Bitcoin Forum
November 16, 2018, 09:42:50 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 50180 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
July 09, 2016, 05:13:37 AM
 #601

I'm currently looking at claymore , and everything seems to be available to control heat ! great !

I was using qtminer before because of stratum feature then I stumbled into Claymore v1.... months later v5.

It has a lot of switches and it should address everything you need to tune-up the dual miner, it mines DCR and SIA coins too.

Claymore is also quite responsive in getting new features in - in fact many cool features were from members requests.

Great miner, in my opinion - it runs very well and stable on my 390s, Nanos and 480s.

Have to really thank you for pushing me towards it.

I am hoping to get a total of 5 rx 480s and 2 r9 390's running over the next month all using claymore.

the Dual Miner Manager is also a good utility to manage ALL the rigs in one screen - thats all i monitor nowadays.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
1542404570
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542404570

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542404570
Reply with quote  #2

1542404570
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 09, 2016, 09:34:49 AM
 #602

from your experience : excluding the confort point , in the end do you earn more with claymore including the dev fees ?
Factmine
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 09, 2016, 11:28:13 AM
 #603

from your experience : excluding the confort point , in the end do you earn more with claymore including the dev fees ?

The Claymore is more reliable than other miners. The stratum connection is also very stable. I end up getting more.

To bitcoin or not to bitcoin, that is now the question.
galacticpilgrim
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 11, 2016, 12:46:10 PM
 #604

Is anyone running Claymore's dual with eth/sia instead of eth/dcr?
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 01:48:07 PM
 #605

Is anyone running Claymore's dual with eth/sia instead of eth/dcr?

There are some sporadic posts in Claymore DM topic

Not much info though
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 05:36:47 PM
 #606

from your experience : excluding the confort point , in the end do you earn more with claymore including the dev fees ?

claymore is getting me 58mh on my 2 r9 390's  with a few less watts

 it was doing 54mh with qtminer  with a few more watts.

it is more stable on claymore   ie less work to check it out.  and that is worth $$

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 06:51:47 PM
 #607

great!

what is your actual strategy about ETHs ? still selling some ? or waiting for a price up ?
Dobmaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 11, 2016, 06:57:51 PM
 #608

from your experience : excluding the confort point , in the end do you earn more with claymore including the dev fees ?

claymore is getting me 58mh on my 2 r9 390's  with a few less watts

 it was doing 54mh with qtminer  with a few more watts.

it is more stable on claymore   ie less work to check it out.  and that is worth $$

Claymore is more stable than the Qtminer. The stratum connection is much better. I used to use QT, but not any more.

❘|❘ NEUFUND Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 07:28:45 PM
 #609

great!

what is your actual strategy about ETHs ? still selling some ? or waiting for a price up ?

I sell 3 and keep 1.95 for each block I hit on  ethpool

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1022


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 08:10:20 PM
 #610



You need to try each one going from lowest to highest voltage until its stable. One of my 290 is very stable the lowest voltage, another one is only stable at the highest voltage. Check your ASIC quality in GPUz

Thanx for trying to help.
For my home computer , mining with two gpus , I would like to get the less noise possible , so I need the lowest temp , that imply lower voltage I think.
Could you confirm my understanding in the reading of the files name ?
=> MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V48.zip (DPM7 - 1.1000V) is the less voltage available.


 That would be correct - IME even the highest-voltage Stilt BIOS ran a TON cooler than the stock bios, I've not had enough time to play around with the others to date.
 The x.xxxxV at the end is the "default" voltage for that BIOS version, lower is better for cool but too low = card don't work right, crashes a lot, etc - and that will vary quite a bit with the specific card due to manufacturing variation.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 08:47:35 PM
 #611



You need to try each one going from lowest to highest voltage until its stable. One of my 290 is very stable the lowest voltage, another one is only stable at the highest voltage. Check your ASIC quality in GPUz

Thanx for trying to help.
For my home computer , mining with two gpus , I would like to get the less noise possible , so I need the lowest temp , that imply lower voltage I think.
Could you confirm my understanding in the reading of the files name ?
=> MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V48.zip (DPM7 - 1.1000V) is the less voltage available.


 That would be correct - IME even the highest-voltage Stilt BIOS ran a TON cooler than the stock bios, I've not had enough time to play around with the others to date.
 The x.xxxxV at the end is the "default" voltage for that BIOS version, lower is better for cool but too low = card don't work right, crashes a lot, etc - and that will vary quite a bit with the specific card due to manufacturing variation.

Thank you for advice ! I've tried the lowest but was not very happy with it , not better hashrate than stock , and more crashes ....
I will try an average voltage Bios instead !
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 09:13:50 PM
 #612

Is anyone running Claymore's dual with eth/sia instead of eth/dcr?

CDM as a standalone ETH miner is actually very good, more hash even and good stratum connection to most pools.

Dual mining.... the DCR and SIA earns peanuts in my opinion, will increase wattage and heat too.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 09:16:13 PM
 #613

Anyone have tried undervolting stock 480s?

I get about 24.5MHs per card and would like to save on power a bit more.

I dont mind losing 1-2 MHs if I can lower down watts by at least 50-60watts more.

Anyone tried this?

Where do I get this Wattman utility for RX480. Can it undervolt the 480?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 09:52:51 PM
 #614

I sell 3 and keep 1.95 for each block I hit on  ethpool

That is kinda scaring strategy. Since epic hack ETH just goes down. Soon summer electricity price will be higher than revenue

hawkfish007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 897
Merit: 504


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 10:02:25 PM
 #615

Anyone have tried undervolting stock 480s?

I get about 24.5MHs per card and would like to save on power a bit more.

I dont mind losing 1-2 MHs if I can lower down watts by at least 50-60watts more.

Anyone tried this?

Where do I get this Wattman utility for RX480. Can it undervolt the 480?

Here is the link to Crimson 16.7.2 http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+10+-+64 . Once you install and open it, click on Gaming then Global Settings. You should see all of your miners and wattman settings for each miner. To lower power limit change temperature to manual otherwise control will be grayed out. It does lower power consumption also hash rate a little bit.

For quality risers, splitters or 133 CFM fans, please visit my eBay listings,
http://www.ebay.com/sch/hawkfish007/m.html?_ipg=50&_sop=12&_rdc=1
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 11, 2016, 10:32:04 PM
 #616

are the 470 out yet i can't find them any place on sell  and no 480 any place at the price they were at first all most every were i look is out of stock or well over 199 for the 4 gib version .  I was gonna try to buy a rx 480 next week with 4 gb or 470 .

edit: this is why no 460 or 470  yet


There’s also the RX 470 "for gamers happy with 1080", while the RX 460 processor is for "eSports, streaming and notebooks", with 470 and 460 only available to OEMs for use in their various products.


it's gonna be a 480 next week may be two i hope, there back in stock by then .

cya

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
July 12, 2016, 04:30:33 AM
 #617

Anyone have tried undervolting stock 480s?

I get about 24.5MHs per card and would like to save on power a bit more.

I dont mind losing 1-2 MHs if I can lower down watts by at least 50-60watts more.

Anyone tried this?

Where do I get this Wattman utility for RX480. Can it undervolt the 480?

Here is the link to Crimson 16.7.2 http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+10+-+64 . Once you install and open it, click on Gaming then Global Settings. You should see all of your miners and wattman settings for each miner. To lower power limit change temperature to manual otherwise control will be grayed out. It does lower power consumption also hash rate a little bit.

ok thanks hawkfish007 - will try this in a few hours... I am on Win7 currently and looks like for 480's , I have to use the dreadful W10.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
Redrose
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2016, 06:23:14 AM
 #618

are the 470 out yet i can't find them any place on sell  and no 480 any place at the price they were at first all most every were i look is out of stock or well over 199 for the 4 gib version .  I was gonna try to buy a rx 480 next week with 4 gb or 470 .

edit: this is why no 460 or 470  yet


There’s also the RX 470 "for gamers happy with 1080", while the RX 460 processor is for "eSports, streaming and notebooks", with 470 and 460 only available to OEMs for use in their various products.


it's gonna be a 480 next week may be two i hope, there back in stock by then .

cya

So you mean that if I want to grab some 470 or 460, I need to buy a whole computer from like HP ?


                 ▄▄▄██████████████████▄▄▄
            ▄▄██▀▀▀▀▀███████████████████████▄▄
        ▄▄███▀   ▄▄▄   ▀████████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████  ▄███████▄  ▀██████████████████▀▀▀█████▄
   ▄███████    ███▀▀ ██    ███████████  ███▀  ▄███████▄
  █████████▄  ▄█▀  ▄███    ██████████  ▄██  ▄███████████
 ██████████████▀  ████▀   ▄██▀▀▀████  ▄████▀  ███████████
██████████████▀  ▄███▀   ▄█▀  ▄▄ ██▀ ▄█  ██  █████████████
██████████████   ▀     ▄██▀  ▄█  █▀  █   █▀▄  ▀███████████
█████████████▀  ▄███▄  ▀██   ██ ▄▄▄  █▀ ▄▄▀█▄  ▀▄█████████
█████████████   █████   ▀██▄ ▀▄████▄  ▄███▄▀  ▄███████████
 █████   ▀██▀  ▄█████    █▀▀█████████████████▀███████████
  ████   ▄█▀   █████    ██ ▀▄█▀▄▄▀█ ▀▄▀█▀▄▀ █▀█ ▀▄██████
   ▀███▄▄   ▄█▄ ▀▀     ███ █ █ ▄▄▄█  █ █ █  █ █ ██████▀
     ▀██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████▄█▄██▄▄██ █▄███▄█▄█▄█▄████▀
        ▀▀██████████████████████████████████████▀▀
            ▀▀██████████████████████████████▀▀
                 ▀▀▀██████████████████▀▀▀
      ..Supported by..
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
|
|
|
|

   ▀██▄       ▀████▄
▄    ▀██          ▀██▄
██▄ ▄███         ▄█████▄▄
 ▀███████▄     ▄██▀ ▀▀████
      ▀████▄ ▄██▀     ▀█▀
        ▀████▄
        ▄█▀████▄
      ▄███▄▀▀████▄
    ▄████▀    ▀████▄
  ▄████▀        ▀██▀█▄
  ▀██▀            ▀██▀
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1004


View Profile
July 12, 2016, 07:17:24 AM
 #619

http://www.diamondmultimediastore.com/radeon-rx400-series

free shipping too.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 12, 2016, 04:29:15 PM
 #620



You need to try each one going from lowest to highest voltage until its stable. One of my 290 is very stable the lowest voltage, another one is only stable at the highest voltage. Check your ASIC quality in GPUz

Thanx for trying to help.
For my home computer , mining with two gpus , I would like to get the less noise possible , so I need the lowest temp , that imply lower voltage I think.
Could you confirm my understanding in the reading of the files name ?
=> MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V48.zip (DPM7 - 1.1000V) is the less voltage available.


 That would be correct - IME even the highest-voltage Stilt BIOS ran a TON cooler than the stock bios, I've not had enough time to play around with the others to date.
 The x.xxxxV at the end is the "default" voltage for that BIOS version, lower is better for cool but too low = card don't work right, crashes a lot, etc - and that will vary quite a bit with the specific card due to manufacturing variation.

Could you help me ?
I've tried another bios , the V40.zip (DPM7 - 1.1500V) but still not very good.
Temperature didn't went down , maybe slightly higher !
Wattage is higher for same hashrate as stock.

When I check voltage with afterburner , my two r9 290 flashed with same V40 bios show different voltage : one close to 1047mv and the other one à 1146mv !
I don't understand why , it's not normal , and maybe the lack of improvement come from here ?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!