Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2017, 06:39:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU for 3x6950's Rig, please help  (Read 801 times)
AndyRossy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:35:05 PM
 #1

Cant quite figure out how strong PSU I need to order to complete my rig

I currently have a E5200 CPU, 1 stick DDR2 ram, 1x7200rpm HD, +3x6950's unlocked to 6970s.

Some websites site they drain 300w each per card, others 200w.  What size CPU can I go for, there seems to be a huge price jumps 1kw+. 
1493145587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493145587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493145587
Reply with quote  #2

1493145587
Report to moderator
1493145587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493145587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493145587
Reply with quote  #2

1493145587
Report to moderator
1493145587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493145587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493145587
Reply with quote  #2

1493145587
Report to moderator
"Governments are good at cutting off the heads of a centrally controlled networks like Napster, but pure P2P networks like Gnutella and Tor seem to be holding their own." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493145587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493145587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493145587
Reply with quote  #2

1493145587
Report to moderator
1493145587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493145587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493145587
Reply with quote  #2

1493145587
Report to moderator
1493145587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493145587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493145587
Reply with quote  #2

1493145587
Report to moderator
Atlanta.SteveA
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:12:11 PM
 #2

It is always better to have more wattage than you need. I wouldn't recommend pushing more than 80% of your PSU capability. A 1000kw supply should work, but you are going to be pushing it hard. This will effect its lifespan. So it really come down to how much you want to gamble. Is it more important for you to keep the initial investment as low as possible or to have something more reliable?

Keep in mind also that you can't always count on manufacturers to supply accurate information, so stick to PSUs with good reviews from well known companies.

-SteveA

"The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over."
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:31:47 PM
 #3

yes a GOOD 1kw psu will be fine, if you tell me your budget i could pick you a good one
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!