Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2017, 03:27:22 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using an old Dell Optiplex to mine with  (Read 191 times)
Toxicable
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
April 29, 2017, 05:31:36 AM
 #1

Hey guys, so im looking at buying some old Dell Optiplexes to run my GPU mining setup. I was just wondering if this is legit thing?
From what I can tell they have 3 PCI-E slots each which and turns about half the price per slot than if I did a 7 slot Mobo + CPU

Is there anything about the old BIOS on them that might stop me from being able to mod the GPU's?
Anything else I should be aware of using old tech like this to mine?
1493522842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493522842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493522842
Reply with quote  #2

1493522842
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493522842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493522842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493522842
Reply with quote  #2

1493522842
Report to moderator
chup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


Me, Myself & I


View Profile
April 29, 2017, 07:26:17 AM
 #2

Hey guys, so im looking at buying some old Dell Optiplexes to run my GPU mining setup. I was just wondering if this is legit thing?
From what I can tell they have 3 PCI-E slots each which and turns about half the price per slot than if I did a 7 slot Mobo + CPU

Is there anything about the old BIOS on them that might stop me from being able to mod the GPU's?
Anything else I should be aware of using old tech like this to mine?

What GPUs? My Precision 690 can't boot if first GPU is RX4?0 card. No UEFI BIOS no boot with RX cards...

*** 10% *** Cashback at AliExpress
dash:Xkj6vADmRDai2P6sdfNaKeadYbmUz1qDMZ; 1Chup2GPtSkTqKKsyvPafhesfBkx1u4b9u - BTC
Ultrabat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
April 29, 2017, 07:55:17 AM
 #3

Hey guys, so im looking at buying some old Dell Optiplexes to run my GPU mining setup. I was just wondering if this is legit thing?
From what I can tell they have 3 PCI-E slots each which and turns about half the price per slot than if I did a 7 slot Mobo + CPU

Is there anything about the old BIOS on them that might stop me from being able to mod the GPU's?
Anything else I should be aware of using old tech like this to mine?

It is better to buy with more PCIE sots. So you need fewer CPU, memory etc.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1112

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
April 29, 2017, 02:43:44 PM
 #4


i had a few optiplexes, cast offs i got for free from work. i5s with 4 gb ram

they are hit or miss. one model worked fine with 3 gpus, one model would not boot with more than 1. cant remember the exact model numbers though, but they were both in the 900 series.



m0bilitee
Newbie
*
Online Online

Activity: 15


View Profile
Today at 03:16:46 AM
 #5

My concern would be poor quality (or poor efficiency) PSUs in these.  Optiplexes are for corporate folks using Word and Excel all day.  I've used 'em for years and years for that purpose, but never for mining.  Just my $.02.

- m0b
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!