Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 10:53:38 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 49169 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
andloveme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250



View Profile
May 26, 2016, 12:54:48 AM
 #181

My gpu rig: I3 processor, asus z97-c motherboard, 4gb hyperx ram, 120gb sata kingstone ssd, 1200W cooler master psu
3x Asus AMD R9 390x OC Strix 100% usage, 1198MHz proc, 1600MHz mem, 59C, 85% cooler. GPU whit usb 3.0 riser extender. on the exterior side of the machine.
I use deep cool normal standing pc house Ethereum hashing speed: 32.1MH / card @ dwarfpool
Os: win 10
1511088818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511088818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511088818
Reply with quote  #2

1511088818
Report to moderator
1511088818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511088818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511088818
Reply with quote  #2

1511088818
Report to moderator
1511088818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511088818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511088818
Reply with quote  #2

1511088818
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 12:57:37 AM
 #182

im guessing there is a 3rd pci-e cable that is non modular?

you can probably use one of the molex adapters that came with the gpu.. but i would look into getting a better psu asap.

Ups - it does not looks like on your photo

Mine is not modular - cables are hardly wired inside

Only 3x 6 pins
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 01:11:46 AM
 #183

im guessing there is a 3rd pci-e cable that is non modular?

you can probably use one of the molex adapters that came with the gpu.. but i would look into getting a better psu asap.

Ups - it does not looks like on your photo

Mine is not modular - cables are hardly wired inside

Only 3x 6 pins

where do you live?  if in the usa this will work for you


http://www.ebay.com/itm/FSP-AURUM-PRO-80PLUS-GOLD-850W-ModularCables-ATX12V-EPS-12V-Power-Supply-/182121669268?

this is the builder of the psu your setup will pull about 700 watts if you do low clocks  and you will do about 72-76mh

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 01:52:43 AM
 #184

where do you live?  if in the usa this will work for you

http://www.ebay.com/itm/FSP-AURUM-PRO-80PLUS-GOLD-850W-ModularCables-ATX12V-EPS-12V-Power-Supply-/182121669268?

this is the builder of the psu your setup will pull about 700 watts if you do low clocks  and you will do about 72-76mh

Phil,

I'm in States

Can I use this one to power 3-4 R9 390?

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-SuperNOVA-Crossfire-Warranty-120-G2-1300-XR/dp/B00COIZTZM/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1464223205&sr=1-1&keywords=power+supply&refinements=p_n_feature_keywords_two_browse-bin%3A6906988011%2Cp_89%3AEVGA
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 02:26:58 AM
 #185



Yes it may do up to six.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
arielbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 02:28:38 AM
 #186

to be honest i prefer the old 6 rig setup with asrock h81 pro btc

with $500 you have a rig of six gpu

with the next gen gpu that consume less the perfect setup would be this for six gpu

asrock h81 pro btc
g.skill 8GB
G1840(you may buy a pentium here for only $10 more, it may be worth it for the extra cache ram)
ssd 64GB(120GB i've found one sandisk for only 40 euro on amazon)
evga 1k g2

total is 450 euro + 50 for riser you have your rig for only 500, then you just add your gpu

1kw is enough for future gpu because polaris and pascal will consume something like 120w per card, for gpu like 490 or 1070

Personally $500 is too much to build a basic rig.  I like using older LGA 775 hardware and I can build a PVC rig for about $100 (minus PSU) so that roi can be reached much faster.  It can be hard to find the proper mobo but when you do buy few of them. My logic is mining is a short term operation and roi needs to be reached asap.  Its stressful watching difficulty rise and profit reduce when you have hardware on credit.  After you have a steady income stream then it become easier to justify newer equipment


it's the psu that cost a lot, that build that i posted cost only 250 then you add 200 for the psu and 50 for riser, which you are obligated to buy, so it's very cheap in the end

buying parts that are too old can lead to compatibility issue, also no motherboard is as good as the h81 pro btc for mining with six gpu

edit the build cost only $200 on amazon so even $50 lower that what i said before

i have 775 mining rigs with 4 GPU each.. motherboard + processor + ram + hdd is only 90$ max, shipping included

two of these rigs are mining for 2 years now
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 03:33:21 AM
 #187


I use EVGA-G2-1300s, 5 x 390s no issue for ETH mining only (1290w~1350w) with -100mV undervolting.
6 x 390s will be a stretch for the G2-1300 but the G2-1600 can handle them easily with -100mV undervolting.

I find the EVGAs very reliable compared to the previous PSUs I use, Seasonic.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 03:39:54 AM
 #188


I use EVGA-G2-1300s, 5 x 390s no issue for ETH mining only (1290w~1350w) with -100mV undervolting.
6 x 390s will be a stretch for the G2-1300 but the G2-1600 can handle them easily with -100mV undervolting.

I find the EVGAs very reliable compared to the previous PSUs I use, Seasonic.


thank you
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 06:58:58 AM
 #189

I've had VERY good luck with Seasonic over the years, especially their recent "X" series.
When they DO die, they tend to get it out of the way VERY early on then last bloody near forever - or they get hit by nasty surge stuff when they're VERY old and finally bite the dust.

 My EVGA experience is minimal, though I did run some of my S5s from a couple of 1300 G2 units that have had no issues.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 10:52:31 AM
 #190

I've had VERY good luck with Seasonic over the years, especially their recent "X" series.
When they DO die, they tend to get it out of the way VERY early on then last bloody near forever - or they get hit by nasty surge stuff when they're VERY old and finally bite the dust.

 My EVGA experience is minimal, though I did run some of my S5s from a couple of 1300 G2 units that have had no issues.



Both Evga and seasonic have been pretty good good for me.


I have been using this psu for 2 and  3 card builds.
http://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Technology-Strider-Titanium-PS-ST70F-TI/dp/B01CE7NUIU?
my 2 card build is a r9 380 +   a  r9 390  hash at 45mh uses 350 watts
my 3 card build is 2 r9 390's + a r9 nano hash at 77mh uses 630 watts


undervolted to -100 or - 75 for the 5 cards  

so two pc's  total  122mh and use 980 watts


this one is on the way


http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-SuperNOVA-PLATINUM-Crossfire-Warranty/dp/B010HWDPKW?

this will be a build to put into my friends  shop in the brooklyn navy yard

an i5-2500t cpu used ebay = 100
a new mobo http://www.provantage.com/gigabyte-technology-ga-b75m-d3h~7GIGB0HU.htm = 75
an old 2.5 inch hdd = free
a  old pair of 4gb ram sticks = free
the psu above = 100
windows 7 = 25
 case = http://www.provantage.com/corsair-cc-9011056-ww~7CRSC016.htm  60

335 + 2  r9 380 cards = 750   will do just over 40mh  at 340 watts  he has 8 cent power   but we will just split coins.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 11:11:53 AM
 #191

I've had VERY good luck with Seasonic over the years, especially their recent "X" series.
When they DO die, they tend to get it out of the way VERY early on then last bloody near forever - or they get hit by nasty surge stuff when they're VERY old and finally bite the dust.

 My EVGA experience is minimal, though I did run some of my S5s from a couple of 1300 G2 units that have had no issues.



Both Evga and seasonic have been pretty good good for me.


I have been using this psu for 2 and  3 card builds.
http://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Technology-Strider-Titanium-PS-ST70F-TI/dp/B01CE7NUIU?
my 2 card build is a r9 380 +   a  r9 390  hash at 45mh uses 350 watts
my 3 card build is 2 r9 390's + a r9 nano hash at 77mh uses 630 watts


undervolted to -100 or - 75 for the 5 cards  

so two pc's  total  122mh and use 980 watts

I actually recycled the Seasonic and built a i5 gaming system with GTX970 for my son - no issues there and still going strong.

IMHO, a rule of thumb is, for a 5 or 6 GPU rig, is to get a decent 1200-1300w PSU that is above the "100$" range and Gold (at the least)... above that, very good and reliable - nice to have - like Platinums but horrifyingly expensive.
I think in the next few months, with newer GPUs (490?) with low power, I don't think we need to get more than 850w or 1000w.

I got a few of those EVGA-G2-1600w early this year... no.. I wasn't crazy, I was just celebrating my very first solo block reward at solo.ckpool and with the help of kind members, I built my very first "1520w 5x390s 150MHs" ETH rigs.



Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
sadasa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


Unpaid signature.


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 02:12:53 PM
 #192

I've had VERY good luck with Seasonic over the years, especially their recent "X" series.
When they DO die, they tend to get it out of the way VERY early on then last bloody near forever - or they get hit by nasty surge stuff when they're VERY old and finally bite the dust.

 My EVGA experience is minimal, though I did run some of my S5s from a couple of 1300 G2 units that have had no issues.



Both Evga and seasonic have been pretty good good for me.


I have been using this psu for 2 and  3 card builds.
http://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Technology-Strider-Titanium-PS-ST70F-TI/dp/B01CE7NUIU?
my 2 card build is a r9 380 +   a  r9 390  hash at 45mh uses 350 watts
my 3 card build is 2 r9 390's + a r9 nano hash at 77mh uses 630 watts


undervolted to -100 or - 75 for the 5 cards  

so two pc's  total  122mh and use 980 watts

I actually recycled the Seasonic and built a i5 gaming system with GTX970 for my son - no issues there and still going strong.

IMHO, a rule of thumb is, for a 5 or 6 GPU rig, is to get a decent 1200-1300w PSU that is above the "100$" range and Gold (at the least)... above that, very good and reliable - nice to have - like Platinums but horrifyingly expensive.
I think in the next few months, with newer GPUs (490?) with low power, I don't think we need to get more than 850w or 1000w.

I got a few of those EVGA-G2-1600w early this year... no.. I wasn't crazy, I was just celebrating my very first solo block reward at solo.ckpool and with the help of kind members, I built my very first "1520w 5x390s 150MHs" ETH rigs.


I used to use Gold power supply. But all my new rigs are built with Platinum power supply to save 2% energy.

B2















BitDouble.io
















██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
arielbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 03:03:09 PM
 #193

anybody using deepcool quanta dq1250? any comments?

http://www.deepcool.com/product/powersupply/2014-02/10_796.shtml

bought a brand new at a huge discount, only 145 $
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 03:35:22 PM
 #194

Personally I have used Seasonic and EVGA PSUs.... but I saw a good deal for Corsair PSUs (used for a month AX-1500i & brand new HX1200i) and want some feedback before I invest one or two for my next rig.

Reason for me to consider other brands is EVGAs are expensive and I wouldn't mind using it for high end GPUs. But I am setting up a rig for the recent 370s that I got cheap from a friend, and would not want to use an expensive PSU.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 04:26:44 PM
 #195

anybody using deepcool quanta dq1250? any comments?

http://www.deepcool.com/product/powersupply/2014-02/10_796.shtml

bought a brand new at a huge discount, only 145 $

5 year warranty 145 usd seems to be a good deal.

it is two rails  1 is 45amps the other is 65 amps

http://www.deepcool.com/product/powersupply/2014-02/10_796.shtml

click output to see this




AC INPUT        VOLTAGE   CURRENT   FREQUENCY
                      100-240V   15.0A   47-63Hz

DC OUTPUT   +3.3V   +5V        +12V1     +12V2   -12V   +5VSB

CURRENT(Max)   25A            25A     45A             65A           0.8A     4A
OUTPUT(Max)         150W                  540W      780W          9.6W   20W


TOTAL OUTPUT   1250W




so proper setup for more then 4 cards may not be possible or at least tricky

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 09:23:59 PM
 #196

Guys,

To connect second R9 390 should I simply plug it in and connect to PSU power output?

Or do smth with CrossFire?

Thank you!
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
May 26, 2016, 09:27:06 PM
 #197

Guys,

To connect second R9 390 should I simply plug it in and connect to PSU power output?

Or do smth with CrossFire?

Thank you!

You only need Xfire if you game with it,not mining,in most cases  Wink

You may need to install the drivers for the second card,go to device manager & see if the 2nd card has a driver.

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 09:33:03 PM
 #198


You only need Xfire if you game with it,not mining,in most cases  Wink

You may need to install the drivers for the second card,go to device manager & see if the 2nd card has a driver.

Got it!

Will try Smiley

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 26, 2016, 11:15:01 PM
 #199


You only need Xfire if you game with it,not mining,in most cases  Wink

You may need to install the drivers for the second card,go to device manager & see if the 2nd card has a driver.

Got it!

Will try Smiley



Yeah sometimes if you do two restarts the second card loads.

Good luck with the gear.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 27, 2016, 12:32:24 AM
 #200

Yeah sometimes if you do two restarts the second card loads.

Good luck with the gear.

Mining on 2x R9 390 now

Each is about 28.99 MHs

I'm using Claymore Dual Miner

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!