Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 07:09:33 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 50179 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1893
Merit: 1076


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 10:26:13 AM
 #781


heh we should start a club. maybe phil could be president, its happened to him too.

ill be doing the same, get replacement cables, use the other sockets and keep rolling. psu itself is fine.

bought mine january 2014. about when was yours bought?
1539889773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539889773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539889773
Reply with quote  #2

1539889773
Report to moderator
1539889773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539889773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539889773
Reply with quote  #2

1539889773
Report to moderator
1539889773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539889773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539889773
Reply with quote  #2

1539889773
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539889773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539889773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539889773
Reply with quote  #2

1539889773
Report to moderator
1539889773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539889773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539889773
Reply with quote  #2

1539889773
Report to moderator
1539889773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539889773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539889773
Reply with quote  #2

1539889773
Report to moderator
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1003


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 10:32:36 AM
 #782



bought mine january 2014. about when was yours bought?

late 2014.. i got this to power a couple 270x's for when MAXcoin was hot. i still have those cards and i been mining eth with them.


there is absolutely no way a 270x was overloading the cables.. i think its a defect in the design.

vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1893
Merit: 1076


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 10:43:23 AM
 #783

bought mine january 2014. about when was yours bought?

late 2014.. i got this to power a couple 270x's for when MAXcoin was hot. i still have those cards and i been mining eth with them.

there is absolutely no way a 270x was overloading the cables.. i think its a defect in the design.

since this happened i read that some x series had substandard cables shipped during the time frame mine (looks like yours too) was bought.. cant find the link atm but ill post after work if i cant find it in the next few minutes.

email seasonic they should send new cables even if this has not happened.

EDIT of course its still under warranty so they will replace the burnt cable, even the psu, but in the thread i read the dude had emailed seasonic about a burned connector on the psu side and they sent all new pcie cables. seasonic admitted (to the forum poster in an email) their supplier sent out of spec cables that slipped through at one point and some were shipped. the new cables he got had 1 x 6+2 on them instead of the 2 x 6+2 he then had. he mentioned all you had to do was email seasonic with model # etc and they would just sent new cables.
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1089



View Profile
August 01, 2016, 11:24:00 AM
 #784

I had this happen also. Its not the PSU or the GPU or overloading the cables, its the connector. Its not a tight fit and sometimes when plugging in and unplugging it results in a loose connection.

Nothing you can do but periodically check the connections or try to use the least amount of current as possible.

This happens even with Platinum type PSUs and people who were gamers and not miners.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Dobmaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 01, 2016, 04:23:15 PM
 #785

I had this happen also. Its not the PSU or the GPU or overloading the cables, its the connector. Its not a tight fit and sometimes when plugging in and unplugging it results in a loose connection.

Nothing you can do but periodically check the connections or try to use the least amount of current as possible.

This happens even with Platinum type PSUs and people who were gamers and not miners.

I had similar experience. I just replace the cables. I do not over draw the current any more. I just just 80% of the rated power.

❘|❘ NEUFUND Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 04:43:25 PM
 #786

I had this happen also. Its not the PSU or the GPU or overloading the cables, its the connector. Its not a tight fit and sometimes when plugging in and unplugging it results in a loose connection.

Nothing you can do but periodically check the connections or try to use the least amount of current as possible.

This happens even with Platinum type PSUs and people who were gamers and not miners.

I had similar experience. I just replace the cables. I do not over draw the current any more. I just just 80% of the rated power.

yep full speed ahead is not the best move.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
miayama
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 05:10:27 PM
 #787

I had this happen also. Its not the PSU or the GPU or overloading the cables, its the connector. Its not a tight fit and sometimes when plugging in and unplugging it results in a loose connection.

Nothing you can do but periodically check the connections or try to use the least amount of current as possible.

This happens even with Platinum type PSUs and people who were gamers and not miners.

I had similar experience. I just replace the cables. I do not over draw the current any more. I just just 80% of the rated power.

yep full speed ahead is not the best move.

For my 1250W power supply, I just use 1050W input power from the wall. That is about 75% of the rated power.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 05:45:46 PM
 #788

tester


0x71e017514b3338988f0c080b917749ed218b64d0



testing etc mining on nanopool.

I have about 330 hash power

I am pointing 55 at   ETC
https://etc.nanopool.org/account/0x71e017514b3338988f0c080b917749ed218b64d0




I am pointing 275 at  ETH
http://ethpool.org/miners/3ef297e47404a771139472b93621f82c8a832857

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1893
Merit: 1076


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 10:53:25 PM
 #789

yep full speed ahead is not the best move.

wait, wut?

there are other speeds besides "off" and "flat out" ??

but seriously 80% is a good rule. i would of thought however seasonic would have overbuilt the cables. its one reason i went with seasonic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 11:32:12 PM
 #790

yep full speed ahead is not the best move.

wait, wut?

there are other speeds besides "off" and "flat out" ??

but seriously 80% is a good rule. i would of thought however seasonic would have overbuilt the cables. its one reason i went with seasonic.

yeah I made that mistake. most of their cables are 18 awg not 16 awg

you would be surprised at how many plus have come in and out of my home  I would say 100 plus atx psus since 2009 .  As I switched away from suing up mac minis and into build gaming rigs.

Seasonic has had some stinkers as has corsair

evga are very good this is a good one


https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-SuperNOVA-PLATINUM-Crossfire-Warranty/dp/B010HWDP48/ref=sr_1_3?

does 3 rx 480s or 2 r9 390s  with no worries.

long 10 year warranty

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 01:04:46 AM
 #791

I think I have a PSU problem...

Upon pressing start button.... CPU fan, etc starts then stops.... and within a fraction of a second... it starts again and functions normally.

EVGA 1300w
ASrock H81, Celeron 1840, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD
5 x Saphirre 480
No OC just undervolted -33%
Claymore v5.3, ETH mining only.

Could this be a symptom of a PSU dying?

I thought EVGAs are a cut above the rest

Ideas?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 01:32:42 AM
 #792

I think I have a PSU problem...

Upon pressing start button.... CPU fan, etc starts then stops.... and within a fraction of a second... it starts again and functions normally.

EVGA 1300w
ASrock H81, Celeron 1840, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD
5 x Saphirre 480
No OC just undervolted -33%
Claymore v5.3, ETH mining only.

Could this be a symptom of a PSU dying?

I thought EVGAs are a cut above the rest

Ideas?

may be the psu board's surge protection.

I have 5 builds.

one is an evga a 2 card build  running 2 r9 390's it turns on then off then on let me see the model  it is a plat 650 pulls 530 watts on a high read kwatt meter pulls 505 watts on a low read kwatt meter.

so I think it is some kind of protection in the psu. since we do the exact same thing on your 1300 watt g2 and on my 650 watt p2

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
klondike_bar_recovery
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 02:17:26 AM
 #793

I think I have a PSU problem...

Upon pressing start button.... CPU fan, etc starts then stops.... and within a fraction of a second... it starts again and functions normally.

EVGA 1300w
ASrock H81, Celeron 1840, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD
5 x Saphirre 480
No OC just undervolted -33%
Claymore v5.3, ETH mining only.

Could this be a symptom of a PSU dying?

I thought EVGAs are a cut above the rest

Ideas?

some components (mostly PSU/GPU) will stop then start the fans at boot, often a symptom of the bios checking them then starting up. IME cpu fans dont normally do it though

if you're plugged to a monitor is there any sign of the bios before the "second start"?

either way, doesnt sound like a psu issue unless one of your hookups isnt quite seated properly (such as the 24pin mobo cable having a poor ground/3.3V/etc connection)
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 02:18:12 AM
 #794

I think I have a PSU problem...

Upon pressing start button.... CPU fan, etc starts then stops.... and within a fraction of a second... it starts again and functions normally.

EVGA 1300w
ASrock H81, Celeron 1840, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD
5 x Saphirre 480
No OC just undervolted -33%
Claymore v5.3, ETH mining only.

Could this be a symptom of a PSU dying?

I thought EVGAs are a cut above the rest

Ideas?

may be the psu board's surge protection.

I have 5 builds.

one is an evga a 2 card build  running 2 r9 390's it turns on then off then on let me see the model  it is a plat 650 pulls 530 watts on a high read kwatt meter pulls 505 watts on a low read kwatt meter.

so I think it is some kind of protection in the psu. since we do the exact same thing on your 1300 watt g2 and on my 650 watt p2

so it safe then... I hope it doesn't give up after so many reboots... because I put CDM to reboot if for whatever reasons the GPU hangs.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
Daffadile
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2016, 12:13:32 PM
 #795

Is this sort of mining still profitable ?


````````````````▄██████████▄
````````````▄██████████████████▄
``````▄█████████▀``````````▀████████▄
``▄████████▀``````▄████████▄````▀████████▄
████████```````▄█████████████▄``````███████
████████████████████▀`````▀████████████████
█████```███████▀````▄█████````███████``████
█████```█████````██████████````█████````███
█████```█████````██████████````█████````███
█████```█████````██████████````█████````███
█████```█████``````██████▀````▄█████````███
█████```█████```````````````▄███████````███
█████```█████````███████████████▀```````███
█████████████````███████████▀``````▄███████
````▀████████````████████``````▄██████▀
`````````▀███````████████`▄███████▀
`````````````````████████████▀
                                                                              TM
Optherium
|
Synergy of Blockchain solutions
                     WEB SITE
[
   ●  Onepager   Ann Thread
      ◆ InstagramMedium
◆ Facebook ◆ Twitter ◆ Telegram ◆
]
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 662
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 12:41:01 PM
 #796

Is this sort of mining still profitable ?

If your up front costs are low enough. If your electricity rate is cheap enough. If you're able to locate some newer, efficient GPUs.

You can trade your ETH for BTC directly.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 01:11:15 PM
 #797

Is this sort of mining still profitable ?


If you have a pc that is built you can put in a decent gpu and mine.

If you build a pc from start maybe not.

I know that a pc with two rx 480s mines at 50 mh to 55 mh

This earns around 180 usd a month power is about 30 to 40 a month.

So 140 to 150 a month.

To build a two card machine maybe 1000

But if you have a machine built and just need 2 cards it is 500 to add 2 cards.

So that may work for you.

If you are not handy  this is an okay deal


http://www.bestbuy.com/site/cyberpowerpc-gamer-ultra-desktop-amd-fx-series-8gb-memory-amd-radeon-rx-480-1tb-hard-drive/5511000.p?id=bb5511000&skuId=5511000

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 01:52:04 PM
 #798


Phil,

Pretty good deal especially after adding second RX 480 and selling in 3-4 month to gamers

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 02:40:25 PM
 #799


yeah the board looks good to add a second card can't quite see if it can.  I am tempted to buy it to review it.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1893
Merit: 1076


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
August 03, 2016, 01:07:30 AM
 #800

specs say 1 x16 and 1 x1 slot. dunno if thats total or free?

no psu specs either.. but only gave it a quick glance.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!