Bitcoin Forum
August 03, 2015, 07:11:26 PM *
News: New! Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.11.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Please upgrade to Bitcoin 0.8 and help Android/MultiBit users!  (Read 7034 times)
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 12:15:45 PM
 #1

Bitcoin 0.8 contains a new feature (Bloom filtering) that allows lightweight clients such as the Android app and MultiBit to sync their block chains dramatically faster. It works by allowing them to only download the parts of the chain they need rather than all of it, but in a way that still preserves security and privacy. Testers have reported being able to sync hundreds of blocks per second. It gets pure P2P apps much closer to the performance level of  apps like Electrum or BitcoinSpinner, which rely heavily on custom servers.

The new feature is supported by the current release candidates of MultiBit/Android wallet, but for it to work, they need to be able to find and connect to a Bitcoin 0.8 node. The latest versions of these apps haven't been released yet because we're waiting for more nodes to upgrade to Bitcoin 0.8. So ...

Please upgrade your nodes to Bitcoin 0.8 and help out Android users!


Even if you don't feel you need Bitcoin 0.8 for yourself, upgrading still helps everyone else!

Thanks.
COINROYALE BITCOIN CASINO GET UP TO 1 BTC FREE Use Code: FORUM100 PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1438629086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438629086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438629086
Reply with quote  #2

1438629086
Report to moderator
1438629086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438629086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438629086
Reply with quote  #2

1438629086
Report to moderator
ciphermonk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 12:46:34 PM
 #2

Sir! Yes Sir! Right away Sir!  Grin

Edit: Great work by the way!
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 03:07:25 PM
 #3

Another benefit of bloom filters to SPV users is that it dramatically
reduces your bandwidth usage. For users on 3G or capped usage
it really makes a difference.

On a rainy day when my signal drops to 2G (50 KB/s down) I still get 60 blocks a second.

Please upgrade to bitcoind v0.8

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 03:16:36 PM
 #4

powering up my server and updating now.

TooCasual
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


You can't be Serious?!?


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 04:53:21 PM
 #5

Aye Aye Cap'n!  Thar she blows!

Smiley TC
teukon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 05:46:54 PM
 #6

I backed up my wallet, shutdown my node (without detaching the database), installed the pre-built Linux binary, and fired it up.

Unlike previous upgrades, the node automatically started "Reindexing blocks on disk".  I assume this is to be expected.  Will my node be helpful to others before the scan is complete?  It looks like the scan will take a long time to complete.

My thanks to everyone that made this new release possible.
Rothgar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374


Tune in to Neocash Radio


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 05:54:52 PM
 #7

Re-indexing is normal. There was an upgrade of the database used to store the blockchain.  I'm sure your node will be more helpful when the scan is complete.  I don't know about during the scan.

Visit http://neocashradio.com for the premier weekly bitcoin podcast.
Follow neocashradio on twitter.  https://twitter.com/NeocashRadio
waspoza
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


Firstbits: 1waspoza


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 05:58:25 PM
 #8

Done on my server and done on my home computer. Good job guys btw. Cheers! Smiley
teukon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 06:43:08 PM
 #9

Re-indexing is normal. There was an upgrade of the database used to store the blockchain.  I'm sure your node will be more helpful when the scan is complete.  I don't know about during the scan.

Ok.  I'll just leave it running overnight and see where it gets to.  I may be late to the party but a 24/7 node based in Asia should be worth something.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 06:46:22 PM
 #10

0.8 adoption:
http://luke.dashjr.org/programs/bitcoin/files/charts/branches.html

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
paraipan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 06:47:05 PM
 #11

Aye Aye Cap'n!  Thar she blows!

Smiley TC

+1 done

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
Timo Y
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


bitcoin - the aerogel of money


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 07:09:33 PM
 #12

Am I still helping if I run Bitcoin 0.8 behind Tor (not as a hidden service)?


GPG ID: FA868D77   bitcoin-otc:forever-d
Jaw3bmasters
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Another block in the wall


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 07:17:30 PM
 #13

I'm in an area with much mobile devices, updating.......

In Cryptography we trust.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 07:37:54 PM
 #14

is this download signed?
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 08:14:42 PM
 #15

Bitcoin 0.8 is signed by the Foundation.

If you run a node via Tor then nobody can connect to it, so no, it doesn't help. We need nodes on the regular internet for this, sorry.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 08:16:47 PM
 #16

Bitcoin 0.8 is signed by the Foundation.

If you run a node via Tor then nobody can connect to it, so no, it doesn't help. We need nodes on the regular internet for this, sorry.

then they ought to put their PGP signature on the bitcoin.org download site.
niko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


There is more to Bitcoin than bitcoins.


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 08:23:40 PM
 #17

Bitcoin 0.8 is signed by the Foundation.

If you run a node via Tor then nobody can connect to it, so no, it doesn't help. We need nodes on the regular internet for this, sorry.

then they ought to put their PGP signature on the bitcoin.org download site.
It is not signed via PGP. The signature is CA based.

They're there, in their room.
Your mining rig is on fire, yet you're very calm.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 08:36:32 PM
 #18

Am I still helping if I run Bitcoin 0.8 behind Tor (not as a hidden service)?


if you have ports forwarded (somehow), then yes.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 08:37:52 PM
 #19

Bitcoin 0.8 is signed by the Foundation.

If you run a node via Tor then nobody can connect to it, so no, it doesn't help. We need nodes on the regular internet for this, sorry.

then they ought to put their PGP signature on the bitcoin.org download site.
It is not signed via PGP. The signature is CA based.

so how does that work?
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


View Profile

Ignore
February 20, 2013, 08:49:51 PM
 #20

Is there a node that you control or make use of to find 0.8 clients quicker which we can add via "addnode" so you also see our nodes? Or do you just hope that your client will after some days just randomly stumble upon a 0.8 full node because there are so many?

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!