cypherdoc
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
|
|
April 13, 2016, 01:26:11 AM |
|
crap, it's back!: -Ubuntu:~/BitcoinArmory$ python ArmoryQt.py ******************************************************************************** Loading Armory Engine: Armory Version: 0.94.1 Armory Build: 811798a928 PyBtcWallet Version: 1.35 Detected Operating system: Linux OS Variant : ('Ubuntu', '14.04', 'trusty') User home-directory : /home/x Satoshi BTC directory : /home/x/.bitcoin/ Armory home dir : /home/x/.armory/ ArmoryDB directory : /home/x/.armory/databases Armory settings file : /home/x/.armory/ArmorySettings.txt Armory log file : /home/x/.armory/armorylog.txt Do wallet checking : True (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1336 - 5 attempts to load blockchain failed. Remove mempool.bin. (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1341 - File mempool.bin does not exist. Nothing deleted. -INFO - 1460505492: (BlockUtils.cpp:924) blkfile dir: /home/x/.bitcoin/blocks -INFO - 1460505492: (BlockUtils.cpp:925) lmdb dir: /home/x/.armory/databases -INFO - 1460505492: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:387) Opening databases... -INFO - 1460505492: (BlockUtils.cpp:1105) Executing: doInitialSyncOnLoad -INFO - 1460505493: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:162) Reading headers from db -INFO - 1460505499: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:195) Found 407055 headers in db -INFO - 1460505506: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:43) updating HEADERS db -INFO - 1460505508: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:223) parsed block file #491 -DEBUG - 1460505508: (Blockchain.cpp:213) Organizing chain -INFO - 1460505508: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:47) updated HEADERS db in 1.785s -INFO - 1460505508: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:98) scanning new blocks from #225967 to #407009 -INFO - 1460505528: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #225967 to #229667 -INFO - 1460505551: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #229668 to #232781
-INFO - 1460506296: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #368954 to #370252 -INFO - 1460506309: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #370253 to #371493 -INFO - 1460506321: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #371494 to #372486 terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::bad_alloc' what(): std::bad_alloc Aborted How much RAM does your computer have? I think Armory might be using up too much RAM. hmmm, how much do you recommend?
|
|
|
|
cypherdoc
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
|
|
April 13, 2016, 01:35:45 AM |
|
crap, it's back!: -Ubuntu:~/BitcoinArmory$ python ArmoryQt.py ******************************************************************************** Loading Armory Engine: Armory Version: 0.94.1 Armory Build: 811798a928 PyBtcWallet Version: 1.35 Detected Operating system: Linux OS Variant : ('Ubuntu', '14.04', 'trusty') User home-directory : /home/x Satoshi BTC directory : /home/x/.bitcoin/ Armory home dir : /home/x/.armory/ ArmoryDB directory : /home/x/.armory/databases Armory settings file : /home/x/.armory/ArmorySettings.txt Armory log file : /home/x/.armory/armorylog.txt Do wallet checking : True (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1336 - 5 attempts to load blockchain failed. Remove mempool.bin. (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1341 - File mempool.bin does not exist. Nothing deleted. -INFO - 1460505492: (BlockUtils.cpp:924) blkfile dir: /home/x/.bitcoin/blocks -INFO - 1460505492: (BlockUtils.cpp:925) lmdb dir: /home/x/.armory/databases -INFO - 1460505492: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:387) Opening databases... -INFO - 1460505492: (BlockUtils.cpp:1105) Executing: doInitialSyncOnLoad -INFO - 1460505493: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:162) Reading headers from db -INFO - 1460505499: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:195) Found 407055 headers in db -INFO - 1460505506: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:43) updating HEADERS db -INFO - 1460505508: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:223) parsed block file #491 -DEBUG - 1460505508: (Blockchain.cpp:213) Organizing chain -INFO - 1460505508: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:47) updated HEADERS db in 1.785s -INFO - 1460505508: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:98) scanning new blocks from #225967 to #407009 -INFO - 1460505528: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #225967 to #229667 -INFO - 1460505551: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #229668 to #232781
-INFO - 1460506296: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #368954 to #370252 -INFO - 1460506309: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #370253 to #371493 -INFO - 1460506321: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:636) scanned from height #371494 to #372486 terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::bad_alloc' what(): std::bad_alloc Aborted How much RAM does your computer have? I think Armory might be using up too much RAM. well, there you go. doubled my memory and it's working again what clued you in? that mempool.bin error?
|
|
|
|
achow101
Staff
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3570
Merit: 6927
Just writing some code
|
|
April 13, 2016, 01:38:49 AM |
|
well, there you go. doubled my memory and it's working again what clued you in? that mempool.bin error? Actually 'std::bad_alloc' did. It's a C++ error when something fails to allocate enough memory (I had to google it though).
|
|
|
|
goatpig (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3780
Merit: 1375
Armory Developer
|
|
April 13, 2016, 12:53:37 PM |
|
Unless you are running a x86 OS or you have low RAM and disabled the swap (or actually managed to fill swap partition), you can't get a bad_alloc for running out of physical RAM. This is all virtual address space, the underlying actual RAM isn't all that relevant. bad_alloc appears when the OS fails to allocate memory. This is more often the case when a bogus amount of memory is requested (say unserializing a random chunck of 9 bytes as a varInt and allocating that absurd number) than actually exhausting all RAM on the system. If you suspect it is actually how much memory you have available on your system, you should try and reduce the RAM Armory uses instead of increasing yours: https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/blob/master/cppForSwig/BlockchainScanner.h#L96Set this value to 2 to cut the memory use in half, then make clean make It's currently tuned to run at around 1GB.
|
|
|
|
solitude
|
|
April 13, 2016, 11:58:52 PM |
|
How is the latest Bitcoin Core doing with the latest Armory? Any major bugs?
|
Hardly anyone speaks English on this forum.
|
|
|
Newar
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1358
Merit: 1001
https://gliph.me/hUF
|
|
April 15, 2016, 07:56:07 AM |
|
First off, thank you for keeping the project going. Very much appreciated! I got 0.94.1 installed and get right off the bat: (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1336 - 28 attempts to load blockchain failed. Remove mempool.bin. (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1341 - File mempool.bin does not exist. Nothing deleted. -INFO - 1460704730: (BlockUtils.cpp:924) blkfile dir: /home/eee/.bitcoin/blocks -INFO - 1460704730: (BlockUtils.cpp:925) lmdb dir: /root/.armory/databases -INFO - 1460704730: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:387) Opening databases... -INFO - 1460704731: (BlockUtils.cpp:1105) Executing: doInitialSyncOnLoad -INFO - 1460704731: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:162) Reading headers from db -INFO - 1460705165: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:195) Found 378432 headers in db -INFO - 1460705168: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:43) updating HEADERS db -DEBUG - 1460705168: (Blockchain.cpp:213) Organizing chain -INFO - 1460705169: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:47) updated HEADERS db in 0.948337s -INFO - 1460705169: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:98) scanning new blocks from #0 to #377947 ---ERROR ERROR - - ERROR - -146070517114607051711460705171: ERROR : - : 1460705171: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:276() (BlockchainScanner.cpp:BlockchainScanner.cppunknown block deser error during scan at height #276) unknown block deser error during scan at height #2 :276) unknown block deser error during scan at height #3 (BlockchainScanner.cpp:276) unknown block deser error during scan at height #0 1 terminate called without an active exception
Should I bitcoind -reindex? Bitcoin Core (0.12) runs fine on its own though.
|
|
|
|
goatpig (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3780
Merit: 1375
Armory Developer
|
|
April 15, 2016, 08:19:21 PM |
|
Should I bitcoind -reindex?
Yes. This is a deser error, that's unmistakably corrupted block data.
|
|
|
|
cypherdoc
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
|
|
April 15, 2016, 08:37:53 PM |
|
It's currently tuned to run at around 1GB.
that's interesting b/c i had to increase it from 2GB to 4GB to get it to run again.
|
|
|
|
goatpig (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3780
Merit: 1375
Armory Developer
|
|
April 15, 2016, 08:42:19 PM |
|
It's currently tuned to run at around 1GB.
that's interesting b/c i had to increase it from 2GB to 4GB to get it to run again. You also have to consider what the OS consumes.
|
|
|
|
achow101
Staff
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3570
Merit: 6927
Just writing some code
|
|
April 15, 2016, 08:43:04 PM |
|
It's currently tuned to run at around 1GB.
that's interesting b/c i had to increase it from 2GB to 4GB to get it to run again. You also have to consider what the OS consumes. And Bitcoin Core. Bitcoin Core consumes quite a bit of memory.
|
|
|
|
bitpop
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060
|
|
April 21, 2016, 05:22:39 AM |
|
Thanks!
|
|
|
|
Newar
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1358
Merit: 1001
https://gliph.me/hUF
|
|
April 21, 2016, 07:09:36 AM |
|
Should I bitcoind -reindex?
Yes. This is a deser error, that's unmistakably corrupted block data. I have done the reindex, and - since the error persisted - removed the blocks, chainstate and database folders of bicoind. Now after everything is fresh I still get: (WARNING) SDM.py:768 - Overriding not-available state. This should happen 0-5 times (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1336 - 32 attempts to load blockchain failed. Remove mempool.bin. (ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1341 - File mempool.bin does not exist. Nothing deleted. -INFO - 1461221735: (BlockUtils.cpp:924) blkfile dir: /home/eee/.bitcoin/blocks -INFO - 1461221735: (BlockUtils.cpp:925) lmdb dir: /root/.armory/databases -INFO - 1461221735: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:387) Opening databases... -INFO - 1461221736: (BlockUtils.cpp:1105) Executing: doInitialSyncOnLoad -INFO - 1461221736: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:162) Reading headers from db -INFO - 1461221902: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:195) Found 378432 headers in db -INFO - 1461221905: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:43) updating HEADERS db -DEBUG - 1461221905: (Blockchain.cpp:213) Organizing chain -INFO - 1461221906: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:47) updated HEADERS db in 0.948083s -INFO - 1461221906: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:98) scanning new blocks from #0 to #377947 --ERROR -- ERROR ERROR - - 14612219091461221909: 1461221909(: BlockchainScanner.cpp(:: BlockchainScanner.cpp(:BlockchainScanner.cpp:276276276) ) ) unknown block deser error during scan at height #unknown block deser error during scan at height #1 -ERROR - unknown block deser error during scan at height #20
1461221909: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:276) unknown block deser error during scan at height #3 terminate called without an active exception -ERROR - 1461221909: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:276) unknown block deser error during scan at height #0
Lubuntu Trusty, 16 GB RAM, 51 GB free HDD Any more pointers?
|
|
|
|
Carlton Banks
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3080
|
|
April 21, 2016, 09:47:58 AM |
|
@Newar
are you sure that Armory is using the correct directory for .armory? it's currently in /root/, which implies you installed 0.94 while logged in as the root user? Can you try rebuilding the 0.94 db? (delete .armory/databases) It's possible that whichever erroneous contents in your previous copy of the Bitcoin blockchain also made it's way into the Armory databases, and so the tx scanning stage for Armory is essentially detecting that mismatch.
|
Vires in numeris
|
|
|
goatpig (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3780
Merit: 1375
Armory Developer
|
|
April 21, 2016, 11:06:27 AM |
|
-INFO - 1461221902: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:195) Found 378432 headers in db As Carlton suspects, you are using a fresh copy of the blockchain over a preexisting DB. Delete that DB, let Armory start from scratch.
|
|
|
|
sabretache
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 10
Merit: 0
|
|
April 22, 2016, 10:38:16 AM |
|
I've been using Armory for a couple years now. I'm 'techie-light' so please bare with me & apologies if this has already been answered. System: OS - Ubuntu 15.1 15Gb real memory 15Gb virtual memory Initially I installed 0.94.1 on top of 0.93.1 using the Git clone + make + make install instructions. That resulted in the Armory GUI showing a successful Wallet consistency check + successful Bitcoin Engine init; then the GUI turned grey and I got a program not responding message requiring a manual close which left Bitcoind running but no Armory process running. I then uninstalled Armory leaving the settings as was and re-installed. Result: As above except that, instead of the GUI freezing, it simply disappears. All looks fine in the log (to me anyway - ie no errors) until the last few lines as follows: 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:5812 - Dashboard switched to auto-InitSync 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2498 - loadBlockchainIfNecessary 2016-04-22 10:44 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1336 - 4 attempts to load blockchain failed. Remove mempool.bin. 2016-04-22 10:44 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1341 - File mempool.bin does not exist. Nothing deleted. 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2519 - Setting netmode: 1 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:5935 - Dashboard switched to "Scanning" mode 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- Networking.py:64 - Connection initiated. Start handshake 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:5935 - Dashboard switched to "Scanning" mode 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- Networking.py:155 - Received version message from peer: 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- Networking.py:156 - Version: 70012 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- Networking.py:157 - SubVersion: /Satoshi:0.12.0/ 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- Networking.py:158 - TimeStamp: 1461318297 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- Networking.py:159 - StartHeight: 408421 2016-04-22 10:44 (INFO) -- Networking.py:341 - Handshake finished, connection open!
Any pointers much appreciated
|
|
|
|
goatpig (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3780
Merit: 1375
Armory Developer
|
|
April 22, 2016, 10:54:07 AM |
|
You can't use the same DB as 0.93 for 0.94. Point to another folder using the --dbdir command line argument
|
|
|
|
sabretache
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 10
Merit: 0
|
|
April 22, 2016, 02:11:20 PM |
|
You can't use the same DB as 0.93 for 0.94. Point to another folder using the --dbdir command line argument
Thanks gp. I renamed the 93.1 db folder then created a new one with standard name. All purring along fine now. If all remains well, I'll delete the old one in a day or two and get back 60+Gb of space
|
|
|
|
sabretache
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 10
Merit: 0
|
|
April 22, 2016, 06:16:17 PM |
|
Another daft question:
How do I get the Armory icon to show on the launcher? - that's using the standard Ubuntu Gnome GUI
At present the launcher shows a grey '?'. Otherwise everything working fine.
|
|
|
|
Blazed
Casascius Addict
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 2128
Merit: 1119
|
|
April 22, 2016, 06:51:37 PM |
|
I just upgraded 2 of my Armory instances and have had no issues so far. I just love seeing my used space cut in half with the new database setup. goatpig, would you like a free Silver Wallet for being cool enough to keep Armory going? -> http://silverwallets.com/
|
|
|
|
goatpig (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 3780
Merit: 1375
Armory Developer
|
|
April 23, 2016, 10:10:50 AM |
|
That's a kind offer but I'll pass. These things look nice though =)
|
|
|
|
|