Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2018, 09:28:47 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 50180 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 05:37:09 AM
 #821

Phil - what CPU is suitable for pure Claymore ETH mining on this BIOSTAR Z170 Racing mobo? Thanks

The most cost effective, "bang for the buck" is this Pentium G4400, in my opinion:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1UH3Z96302

yup, this is what I am aiming for instead of newer CPUs because it needs to be optimised for mining and not waste any CPU resources. But if you are going  to resell it after mining to a gamer -- i3 or i5 is minimum for it to run smoothly.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
1542835727
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542835727

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542835727
Reply with quote  #2

1542835727
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542835727
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542835727

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542835727
Reply with quote  #2

1542835727
Report to moderator
1542835727
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542835727

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542835727
Reply with quote  #2

1542835727
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1390


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 03:12:50 PM
 #822

Phil - what CPU is suitable for pure Claymore ETH mining on this BIOSTAR Z170 Racing mobo? Thanks

The most cost effective, "bang for the buck" is this Pentium G4400, in my opinion:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1UH3Z96302

yup, this is what I am aiming for instead of newer CPUs because it needs to be optimised for mining and not waste any CPU resources. But if you are going  to resell it after mining to a gamer -- i3 or i5 is minimum for it to run smoothly.

true  i will have my build done in about 3 days we can see if there is a big difference.


hey  I found rx 460 for sale  hurry up only 4 left

I did get a 460 from amazon today  good price? 149.99

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01J1M4HDS/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 06:50:57 PM
 #823

Phil - what CPU is suitable for pure Claymore ETH mining on this BIOSTAR Z170 Racing mobo? Thanks

The most cost effective, "bang for the buck" is this Pentium G4400, in my opinion:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1UH3Z96302

yup, this is what I am aiming for instead of newer CPUs because it needs to be optimised for mining and not waste any CPU resources. But if you are going  to resell it after mining to a gamer -- i3 or i5 is minimum for it to run smoothly.

true  i will have my build done in about 3 days we can see if there is a big difference.


hey  I found rx 460 for sale  hurry up only 4 left

I did get a 460 from amazon today  good price? 149.99

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01J1M4HDS/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?



Phil - would a RX460 or RX470 be as "good" as a 480?

I suspect a 470. 460 may be even better for ETH mining since its cheaper and not overspec-ed.

As long as the memory is 4gb and fast, it good for ETH mining.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 06:58:16 PM
 #824


I suspect a 470. 460 may be even better for ETH mining since its cheaper and not overspec-ed.

As long as the memory is 4gb and fast, it good for ETH mining.

Looks like both sucks - according a couple of tests

QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1022


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 09:08:51 PM
 #825

The benchs I've seen so far indicate that the RX470 is VERY close to RX480 performance on Ethereum, but the RX460 isn't even close.

 I honestly don't understand the RX 470, unless it's a "RX 480 die failed but mostly works, market it as a slightly less powerfull GPU for slightly less money" type thing.
 Not something new though, both AMD and NVidia have done that sort of thing before.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1390


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 10:27:52 PM
 #826


I suspect a 470. 460 may be even better for ETH mining since its cheaper and not overspec-ed.

As long as the memory is 4gb and fast, it good for ETH mining.

Looks like both sucks - according a couple of tests



The 470 does 22-23mh at 110 watts so it is under five watts an mh.

The 460 is on the way I have not tested it yet.

I have no issues buying a 470 at 199  should work out. I have test two models so far.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 662
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 11:27:34 PM
 #827

I have two rigs banging away at ethpool. I get 4 to 6 invalid shares per hour (split between both rigs) out of ~165 or so.  Is this normal?  I think I have one pointing to us1.ethpool and the other pointing to us2.ethpool, so I don't think it is the server choice. 

Can anyone chime in?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1390


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 04:30:46 AM
 #828

I have two rigs banging away at ethpool. I get 4 to 6 invalid shares per hour (split between both rigs) out of ~165 or so.  Is this normal?  I think I have one pointing to us1.ethpool and the other pointing to us2.ethpool, so I don't think it is the server choice. 

Can anyone chime in?

1 of 28 is about right. 1 out of 20 would be no good.

Some where I recall 4% as the level that is 'bad'

So 7 or 8 would be high.


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Sanguintan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 02:37:16 PM
 #829

I have two rigs banging away at ethpool. I get 4 to 6 invalid shares per hour (split between both rigs) out of ~165 or so.  Is this normal?  I think I have one pointing to us1.ethpool and the other pointing to us2.ethpool, so I don't think it is the server choice. 

Can anyone chime in?

1 of 28 is about right. 1 out of 20 would be no good.

Some where I recall 4% as the level that is 'bad'

So 7 or 8 would be high.



I use the Claymore miner and do not overclock. I do not have invalid shares, 2 out of 15,000 rejection, 4-6% of stale shares.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 04:09:29 PM
 #830

SAP-RX-470-8G-NITRO+ SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 470 8G GDDR5 PCI

Whats the going price in the US?


If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
xleejohnx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 04:27:21 PM
 #831

SAP-RX-470-8G-NITRO+ SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 470 8G GDDR5 PCI

Whats the going price in the US?



Right now it's 239.99 on newegg with 4.99 shipping

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 04:42:42 PM
 #832

SAP-RX-470-8G-NITRO+ SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 470 8G GDDR5 PCI

Whats the going price in the US?



Right now it's 239.99 on newegg with 4.99 shipping

thanks Johnx for the info.

Philip... your 199$ 470 rig, would it be any better than the Nitro version 240$  - performance wise ?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
xleejohnx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 04:45:36 PM
 #833

SAP-RX-470-8G-NITRO+ SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 470 8G GDDR5 PCI

Whats the going price in the US?



Right now it's 239.99 on newegg with 4.99 shipping

thanks Johnx for the info.

Philip... your 199$ 470 rig, would it be any better than the Nitro version 240$  - performance wise ?

Are you going to run 4 8gb cards? On one motherboard?

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1036


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 04:58:01 PM
 #834

SAP-RX-470-8G-NITRO+ SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 470 8G GDDR5 PCI

Whats the going price in the US?



Right now it's 239.99 on newegg with 4.99 shipping

thanks Johnx for the info.

Philip... your 199$ 470 rig, would it be any better than the Nitro version 240$  - performance wise ?

Are you going to run 4 8gb cards? On one motherboard?

I am inspired by Philip's 4 x GPU rig on that BIOSTAR Racing mobo.

I planning to streamline my farm with 4 to 5 onboard GPUs with M2 SSDs.

Enough of those risers and expensive PSUs, and dreaded SSD cables Grin

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas/BITBLASTER!
xleejohnx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 05:09:37 PM
 #835

SAP-RX-470-8G-NITRO+ SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 470 8G GDDR5 PCI

Whats the going price in the US?



Right now it's 239.99 on newegg with 4.99 shipping

thanks Johnx for the info.

Philip... your 199$ 470 rig, would it be any better than the Nitro version 240$  - performance wise ?

Are you going to run 4 8gb cards? On one motherboard?

I am inspired by Philip's 4 x GPU rig on that BIOSTAR Racing mobo.

I planning to streamline my farm with 4 to 5 onboard GPUs with M2 SSDs.

Enough of those risers and expensive PSUs, and dreaded SSD cables Grin

The only probably I see with 8gb cards is the pcie lanes the cpu offers. Most CPUs offer 16 lanes so with 4 cards that 4x per lane at 3.0 that's 4gbs per card so unless the southbridge picks up the slack in the line you won't get the full 8gbs

All of stuff comes in this weekend so I can't say for sure but looking at from all the info I have now that's the conulsion I came too

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1930
Merit: 1079


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 06:24:38 PM
 #836


The only probably I see with 8gb cards is the pcie lanes the cpu offers. Most CPUs offer 16 lanes so with 4 cards that 4x per lane at 3.0 that's 4gbs per card so unless the southbridge picks up the slack in the line you won't get the full 8gbs

All of stuff comes in this weekend so I can't say for sure but looking at from all the info I have now that's the conulsion I came too

for mining all you need is 1 pcie lane per card. it wont effect mining speed at all.

for a mining mobo that needs no risers you would want as many physical x16 slots as possible (or smaller slots that are open ended so they will take full size cards), spaced out for double width cards. the electrical pcie lane spec on those physical x16 slots can be anywhere from 4-16 per slot on such a mobo.

for example my gigabyte z97x mobo has 3 physical x16 slots, when all are populated they run as x16, x8, x4 electrically.

for a mining rig with risers you can also use the physical x1 slots.


i do like the m2 ssd bit. less cables etc. and a mining rig wont hammer it so it should run cool.
xleejohnx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 06:30:48 PM
 #837


The only probably I see with 8gb cards is the pcie lanes the cpu offers. Most CPUs offer 16 lanes so with 4 cards that 4x per lane at 3.0 that's 4gbs per card so unless the southbridge picks up the slack in the line you won't get the full 8gbs

All of stuff comes in this weekend so I can't say for sure but looking at from all the info I have now that's the conulsion I came too

for mining all you need is 1 pcie lane per card. it wont effect mining speed at all.

for a mining mobo that needs no risers you would want as many physical x16 slots as possible, spaced out for double width cards. the electrical pcie lane spec can be anywhere from 4-16 per slot on such a mobo.

for example my gigabyte z97x mobo has 3 physical x16 slots, when all are populated they run as x16, x8, x4 electrically.

i do like the m2 ssd bit. less cables etc. and a mining rig wont hammer it so it should run cool.

If he runs 4 8gbs cards on the biostar board each card will have a 16x slot at 3.0
but it can only run each slot at x4 3.0 so that's 4gbs per slot
With that half the cards ability will not be used unless that doesn't effect the hashing power of the card.

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 662
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 06:31:49 PM
 #838



The only probably I see with 8gb cards is the pcie lanes the cpu offers. Most CPUs offer 16 lanes so with 4 cards that 4x per lane at 3.0 that's 4gbs per card so unless the southbridge picks up the slack in the line you won't get the full 8gbs



That's not the way it works. You can use all the 8GB of memory of each card, it's just that the system will utilize it at a (negligibly) slower rate
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1390


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 08:15:13 PM
 #839



The only probably I see with 8gb cards is the pcie lanes the cpu offers. Most CPUs offer 16 lanes so with 4 cards that 4x per lane at 3.0 that's 4gbs per card so unless the southbridge picks up the slack in the line you won't get the full 8gbs



That's not the way it works. You can use all the 8GB of memory of each card, it's just that the system will utilize it at a (negligibly) slower rate

most likely this is correct.  I range from 95 to 101 for the four cards  pool side where it counts  and the average tends to be 98

which is 24 a card  and i pull 590-605 watts for entire system.

I am now trying to get the second rig up  I have an issue I am blue screening with four cards.  will keep trying.


boom second rig is running yeah baby.    four rx 480's  cheaper pentium g4400 psu.

blue screen with AMD 16.8.1
blue screen with AMD 16.7.3
running with AMD 16.7.2

So I now have two four card rigs
 same mobos
 same ram

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
xleejohnx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 11, 2016, 11:56:26 PM
 #840



The only probably I see with 8gb cards is the pcie lanes the cpu offers. Most CPUs offer 16 lanes so with 4 cards that 4x per lane at 3.0 that's 4gbs per card so unless the southbridge picks up the slack in the line you won't get the full 8gbs



That's not the way it works. You can use all the 8GB of memory of each card, it's just that the system will utilize it at a (negligibly) slower rate

ahh learned something new today

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!