Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2022, 04:13:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Power saving steps?  (Read 1184 times)
enmaku (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 06:06:05 AM
 #1

So I've got a couple of dual 5830 rigs built and parts are on the way for a couple more. I've got them plugged into a kill-a-watt and the two of them combined plus a small fan are eating about 800W. I'm worried that a third box on the same circuit might pop a breaker. I can always move the new boxes to a different circuit but for cooling purposes I'd like to squeeze at least one more onto this circuit. Does anyone have any tips/tricks for reducing the power consumption of the rigs? They contain only the basics (cpu/ram/mobo/hd). I'm assuming the cards need all their supplemental power connectors and such and I've got the drive set to spin down.

Any magic tricks I'm missing?
1670127230
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670127230

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670127230
Reply with quote  #2

1670127230
Report to moderator
1670127230
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670127230

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670127230
Reply with quote  #2

1670127230
Report to moderator
1670127230
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670127230

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670127230
Reply with quote  #2

1670127230
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:20:59 AM
 #2

the power your GPUs are eating is pretty much fixed, unless you underclock the GPU, but your hash rate will drop, and you don't want to save power that way. Here's what I did:

-UNDER clock and UNDER volt your CPU, there is a lot of idle power wasted on older, pre-CORE CPUs

-Boot off of a usb drive, so no spinning HDD is required.

-disable onboard devices (raid controllers, audio chipsets etc) in the bios

-Down clock the video memory, this hasn't show much power savings, but may reduce heat.

-Use only 1 stick if ram

-Remove all non essential peripherals, floppys, dvd-rom drives, soundcards

-Remember to physically power off your monitors, as they still consume power in standby

Even after all this, I saved maybe 30w out of 1000  Wink
hermolegy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:21:00 AM
 #3

if the color of websites pages  is black then a lot of energy is save , as a large no of pc's are use world wide.
mapwow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2011, 04:57:46 AM
 #4

if the color of websites pages  is black then a lot of energy is save , as a large no of pc's are use world wide.

Displaying black on CRT monitors saves energy. However it actually uses more energy to display black than white on LCDs. CRTs are old-style monitors that are thick and look like old TVs. LCDs are currently much more popular and are thin.

Reference: http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=fact-or-fiction-black-is
enmaku (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 07:13:11 PM
 #5

the power your GPUs are eating is pretty much fixed, unless you underclock the GPU, but your hash rate will drop, and you don't want to save power that way. Here's what I did:

-UNDER clock and UNDER volt your CPU, there is a lot of idle power wasted on older, pre-CORE CPUs

-Boot off of a usb drive, so no spinning HDD is required.

-disable onboard devices (raid controllers, audio chipsets etc) in the bios

-Down clock the video memory, this hasn't show much power savings, but may reduce heat.

-Use only 1 stick if ram

-Remove all non essential peripherals, floppys, dvd-rom drives, soundcards

-Remember to physically power off your monitors, as they still consume power in standby

Even after all this, I saved maybe 30w out of 1000  Wink

Aside from the USB stick idea, which I might just do this weekend, I've already done all of the above. I guess I'm just going to have to spread the rest of my (unbuilt) rigs around the house to avoid popping breakers. I didn't want to do this because I've got a portable AC unit already that will keep that one room cool, even with five or six rigs dumping 1300 BTU/H each into the air, now I'm going to have to spend more money and power cooling them all, or just have one very uncomfortably hot room.
enmaku (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 07:21:07 PM
 #6

It also occurs to me that my math might be off or my understanding of standard house wiring could be off. Does anyone with a mid-to-large scale mining operation have any comments about how you addressed this particular "problem of scale"? How many rigs can I actually run on a single circuit at 400W each? Is it at all possible (likely) that two outlets in one room could actually be on different circuits?
enmaku (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 04:18:31 PM
 #7

Nope, my math was right. I predicted rig #4 would be OK when idle and pop the breaker under load and sure enough Sad

Guess I'll be going to Home Depot to pick up another portable AC unit this weekend. If my apartment management wasn't willing to believe my AC was inadequate before they'll certainly cry foul with 5200 BTUs worth of computer heat being pumped into the air  Undecided
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!