Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 04:40:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 49187 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
generalt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 906


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 01:46:28 PM
 #521


my two are due on tues.


I have cancelled my order at bhphoto.

and kept my order at newegg

so 2 on the way.

Just curious which warehouse did Newegg ship yours out of.  I'm wondering if they got these cards out to all their warehouses before they went on sale or if they're all shipping out of California.

BTC: 1GENERALrtBAjEv2Ps5cmEW1FADnXh1bCZ
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511152854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152854
Reply with quote  #2

1511152854
Report to moderator
1511152854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152854
Reply with quote  #2

1511152854
Report to moderator
1511152854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152854
Reply with quote  #2

1511152854
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 02:03:57 PM
 #522


my two are due on tues.


I have cancelled my order at bhphoto.

and kept my order at newegg

so 2 on the way.

Just curious which warehouse did Newegg ship yours out of.  I'm wondering if they got these cards out to all their warehouses before they went on sale or if they're all shipping out of California.

Mine are from Cali.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Tmdz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 02:09:47 PM
 #523

Rowland Heights, CA is where the majority of their products ship from.

@ Amph

The gtx 1070 looks to be the best and most efficient at this point.  You can run it at 100 watts or crank it up to 37 mh and it uses what like 160 watts, seems like amd has lost its crown.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 04:03:11 PM
 #524

thanks guys for advice about older cards !
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 04:09:01 PM
 #525

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?

RoseMann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 04:34:02 PM
 #526

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?



nanopool , ethpool , ethermine are all good pools. If you just have less 1GH, use the ethermine.

It is better to undervolt .

Redrose
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 30, 2016, 04:52:14 PM
 #527

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?

Use Dwarfpool. I'm very satisfied of them. I've always ran my cards "out of the box", without any undervolt nor overclock, so unfortunately, I can't help you on that point.

citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 05:45:53 PM
 #528

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?

Use Dwarfpool. I'm very satisfied of them. I've always ran my cards "out of the box", without any undervolt nor overclock, so unfortunately, I can't help you on that point.

IMHO,
if you have more than 1 GHs, mine at ethpool
if you have 150-180MHs, ethermine
I was dwarfpool, suprnova, f2pool before....

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
June 30, 2016, 05:51:23 PM
 #529

RX480 Sapphire testing so far:

No luck on Win8.1 so I have to start off Windows 7 fresh.

Right out of box, using CDM v4.7, one GPU running at 24.7MHs stock clocks.

Totals amps 1.2 and 242 watts on EVGA-G2-1300

I am using ASrock H81 Pro BTC board, Celeron 1840, 8GB RAM, 120 SSD, powered molex and PCI-USB3 risers.

Sleepy now, so will continue running 6 x GPUs tomorrow morning.

Gotto find the OC Utility from Sapphire website.... zzz zzz zzz

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 12:16:39 AM
 #530

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?


 Flash them with a TheStilt bios is THE most important thing you can do to a R9 290.
 Then you should be able to run them around 1100/1250 and get right about 30MH/s without overheating.
 Power consumption ballpark 280-300 watts with the highest-voltage TheStilt bios option.

 I've been using qtminer/ethermine all along as I could not get on github to try anything BUT qtminer - that looks like it might have changed with my move and new ISP though.

 


citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 12:27:20 AM
 #531

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?


 Flash them with a TheStilt bios is THE most important thing you can do to a R9 290.
 Then you should be able to run them around 1100/1250 and get right about 30MH/s without overheating.
 Power consumption ballpark 280-300 watts with the highest-voltage TheStilt bios option.

 I've been using qtminer/ethermine all along as I could not get on github to try anything BUT qtminer - that looks like it might have changed with my move and new ISP though.

I have inherited a 290 and 290x, can the Stilt BIOS apply to 290X too?

I havent got around to play with it because its was part of a gaming machine, and too busy with other rigs.

If I can get them to do 30MHs above, perhaps its worth putting them in a rig.

Intermix 290 and 290x in a single rig possible for maximum hash?

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 06:55:15 AM
 #532

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?


 Flash them with a TheStilt bios is THE most important thing you can do to a R9 290.
 Then you should be able to run them around 1100/1250 and get right about 30MH/s without overheating.
 Power consumption ballpark 280-300 watts with the highest-voltage TheStilt bios option.

 I've been using qtminer/ethermine all along as I could not get on github to try anything BUT qtminer - that looks like it might have changed with my move and new ISP though.

I have inherited a 290 and 290x, can the Stilt BIOS apply to 290X too?

I havent got around to play with it because its was part of a gaming machine, and too busy with other rigs.

If I can get them to do 30MHs above, perhaps its worth putting them in a rig.

Intermix 290 and 290x in a single rig possible for maximum hash?

here is the drivers you need
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMD-Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-16.6.2-Release-Notes.aspx
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 08:35:16 AM
 #533

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?


 Flash them with a TheStilt bios is THE most important thing you can do to a R9 290.
 Then you should be able to run them around 1100/1250 and get right about 30MH/s without overheating.
 Power consumption ballpark 280-300 watts with the highest-voltage TheStilt bios option.

 I've been using qtminer/ethermine all along as I could not get on github to try anything BUT qtminer - that looks like it might have changed with my move and new ISP though.

I have inherited a 290 and 290x, can the Stilt BIOS apply to 290X too?

I havent got around to play with it because its was part of a gaming machine, and too busy with other rigs.

If I can get them to do 30MHs above, perhaps its worth putting them in a rig.

Intermix 290 and 290x in a single rig possible for maximum hash?

here is the drivers you need
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMD-Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-16.6.2-Release-Notes.aspx

Crimson 16.6.2 is the best for R9 290 ? for stock use of with a thestilt bios ?
I currently have 15.12.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 08:38:58 AM
 #534

sorry to be off topic about rx480, if any from you guys have experience with r9 290 4go (the best deal I am able to find locally at the moment) , I would be glad to get some advice :

- best(s) pool to start with a 6 gpus rig ? nanopool , ethpool , ethermine , dwarfpool ?
- any advice about settings ? overclock ? undervolt ? any interesting commands in the .bat ?


 Flash them with a TheStilt bios is THE most important thing you can do to a R9 290.
 Then you should be able to run them around 1100/1250 and get right about 30MH/s without overheating.
 Power consumption ballpark 280-300 watts with the highest-voltage TheStilt bios option.


Very interesting point. Could you explain a little more because I'm not sure to translate correctly : we should put the highest voltage available in the bios option to run them 1100/1250 but power consumption rise to 300w per card ?? (1800w per 6 GPU)
spyshagg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 08:50:25 AM
 #535

with any card you will need to find their optimal power/mh unless you have free electricity.  

The 290's out of the box are outside their optimal power/performance window. And if you overclock them, their power consumption increases logarithmically, that is to say, for a 15% overclock, the power usages increases by 50%  (not accurate numbers, but you get the idea).

downclocking them and undervolting is where the true profit is.



To see how many watts your card is using, download HWINFO64 and run the sensors. Scroll down to your "GPU" and add the VDDC watts + AUX watts.
Out of the box, the 290 is using ~230watts depending on temps. Which is crazy high.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 09:48:12 AM
 #536

getting 5mh bonus per overclocked card = 30mh total bonus on the 6gpu rig .
Almost the same as a bonus gpu in a non overclocked rig  : paying 6 GPU and paying an extra 600w electricity.

With cheap electricity why not. But for the extra 600w , another PSU is required.. not sure if it's profitable in the end.


But I'm interested by more information about the bios mod anyway !
Maybe it allow to undervolt too ?
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 05:57:53 PM
 #537

my cards came a day early!!! Cheesy

Fanpant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 06:08:48 PM
 #538

getting 5mh bonus per overclocked card = 30mh total bonus on the 6gpu rig .
Almost the same as a bonus gpu in a non overclocked rig  : paying 6 GPU and paying an extra 600w electricity.

With cheap electricity why not. But for the extra 600w , another PSU is required.. not sure if it's profitable in the end.


But I'm interested by more information about the bios mod anyway !
Maybe it allow to undervolt too ?

If you use the R9 390, you can undervolt them about -100mV and get around 31 MH/s depending on your cards.
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 07:25:05 PM
 #539

here is a screen shot you guys probably want to see..
i havent messed with any power settings yet.. or tweaked anything.. the fans dont even turn on until the card hits 88c or so.. so im going to need to set a custom fan profile.. btw at 100% they spin at almost 6000 rpm.. sound like an s7 in my pc case..




ps my background isnt the real earth.. its a screenshot from a game called elite dangerous.. Wink
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 07:44:17 PM
 #540



If you use the R9 390, you can undervolt them about -100mV and get around 31 MH/s depending on your cards.

It would be R9 290.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!