Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:45:02 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining on the Amazon EC2  (Read 6953 times)
marinello12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:06:32 AM
 #1

Is any ne using Amazon EC2 to mine bitcoin? I was thinking about doing it and wondered how many hashes I would get a second using this setup and which minier I could use..any help would be appreciated Smiley

AMAZON EC2 GLUSTER GPU SPEC:
Quote
22 GB of memory
33.5 EC2 Compute Units (2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core “Nehalem” architecture)
2 x NVIDIA Tesla “Fermi” M2050 GPUs
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform
I/O Performance: Very High (10 Gigabit Ethernet)
API name: cg1.4xlarge

sharecoin:SixQXvVQ7hqdQHFekhu9w9EyNitVQtqcuu
1480772702
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772702

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772702
Reply with quote  #2

1480772702
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:13:24 AM
 #2

Won't be worth it.

M2050 is worth about 75 to 100 Mhash/sec.
The Xeons are worth maybe 20 more.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
pride
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:13:58 AM
 #3

google is your friend here.
First off, Nvidia cards do notoriously poorly with hashing. - heres why https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Why_a_GPU_mines_faster_than_a_CPU#Why_are_AMD_GPUs_faster_than_Nvidia_GPUs?

Secondarily, professional cards tend to do worse then consumer hardware - check here for comparisons between cards - https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

There are articles from a few months back talking about how poorly Cluster compute units do on EC2.

I thought the same thing as I was getting into bitcoins....no pez
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:15:29 AM
 #4

Nvidia, there is your answer.
Bitonetta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 03:42:42 PM
 #5

Is any ne using Amazon EC2 to mine bitcoin? I was thinking about doing it and wondered how many hashes I would get a second using this setup and which minier I could use..any help would be appreciated Smiley

AMAZON EC2 GLUSTER GPU SPEC:
Quote
22 GB of memory
33.5 EC2 Compute Units (2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core “Nehalem” architecture)
2 x NVIDIA Tesla “Fermi” M2050 GPUs
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform
I/O Performance: Very High (10 Gigabit Ethernet)
API name: cg1.4xlarge

There are better ways to relieve your back problems.

I'm assuming the issue is because you are carrying that heavy wallet around with you all the time and tring to find ways to lighten the load.   Cheesy
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2011, 03:57:10 PM
 #6

This was covered, in depth, in an article here:  http://glennfrancismurray.com/cost-defective-mining-with-gpu-clusters-amazo

If you wish to lose money doing it, it's a great way to spend your time.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 04:16:42 PM
 #7

no longer profitable. 
Adamlm
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 760



View Profile WWW
November 02, 2011, 08:08:49 PM
 #8

no longer profitable. 
But you can try it for free mining CPU coins:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=50708.0

byronbb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


HODL OR DIE


View Profile
November 03, 2011, 03:33:13 AM
 #9

I definitely see connections to bitcoin clients running on the Amazon cloud but I doubt they are mining.

sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 03, 2011, 11:24:36 AM
 #10

I definitely see connections to bitcoin clients running on the Amazon cloud but I doubt they are mining.

  Aye, some of those may be pool nodes as well. I know of atleast one that is running a pool and nodes on EC2.

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 04, 2011, 10:52:22 PM
 #11

Am running the process that update bitcoinstatus.rowit.co.uk on ec2. You will see that I expect.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!