Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 05:25:24 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "Gift Card" style merchant credit with instant transaction.  (Read 543 times)
undecim (OP)

Activity: 3
Merit: 0

View Profile
February 02, 2013, 01:12:49 AM
Last edit: February 02, 2013, 02:29:04 AM by undecim

Guess this goes in the newbie section, since I am a newbie. Though I've been reading up on BitCoin and the crypto behind it, and I think I have a way of providing instant transactions, provided you establish a credit with a merchant beforehand. But this credit cannot be spent by either party until the other consents.

Intro:

This proposal is based on the AcceptBit scheme. I'm not a crypto guy, so I might be completely misunderstanding how the AcceptBit crypto works. What I'm proposing here is a method of creating a credit with a merchant, such that:

1: A transaction from credit to merchant can be completed immediately by computers (important for physical transactions)
2: Neither the merchant nor customer need to trust one another. (though either party can freeze the credit)

This method is based on the scheme that AcceptBit uses to create multiple addresses spendable with a single "root" private key. Aside from some basic knowledge of ECDSA, my knowledge of this scheme is limited to the information presented at http://bitcoinmagazine.com/review-of-acceptbit-the-trust-free-payment-processor . So if I'm misunderstanding something, I would appreciate a more knowledgeable person correcting me.

Establishing Credit:

1: The client notifies the merchant that she would like to create a credit.
2: The merchant generates an ECDSA root private key (R) and gives the client the corresponding public key (R'), and a denomination unit (u). (e.g. the BTC equivalent of the smallest denomination the store usually accepts in its primary currency. In the U.S., it might be equivalent to 0.01 USD)