Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2019, 05:11:45 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 50181 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 22, 2016, 06:22:52 PM
 #701


If you undervolte, you will not use more than 1000W with 3x 390 + 3x 480. So why do you need more than 1300W?

If the question to me - I do not need more than 1300 Smiley

All my r9 390 are undervolted to -100mV via MSI AfterBurner
1548133905
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548133905

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548133905
Reply with quote  #2

1548133905
Report to moderator
1548133905
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548133905

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548133905
Reply with quote  #2

1548133905
Report to moderator
1548133905
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548133905

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548133905
Reply with quote  #2

1548133905
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1484


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 22, 2016, 06:24:30 PM
 #702

Phil,

I have 4x R9 390 - I'm reading in kill-o-watt 1320W from the wall (PSU 1300W Gold 80).

Can I use 3x R9 390 and 2x RX 480?

Or that will be overkill?

What is about 2x R9 390 and 3x RX 480?



I am about to start a thread on mixing r9 390's with rx 480's

I just finished taking 12 photos.

I think 2 r9 390's and 2 rx 480's

will use 1010 to 1050 watts at meter  since 1 + 1 in my case is using  504 to 526  watts my meter reads 2.1 amps at 240 volts  but could be as high as 2.19  amps

So I think   2 r9 390's and 3 rx 480's  would use 1200 watts to 1300 watts (guess) as your  clocks matter


link


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1561775.msg15673804#msg15673804

If you undervolte, you will not use more than 1000W with 3x 390 + 3x 480. So why do you need more than 1300W?

He may want to overclock. coins are shooting to the moon  .

He can certainly go low as you say.  my 4 cards of rx 480 and the rig are just under 600 watts and do 102mh.

my 2 card build  with 1 r9 390 and 1 rx 480 is overclocked and pulls say 510 watts to do 57mh-58mh I over clocked cause prices are way up/

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 22, 2016, 07:08:27 PM
 #703


He may want to overclock. coins are shooting to the moon  .

He can certainly go low as you say.  my 4 cards of rx 480 and the rig are just under 600 watts and do 102mh.

my 2 card build  with 1 r9 390 and 1 rx 480 is overclocked and pulls say 510 watts to do 57mh-58mh I over clocked cause prices are way up/

Got you both!

Yes - I'm overclocked 3x R9 390 to 1050Mhz (from stock 1015 MHz)

So power consumptions is for overclocked, undervolted cards

ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 23, 2016, 02:38:02 AM
 #704

Guys,

Did you consider to install an addition GPU cooler on card like this
https://www.amazon.com/ARCTIC-Accelero-Mono-Graphics-Cooler/dp/B006DAD8HS/ref=sr_1_9?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1469241260&sr=1-9&keywords=gpu+cooler

That may decrease card T during the dual mining in overclocked cards

Any ideas?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1484


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 23, 2016, 08:16:16 AM
 #705

Guys,

Did you consider to install an addition GPU cooler on card like this
https://www.amazon.com/ARCTIC-Accelero-Mono-Graphics-Cooler/dp/B006DAD8HS/ref=sr_1_9?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1469241260&sr=1-9&keywords=gpu+cooler

That may decrease card T during the dual mining in overclocked cards

Any ideas?

Yeah, and make ROI take longer.

Well I had this cooler

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835242030&cm_re=gpu_cooler-_-35-242-030-_-Product

with 140mm fans .  it simply is the best air cooler made for an open air rig.

it is big so big it is huge!  but you would not be able to get a card to reach 50c on max overclocks.

I sold it since taking it off my hd7970 was next to impossible.  I roi'd with the entire setup back in spring 2013 when btc jumped from 60 to 250 usd.

I mined it until June 2013. I then mined LTC with the card  made an extra 100-140 usd worth of ltc.
I mined it in April and May this Year made 60 usd more.  I sold it this year with the hd790  and made 100 more with the sale.

So if you want a really quiet rig to use  adding an aftermarket cooler is okay.

I won't add one to any new or old gpu's until a fan dies off and I need something.

but if I kill a fan I would add it in a heartbeat.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1484


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 23, 2016, 02:54:09 PM
 #706

Here's mine  Wink













   your links are broken in that they ask for me to join the forum to see them. so I deleted your post and broke the link some more

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
zeta1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 23, 2016, 09:36:06 PM
 #707

Cool selfmade rigs:)
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 01:37:10 AM
 #708


but if I kill a fan I would add it in a heartbeat.

Phil,

Could I use those aftermarket fans to use with extremely overclocked cards?

I dont care about noise
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1484


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 03:35:39 AM
 #709


but if I kill a fan I would add it in a heartbeat.

Phil,

Could I use those aftermarket fans to use with extremely overclocked cards?

I dont care about noise


I have not seen any demos of tearing down a rx 480 to replace the fans.

but a lot of cards are easy to take apart.  I have not done any since 2013.

Hd7970's  some were easy some were hard.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 05:22:23 AM
 #710


I have not seen any demos of tearing down a rx 480 to replace the fans.

but a lot of cards are easy to take apart.  I have not done any since 2013.

Hd7970's  some were easy some were hard.

Looks like we are going away from original question:

I dont want to take the card apart - I want to add an additional GPU cooler to it and overclock. Right now I cannot get a stable overclocking due to high T on GPU.

So maybe folks here have/had or heard about using units like this - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007YLUCKQ/ref=twister_B00K7YTBXG?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
for the overclocking

citronick
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 09:55:29 AM
 #711


I have not seen any demos of tearing down a rx 480 to replace the fans.

but a lot of cards are easy to take apart.  I have not done any since 2013.

Hd7970's  some were easy some were hard.

Looks like we are going away from original question:

I dont want to take the card apart - I want to add an additional GPU cooler to it and overclock. Right now I cannot get a stable overclocking due to high T on GPU.

So maybe folks here have/had or heard about using units like this - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007YLUCKQ/ref=twister_B00K7YTBXG?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
for the overclocking



I have seen this 7 x Nanos stripped out of their fans and replaced with liquid cooling.

https://youtu.be/LXOaCkbt4lI

Water cooling is better for OC for GPU as it is true for CPU?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1484


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 11:55:10 AM
 #712


I have not seen any demos of tearing down a rx 480 to replace the fans.

but a lot of cards are easy to take apart.  I have not done any since 2013.

Hd7970's  some were easy some were hard.

Looks like we are going away from original question:

I dont want to take the card apart - I want to add an additional GPU cooler to it and overclock. Right now I cannot get a stable overclocking due to high T on GPU.

So maybe folks here have/had or heard about using units like this - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007YLUCKQ/ref=twister_B00K7YTBXG?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
for the overclocking



how do you think you add a cooler?

you remove the old one. ie  a teardown of the  other shell and the  cooler.

I have not down it since a few 2013 hd7970's

some hd7970s suck to remove the outer shell  and old fan.

I have no idea if that is the case. with the rx 480.

also the vram may be what is too hot.  not the  gpu chip.  There are multiple factors  to replacing the oem fans.

you need to go to http://www.overclockers.com/

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/

look for how to's      In order to see if some one did your exact make and  model.



I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 03:09:40 PM
 #713



how do you think you add a cooler?

you remove the old one. ie  a teardown of the  other shell and the  cooler.



Now it is clear - I thought it is some sort of outer shell for GPU Smiley

This is why I like to ask Phil!

Thank you!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1484


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 03:38:53 PM
 #714



how do you think you add a cooler?

you remove the old one. ie  a teardown of the  other shell and the  cooler.



Now it is clear - I thought it is some sort of outer shell for GPU Smiley

This is why I like to ask Phil!

Thank you!

My older hd7970 sapphires were easy to replace a fan my old xfx hd7970 were very difficult to do.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2077
Merit: 1107


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 03:56:17 PM
 #715

yeah some cards needed small heatsinks to be added to ram/vrms when going with aftermarket coolers.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1484


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 05:07:16 PM
 #716

yeah some cards needed small heatsinks to be added to ram/vrms when going with aftermarket coolers.

Yes and every card stood on its own.

I will say this a quality cooler does allow for better overclock but. Every gpu chip has a percent rating.

I think gpu-z shows it low number like 60 means the card is a good under clock

A high number like 80 mean the card is a good over clock.

ASIC rating comes to my mind on the chip rating but frankly I do not remember.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1024


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 09:05:09 PM
 #717

ASIC rating would be what it's called - I remember running across that during my search for working copies of TheStilt BIOS series for the R9 290.

 It seems to have more to do with how well a GPU can be undervolted as opposed to how well it can overclock, but probably affects both to some degree.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
citronick
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
July 24, 2016, 09:43:19 PM
 #718

ASIC rating would be what it's called - I remember running across that during my search for working copies of TheStilt BIOS series for the R9 290.

 It seems to have more to do with how well a GPU can be undervolted as opposed to how well it can overclock, but probably affects both to some degree.


Talking about Stilt BIOS, where do I download a good copy?

I inherited a 290 and 290x for helping out in a project, and I was advised that its a great "sin" NOT to use Stilt BIOS on these cards  Cheesy

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
mandica
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 703
Merit: 508



View Profile WWW
July 26, 2016, 08:43:06 AM
 #719

ASIC rating would be what it's called - I remember running across that during my search for working copies of TheStilt BIOS series for the R9 290.

 It seems to have more to do with how well a GPU can be undervolted as opposed to how well it can overclock, but probably affects both to some degree.


Talking about Stilt BIOS, where do I download a good copy?

I inherited a 290 and 290x for helping out in a project, and I was advised that its a great "sin" NOT to use Stilt BIOS on these cards  Cheesy

If you use that for Ethereum mining only, you can flash the 290 BIOS to the 290X cards to save some energy.

QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1024


View Profile
July 26, 2016, 06:32:47 PM
 #720

Actually no - most R9 290 do NOT work well if at all with a R9 290x BIOS - a few of the early ones do 'cause they used the same chip with a BIOS disablement, but that didn't last very long.

The R9 290x doesn't mine Ethereum any faster than the R9 290 does anyway - they're memory subsystem limited, not "number of cores" limited - the big help the Stilt BIOS does is to tighten up the memory timings a LOT making it effectively quite a bit faster (as well as turning off some of the parts of the card that aren't needed for mining, allowing for overclocking).

 There are coins (and projects that can lead to coins) that would benefit if your R9 290 card *IS* one of the few that's actually a R9 290x under the hood - Ethereum just isn't one of them.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!