Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 10:27:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 49137 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
asdalani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


"Flixxo - Watch, Share, Earn!"


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 08:05:02 PM
 #541



If you use the R9 390, you can undervolt them about -100mV and get around 31 MH/s depending on your cards.

It would be R9 290.

You can also undervolt the 290 by 100 mV  and get similar result. But R9 390 is a little bit more efficient.

X       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄██▀▀         ▀▀██▄
  ▄██▀              ▀██▄
 ▄██     ██▄▄          ██▄
▄██      █████▄▄        ██▄
██       ████████▄▄      ██
██       ███████████▄    ██
██       ██████████▀     ██
▀██      ███████▀       ██▀
 ▀██     ████▀         ██▀
  ▀██▄   █▀          ▄██▀
    ▀██▄▄         ▄▄██▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
.flixxo    X▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
████████████▀▀███████
█████▀████░░░░░░▄████
█████░░░░▀░░░░░▄█████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░██████
██████░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░▄████████
████▄▄░░░░▄▄██████████

██████████████████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████████▀█▀██████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀████████
██████▄▄░░▄▄▄░░███████
████████░░███░░███████
████████░░░░░░▀███████
████████░░███▄░░██████
██████▀▀░░▀▀▀░░░██████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████▄█▄██████████

██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
X[[]]X
1511044041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511044041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511044041
Reply with quote  #2

1511044041
Report to moderator
1511044041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511044041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511044041
Reply with quote  #2

1511044041
Report to moderator
1511044041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511044041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511044041
Reply with quote  #2

1511044041
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511044041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511044041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511044041
Reply with quote  #2

1511044041
Report to moderator
1511044041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511044041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511044041
Reply with quote  #2

1511044041
Report to moderator
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 08:29:01 PM
 #542

In MSI Afterburner , I don't have the unit for voltage , I can go from -100 to +100.
Is -100 the same as -100 mV ?
EDIT : sorry after closer look , the unit was shown. Question solved !

Do you guys know if I can reduce voltage with a light overclock ?
With R9 290, I've tried to push core clock from 950 to 1000 Mhz, and reduced Memory clock from 1250 to 1200 as it appears Memory clock has not effect on Hashrate.
But I don't know if undervolt is suitable in that case ?
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 08:59:12 PM
 #543

In MSI Afterburner , I don't have the unit for voltage , I can go from -100 to +100.
Is -100 the same as -100 mV ?

Do you guys know if I can reduce voltage with a light overclock ?
With R9 290, I've tried to push core clock from 950 to 1000 Mhz, and reduced Memory clock from 1250 to 1200 as it appears Memory clock has not effect on Hashrate.
But I don't know if undervolt is suitable in that case ?

Try -100, 900/1125. If that works give some more core until it crashes and you have found your sweet spot. Hawaii with 512-bit memory bus is not memory limited on dagger like most other cards.
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 01:38:18 AM
 #544


I have inherited a 290 and 290x, can the Stilt BIOS apply to 290X too?


 There was a different but very similar series of TheStilt bios for the 290x.



 I'm not saying you SHOULD use the highest-voltage TheStilt bios - I just haven't had the time to play around with the lower-voltage options, and the current setup is working so much better than stock was I'm not real inclined to mess with it 'till I get other higher-priority stuff done - like my current MOVE....


 Power consumption did seem to go up - but on the STOCK bios the things thermal limited like crazy, ran consistantly at 94c AND UNDERCLOCKED THEMSELVES to stay there (ballpark 850 core on some of them) and consistanty hashed at more like 20-22Mh/s - and I was seeing more like 250 watts power consumption even WITH the bios-imposed thermal-driven underclock.
 With TheStilt bios, they're running more like 80c AND I can clock them at 1100/1250 and get 29-30 MH/s hashrate, but they appear to be consuming about 300 watts - so they ARE running more efficiently, just need more power to support the major overclock (stock clock on my Sapphire reference design is 947 core).

  IME and per a LOT of comments from other folks that had similar issues the 16.x AMD drivers are NOT good for mining - stick with 15.12 or 15.7 (I think I'm running 15.12 on my R9-based machines).


 R9 290 and R9 290x should coexist without issues in the same machine. I've got a couple rigs running a R9 290 and a R9 280x without problems - as long as the cards are same or very close generation (don't mix GCN and pre-GCN for example) and can use the same driver version they should run fine together.
 From what I've seen posted around though, the R9 290x isn't any faster at Ethereum mining than the R9 290 and consumes a little more power - but since they're inherited it's not really an issue, I just wouldn't pay the premium for a R9 290x over a R9 290 with the expectation of getting higher hashrate/earnings.

citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 03:20:57 AM
 #545


I have inherited a 290 and 290x, can the Stilt BIOS apply to 290X too?


 There was a different but very similar series of TheStilt bios for the 290x.



 I'm not saying you SHOULD use the highest-voltage TheStilt bios - I just haven't had the time to play around with the lower-voltage options, and the current setup is working so much better than stock was I'm not real inclined to mess with it 'till I get other higher-priority stuff done - like my current MOVE....


 Power consumption did seem to go up - but on the STOCK bios the things thermal limited like crazy, ran consistantly at 94c AND UNDERCLOCKED THEMSELVES to stay there (ballpark 850 core on some of them) and consistanty hashed at more like 20-22Mh/s - and I was seeing more like 250 watts power consumption even WITH the bios-imposed thermal-driven underclock.
 With TheStilt bios, they're running more like 80c AND I can clock them at 1100/1250 and get 29-30 MH/s hashrate, but they appear to be consuming about 300 watts - so they ARE running more efficiently, just need more power to support the major overclock (stock clock on my Sapphire reference design is 947 core).

  IME and per a LOT of comments from other folks that had similar issues the 16.x AMD drivers are NOT good for mining - stick with 15.12 or 15.7 (I think I'm running 15.12 on my R9-based machines).


 R9 290 and R9 290x should coexist without issues in the same machine. I've got a couple rigs running a R9 290 and a R9 280x without problems - as long as the cards are same or very close generation (don't mix GCN and pre-GCN for example) and can use the same driver version they should run fine together.
 From what I've seen posted around though, the R9 290x isn't any faster at Ethereum mining than the R9 290 and consumes a little more power - but since they're inherited it's not really an issue, I just wouldn't pay the premium for a R9 290x over a R9 290 with the expectation of getting higher hashrate/earnings.


thanks quintleo for the information.

for me, i am all for optimal power, undervolting and slight overclock.

I will certainly go for the Stilt mod if it can give me best performance at lowest power consumption as possible.

But if the 290/290x is meant to run like beast, then I may need to tame them down because I am almost out of amps in my den.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 03:51:30 AM
 #546

yeah I always go under volt and down clock with gpus they simply last longer.  and are more efficient and are quieter.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 09:06:23 AM
 #547

Thanks Quintleo , do you have a link to download the mod ? with good explanations to install/use it ?
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 09:09:55 AM
 #548

In MSI Afterburner , I don't have the unit for voltage , I can go from -100 to +100.
Is -100 the same as -100 mV ?

Do you guys know if I can reduce voltage with a light overclock ?
With R9 290, I've tried to push core clock from 950 to 1000 Mhz, and reduced Memory clock from 1250 to 1200 as it appears Memory clock has not effect on Hashrate.
But I don't know if undervolt is suitable in that case ?

Try -100, 900/1125. If that works give some more core until it crashes and you have found your sweet spot. Hawaii with 512-bit memory bus is not memory limited on dagger like most other cards.


Thx , trying that now as it is quite simple to do !

-100 / 900/1125 seems to work , I'm now getting the core clock up and keep the memory at 1125.

What should I set in "power limit (%)" ?
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 09:52:15 AM
 #549

In MSI Afterburner , I don't have the unit for voltage , I can go from -100 to +100.
Is -100 the same as -100 mV ?

Do you guys know if I can reduce voltage with a light overclock ?
With R9 290, I've tried to push core clock from 950 to 1000 Mhz, and reduced Memory clock from 1250 to 1200 as it appears Memory clock has not effect on Hashrate.
But I don't know if undervolt is suitable in that case ?

Try -100, 900/1125. If that works give some more core until it crashes and you have found your sweet spot. Hawaii with 512-bit memory bus is not memory limited on dagger like most other cards.


Thx , trying that now as it is quite simple to do !

-100 / 900/1125 seems to work , I'm now getting the core clock up and keep the memory at 1125.

What should I set in "power limit (%)" ?

what MHs do you get with -100 / 900/1125?

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
Fanpant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 11:36:13 AM
 #550

In MSI Afterburner , I don't have the unit for voltage , I can go from -100 to +100.
Is -100 the same as -100 mV ?

Do you guys know if I can reduce voltage with a light overclock ?
With R9 290, I've tried to push core clock from 950 to 1000 Mhz, and reduced Memory clock from 1250 to 1200 as it appears Memory clock has not effect on Hashrate.
But I don't know if undervolt is suitable in that case ?

Try -100, 900/1125. If that works give some more core until it crashes and you have found your sweet spot. Hawaii with 512-bit memory bus is not memory limited on dagger like most other cards.


Thx , trying that now as it is quite simple to do !

-100 / 900/1125 seems to work , I'm now getting the core clock up and keep the memory at 1125.

What should I set in "power limit (%)" ?

what MHs do you get with -100 / 900/1125?


If all scale, you will get about 25.3 MH/s. But the memory speed can be much lower, it can be 950 to 1000.
Sanguintan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
July 03, 2016, 02:25:22 PM
 #551

In MSI Afterburner , I don't have the unit for voltage , I can go from -100 to +100.
Is -100 the same as -100 mV ?

Do you guys know if I can reduce voltage with a light overclock ?
With R9 290, I've tried to push core clock from 950 to 1000 Mhz, and reduced Memory clock from 1250 to 1200 as it appears Memory clock has not effect on Hashrate.
But I don't know if undervolt is suitable in that case ?

Try -100, 900/1125. If that works give some more core until it crashes and you have found your sweet spot. Hawaii with 512-bit memory bus is not memory limited on dagger like most other cards.


Thx , trying that now as it is quite simple to do !

-100 / 900/1125 seems to work , I'm now getting the core clock up and keep the memory at 1125.

What should I set in "power limit (%)" ?

what MHs do you get with -100 / 900/1125?


If all scale, you will get about 25.3 MH/s. But the memory speed can be much lower, it can be 950 to 1000.

I think the memory speed of the 290 series is not as good as the 390 series. You need the Stilt BIOS.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 03, 2016, 04:00:36 PM
 #552

Few questions :

- what is the best and fast way to check hashrate ? because at the moment I 'm looking at the pool 6 hour average hashrate but it takes long to check changes !

- my numbers are not perfectly accurate, but it seems that 0 or -100 undervolt doesn't change a lot the hashrate. Still about 150mh/s for 6 R9 290.

- if memory clock is not linked to hashrate , to what level can we reduce it ? it is linked to core clock ? I mean do we have to manage memory clock in case of slight core overclock ?

- What should I set in "power limit (%)" ?

- do someone have a link to download the stilt bios ? with simple but good explanations to install/use it ?
Charloz24
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 03, 2016, 05:18:23 PM
 #553

Few questions :

- what is the best and fast way to check hashrate ? because at the moment I 'm looking at the pool 6 hour average hashrate but it takes long to check changes !

- my numbers are not perfectly accurate, but it seems that 0 or -100 undervolt doesn't change a lot the hashrate. Still about 150mh/s for 6 R9 290.

- if memory clock is not linked to hashrate , to what level can we reduce it ? it is linked to core clock ? I mean do we have to manage memory clock in case of slight core overclock ?

- What should I set in "power limit (%)" ?

- do someone have a link to download the stilt bios ? with simple but good explanations to install/use it ?

Which miner are you using? Claymore eth miner show hash, others too.

-100 undervolt will NOT affect your hashrate. It will help lowering power usage. Overclocking gpu core will improve hashrate, but not memory on 290, that is why its a good move to underclock memory to lower power usage.

vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 03, 2016, 06:29:32 PM
 #554

I use genoil ethminer , but hashrate is not easy to see with those settings : --farm-recheck 400 --cl-global-work 16384 --cl-local-work 256 -G -S

About memory clock, should I max downclock ?
Factmine
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


MatrixCoin - Creating Bright Future Together


View Profile
July 03, 2016, 08:07:38 PM
 #555

I use genoil ethminer , but hashrate is not easy to see with those settings : --farm-recheck 400 --cl-global-work 16384 --cl-local-work 256 -G -S

About memory clock, should I max downclock ?

If your core frequency is around 1000MHz, the memory frequency of 1125 MHz is fine to give you about 25-26 MH/s.


██████████              █████           
████████████          ███████         
███        █████          ███████         
███        █████          ███████         
████        ██████      █████████       
██████            ██████████      █████████       
█████            ██████            ████        ██      █████████       
█████            ██████            ████        ███  ███████████     
█████            ██████            ████        ███  ███████████     
███                                      █████████████████  ███████████     
███    ███    █████              ██████████  ████████████  █████████   
███    █████              ██████████  ████████████  █████████   
█████              ██████████  ████████████  █████████   
██████            ███      ███████████      ██████████ 
██████            ███      ███████████      ██████████ 
██████            ███      ███████████      ██████████ 
██████            ██          █████████          ██████████
██████████          █████████          ██████████
██████████          █████████          ██████████
   
██
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

██
   
██
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

██
   
➤  TWITTER
➤  FACEBOOK
➤  INSTAGRAM
Redrose
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
July 03, 2016, 09:13:53 PM
 #556

I use genoil ethminer , but hashrate is not easy to see with those settings : --farm-recheck 400 --cl-global-work 16384 --cl-local-work 256 -G -S

About memory clock, should I max downclock ?

Do you mean that it is not easy to read ? I had similar problems, with my hashrate displayed in h/s. Now, with the newer versions, it's displayed in MH/s.

vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 04, 2016, 01:45:19 PM
 #557

In my case I have mh/s shown , but numbers are between 100 and 200 and it changes very fast. So I have to check by pool the average (about 150mh/s) but it's only accurate after 2 to 6 hours...
RoseMann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277


View Profile
July 04, 2016, 05:57:25 PM
 #558

In my case I have mh/s shown , but numbers are between 100 and 200 and it changes very fast. So I have to check by pool the average (about 150mh/s) but it's only accurate after 2 to 6 hours...

You need to change --farm-recheck 400 to --farm-recheck 4000. You can see the hash rate, then change it back.

vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 04, 2016, 06:32:55 PM
 #559

Thanks a lot !
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 04, 2016, 07:46:06 PM
 #560

at -100mv , I'm at 150mh/s at 170w per gpu.
not matter what clock I put in afterburner , it doesn't change hashrate ..
I begin to think afterburner doesn't really change the clock when I slide the selectors. I've heard it sometimes happen.
Maybe with the Stilt Bios I could go further.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!