, google him, errr her, errr.. and lol
1511510903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510903
Reply with quote  #2

1511510903
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511510903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510903
Reply with quote  #2

1511510903
Report to moderator
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2013, 02:35:08 PM
 #342

Avalon shipped a month ago!  I'm glad so many people have received their equipment.  Go Avalon!

http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20130220T20&p0=33&msg=Avalon+shipped+a+month+ago%21

You obviously can't read or comprehend topics.  Troll

[Winter Fire Sale] Hosting: $60.00 per KW) [6-month contracts] - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
February 20, 2013, 06:03:55 PM
 #343

Im curious, to the guy who made the thermal images of the boards, is there a chance to get a shot of the power circuitry the same way? I wonder if those run really hot comparably or are quite cool....
Would make me more comfortable knowing those components are running way under limits.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
tidus_13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 232


View Profile
February 21, 2013, 02:10:54 PM
 #344

Hey jgarzik or Jeff,

After these days of testing, what pool do you consider is more stable to mine with avalon? i have seen BTC Guild with 32 difficulty and solo mining w/ eloipool + high diff how high?
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 08:47:37 PM
 #345

Had to power-cycle the miner at uptime 1 day, 21 hours.  cgminer was responding, but no mining work was going upstream to the pool.  The 'hardware errors' count was increasing rapidly.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
February 22, 2013, 08:51:01 PM
 #346


Had to restart the miner at uptime 1 day, 21 hours.  cgminer was responding, but no mining work was going upstream to the pool.  The 'hardware errors' count was increasing rapidly.



Does the restart seem to fix it? (Hardware errors)
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 09:06:00 PM
 #347

Does the restart seem to fix it? (Hardware errors)

Yes.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 09:16:52 PM
 #348

I wonder what the reason is .. hopefully bugs in firmware or cgminer, but wonder if unit could be defective somehow =(

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268



View Profile
February 22, 2013, 09:51:14 PM
 #349

Had to restart the miner at uptime 1 day, 21 hours.  cgminer was responding, but no mining work was going upstream to the pool.  The 'hardware errors' count was increasing rapidly.
Just cgminer? Or all of OpenWrt? Or the entire machine?

jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 09:53:00 PM
 #350

The miner was power-cycled.  (updated original note to indicate this)

Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 09:55:37 PM
 #351

The miner was power-cycled.  (updated original note to indicate this)

Is this helping out (working) to automate the process of restarting?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=145885.0
------------------
6 there is some monitoring logic in cron, but it does NOT prevent the machine to get wonky (jgrazik & me both have experienced, crying~~).
Here is a snippet might be useful (default port is 4028):
RESTART_MONITOR="(echo -n 'devs' | nc ${IP} ${PORT} | grep 'MHS 5s=0.0') && (echo -n 'restart' | nc ${IP} ${PORT})"
----------------

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
desper
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 07:15:41 AM
 #352

I am trying to contact Avalon with questions about delivery etc. I emailed Yofu, but I didn;t receive a reply after 48 hours. Does anyone know the best person to contact there? Do they have a support email address?
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 07:16:58 AM
 #353

They have a support site at http://support.avalon-asic.com/

Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 04:55:01 PM
 #354

The miner was power-cycled.  (updated original note to indicate this)

Is this helping out (working) to automate the process of restarting?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=145885.0
------------------
6 there is some monitoring logic in cron, but it does NOT prevent the machine to get wonky (jgrazik & me both have experienced, crying~~).
Here is a snippet might be useful (default port is 4028):
RESTART_MONITOR="(echo -n 'devs' | nc ${IP} ${PORT} | grep 'MHS 5s=0.0') && (echo -n 'restart' | nc ${IP} ${PORT})"
----------------
It's better to run cgminer in an infinite bash loop (with a 5s sleep after it exits to avoid a hard loop) and send it a 'quit'
Although 'restart' is usually pretty simple in linux, it can mess up on rare occasions

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 24, 2013, 08:02:25 AM
 #355

Avalon miner fan behavior is as follows:
   - fans stay at ~0/840/840 until temp3 reaches ~55
   - fans accelerate to much higher speed (0/3480/3240)
   - fans never slow down, even though temp3 decreases to ~43

It would be nice if the fans slowed down.  Much noise with new firmware!

Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2013, 12:34:21 PM
 #356

I would really like to know how many avalon-units are mining right now. I heard they were able to ship 12 units a day with 0.065TH each. And it looks like many of you are mining at ozcoin. The hashrate of the network grew around 10TH in the last 1.5month i have read and asicminer is at 4.2TH. I doubt the rest is avalon isnt it?

So how many avalons are mining now at what hashrate?
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
February 24, 2013, 02:10:04 PM
 #357

So how many avalons are mining now at what hashrate?
5 x 66 Gh/s have been confirmed, maybe 6. So optimistically 400 Gh/s. One unit had 4 instead of 3 modules, so it's a bit faster.

The bulk of the built machine have probably only shipped out after CNY and are either currently in transit or stuck at customs... hard to tell without any updates or tracking being available.

As all of the first batch #1 of 300 units will be shipped out by the end of Feb, by mid March you will notice about 20 Th/s come online. Perhaps by then it will only be background noise compared to the 50 Th/s ASICminer will release. And the 2 test machines BFL will put online :-)

Obviously this model did not work out due to CNY and shipping problems:

http://organofcorti.blogspot.be/2013/01/96-asic-choices-wwje-update.html

edit:
(I am referring to the arrival part, the update #3 of the model is indeed more realistic)
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2013, 02:25:17 PM
 #358

So how many avalons are mining now at what hashrate?
5 x 66 Gh/s have been confirmed, maybe 6. So optimistically 400 Gh/s. One unit had 4 instead of 3 modules, so it's a bit faster.

The bulk of the built machine have probably only shipped out after CNY and are either currently in transit or stuck at customs... hard to tell without any updates or tracking being available.

As all of the first batch #1 of 300 units will be shipped out by the end of Feb, by mid March you will notice about 20 Th/s come online. Perhaps by then it will only be background noise compared to the 50 Th/s ASICminer will release. And the 2 test machines BFL will put online :-)

Obviously this model did not work out due to CNY and shipping problems:

http://organofcorti.blogspot.be/2013/01/96-asic-choices-wwje-update.html

This model looks fairly accurate atm:




Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 24, 2013, 02:34:09 PM
 #359

Anyone who need to find the IP address of their unit could use Nmap or look in the router log.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
February 24, 2013, 02:36:32 PM
 #360

Anyone who need to find the IP address of their unit could use Nmap.

Ip is well known already:)
Besides nmap is good if you know or have an idea what you are looking for:) What about scanning whole B or A network:)


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!