Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 10:01:32 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 49102 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 12:08:41 PM
 #741

I would go for the Nitro.
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510956092
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956092

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956092
Reply with quote  #2

1510956092
Report to moderator
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 12:25:24 PM
 #742

When you mine it, it is more profitable than the ETH, but when you sell, the price is lower.

It is not "profitable" - due to lower difficulty you getting more coins per MHs spent

And price is not volatile - it's going down as crazy
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 12:26:22 PM
 #743

So I've finally consolidated my four 480s onto one platform, utilizing the Biostar Z170 board noted below.

However...  The stability of having all four cards hash consistently at/near 24-25 MH/s is just not there.  After a few hours, one of cards seems to drop down to about 8 MH/s and stays there.  Is this par for the course, or are other peoples' rigs "rock solid"?  I have a 750W gold-rated PSU pulling about 630W at the wall.  I do have a 850W I could swap around, if that would help. I've been contemplating a script that reboots the machine every 12 hours, or so, to get things to return back to normal.  Are other people rebooting often?

ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 12:49:40 PM
 #744

So I've finally consolidated my four 480s onto one platform, utilizing the Biostar Z170 board noted below.

However...  The stability of having all four cards hash consistently at/near 24-25 MH/s is just not there.  After a few hours, one of cards seems to drop down to about 8 MH/s and stays there.  Is this par for the course, or are other peoples' rigs "rock solid"?  I have a 750W gold-rated PSU pulling about 630W at the wall.  I do have a 850W I could swap around, if that would help. I've been contemplating a script that reboots the machine every 12 hours, or so, to get things to return back to normal.  Are other people rebooting often?



Could you please add your data here?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1550780.0

On the card dropping the hash - I had a similar problem with rig on 4 R9 R390 cards. It was one black sheep (PowerColor) which does not hold any settings except stock. At the moment I've stopped to over/under it - rig works perfectly
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 12:50:09 PM
 #745

So I've finally consolidated my four 480s onto one platform, utilizing the Biostar Z170 board noted below.

However...  The stability of having all four cards hash consistently at/near 24-25 MH/s is just not there.  After a few hours, one of cards seems to drop down to about 8 MH/s and stays there.  Is this par for the course, or are other peoples' rigs "rock solid"?  I have a 750W gold-rated PSU pulling about 630W at the wall.  I do have a 850W I could swap around, if that would help. I've been contemplating a script that reboots the machine every 12 hours, or so, to get things to return back to normal.  Are other people rebooting often?


 mine is rock solid

what are your settings?

630 watts for a gold is close to my 590-600 watts for a plat  but not that close.

three guesses.

1 poor card
psu  is weak
a poor pcie cable

mine just runs and runs and runs and runs.

I never reboot. other then when windows 7 manages to force an update on me.  10 to 20 days even with the never update settings.


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 01:40:53 PM
 #746

Hello, I have been mining BTC for a few years now, but got interested in ETH for the last few days ( I love messing around with GPUs and stuff ).

I got myself 1x 480, and a couple more on the way...

However I cannot get stable hashrate reported by pool. Is this normal for ETH, as I come from BTC world, where hash rate is constant at the pool monitoring.

I have tried 2 gpus from 2 different locations, and both are doing same thing. Mining at the ethermine.org startum.

OS Win 8.1
Latest ATI Drivers
ASRock H81 Pro BTC
PowerColor rx480

Any ideas?



This is graph of 1x 480 and 1x 270 mining. And its fluctuating from 25 to 42 MH/s



This is 480, with --farm-recheck 200

LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 01:49:10 PM
 #747

Which client?
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 02:02:23 PM
 #748

ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.1.6-pre

Will try now with Claymore miner in Ethereum mode only...

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 02:19:36 PM
 #749

ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.1.6-pre

Will try now with Claymore miner in Ethereum mode only...

flux does happen  my charts below have flux

claymore miner

If I was perfect:

default  would have a 56mh  average    it has 53.0
rig1 would have a 101mh     average     it has 97.0
rig2  would have a 25mh      average     it has 24.7
Rig7 would have a 60mh      average     it has 58.0

I had a windows update  muscle in on the left and dropped to 3 workers
I had an amd update  push in on the right  and dropped to 3 workers

But the middle stretch was stable

and the blue line always moves up and down since they show the variance of shares made.


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 03:13:41 PM
 #750

The Claymore mining client also mines for the dev for a slight time, too. That can contribute to a small drop in reported hash rate.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 04:11:50 PM
 #751

Question:

delete




buy this it is in stock in a week.

https://www.amazon.com/MSI-Radeon-RX-480-8G/dp/B01GX5Z4EM/ref=sr_1_1?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 04:44:07 PM
 #752

Point well taken. So - no go decision

Will wait till better prices
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 06:24:57 PM
 #753


 Of those 4, the R9 380 pair - I'd go with the Sapphire over the MSI.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 08:50:55 PM
 #754


Yeah the r9 380's are good.

I don't know prices in UK  but they are good cards.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
rawbert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 02:37:48 AM
 #755

ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.1.6-pre

Will try now with Claymore miner in Ethereum mode only...

flux does happen  my charts below have flux

claymore miner


Hi Phil,
Does claymore work with the RX 480?
Dev says older cards only and old crimson 15.12 driver??
I just built my rig and got an MSI RX 480!! My first mining rig so I'll be bugging y'all Smiley
Thanks,
Rob
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 02:39:01 AM
 #756

ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.1.6-pre

Will try now with Claymore miner in Ethereum mode only...

flux does happen  my charts below have flux

claymore miner


Hi Phil,
Does claymore work with the RX 480?
Dev says older cards only and old crimson 15.12 driver??
I just built my rig and got an MSI RX 480!! My first mining rig so I'll be bugging y'all Smiley
Thanks,
Rob


Yes, it does!  Quite well.

Please post a hash rate when it's up and running
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 03:05:12 AM
 #757

Here is topic for stats on Claymore Dual Miner

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1550780.0
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 03:22:19 AM
 #758




Claymore with AMD 16.7.2 or 16.7.3

Both work well.

I got another rx 480 today.

I am now pushing 260 mh

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 03:23:28 AM
 #759




Claymore with AMD 16.7.2 or 16.7.3

Both work well.

I got another rx 480 today.

I am now pushing 260 mh

What is your wattage? I should have two more here tomorrow.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 04:00:06 AM
 #760


Could you please add your data here?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1550780.0



https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1550780.msg15744280#msg15744280
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!