Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2019, 07:20:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ripple: let's test it!  (Read 43518 times)
duckbillp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 28, 2013, 04:20:04 AM
 #321

I have a question, I did some trading and I turned 1 bitcoin into 1.5 bitcoin, now I want to take that 1.5bitcoin and put it into my bitstamp account. But when I go do that I get a message right before confirming it, that they will get 1.5bitcoin, and it also says "You can pay at most 1.515" why is that mean exactly? I don't want to be in debit to anyone right now?
There is no way to ensure the network is in precisely the same condition when it processes the transaction as it is in when you form the transaction. To prevent transactions from failing unnecessarily, the client generally applies an extra 1% "slush" to ensure the transaction goes through. This could result in a transaction leaving you in debt. I don't think there's currently any way to change this behavior. (You could always transfer 1% less, I suppose.)

Why is the transaction less likely to fail by transferring a little more than the user intends to transfer?
1555701605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555701605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555701605
Reply with quote  #2

1555701605
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555701605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555701605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555701605
Reply with quote  #2

1555701605
Report to moderator
1555701605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555701605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555701605
Reply with quote  #2

1555701605
Report to moderator
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1004


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2013, 04:32:35 AM
 #322

Why is the transaction less likely to fail by transferring a little more than the user intends to transfer?
In the transaction, you specify the source and destination accounts, the destination amount and currency, and the source currency. If you specified the source amount, the transaction would fail if the network state was even slightly different from the state it was in when you formed the transaction. So instead, you specify a maximum amount you are willing to pay to deliver the destination amount. The network computes the minimum amount to make the payment with the paths specified. So long as it is equal to or less than the maximum source amount, the transaction goes through. The amount you pay is the actual amount needed.

So it's not that you transfer a little more, it's that you allow the transaction to transfer a little more should that be necessary.

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1010



View Profile
February 28, 2013, 07:22:58 AM
 #323

You can type any currency pair you want into the trade dropdown. Speaking of which, can anybody else see my BTC/BTC trade? The client makes it a puzzle to set up the trade correctly, but I don't see a reason it shouldn't work.

BTC/BTC? How do you see that market... I can't see that currency pair. Once I select an issuer of base currency, I cannot change the secondary currency other than by selecting a currency pair from the drop-down which does not contain BTC/BTC.

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
jking
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0



View Profile
February 28, 2013, 02:00:09 PM
 #324

You can type any currency pair you want into the trade dropdown. Speaking of which, can anybody else see my BTC/BTC trade? The client makes it a puzzle to set up the trade correctly, but I don't see a reason it shouldn't work.

BTC/BTC? How do you see that market... I can't see that currency pair. Once I select an issuer of base currency, I cannot change the secondary currency other than by selecting a currency pair from the drop-down which does not contain BTC/BTC.

I think what he's saying is that he synthesized that pair by looking at BTCwee/XRP and BTCbitstamp/XRP. When you cancel out XRP, it gives you BCTwee/BCTbitstamp.

I'm not sure why we can't see that pair directly, though. We can already see crosses between different IOU issuers, BTCbitstamp/USDwee, for instance, so why not BTCx/BTCy crosses?
moocowpong1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 28, 2013, 03:00:13 PM
 #325

You can type any currency pair you want into the trade dropdown. Speaking of which, can anybody else see my BTC/BTC trade? The client makes it a puzzle to set up the trade correctly, but I don't see a reason it shouldn't work.

BTC/BTC? How do you see that market... I can't see that currency pair. Once I select an issuer of base currency, I cannot change the secondary currency other than by selecting a currency pair from the drop-down which does not contain BTC/BTC.

I think what he's saying is that he synthesized that pair by looking at BTCwee/XRP and BTCbitstamp/XRP. When you cancel out XRP, it gives you BCTwee/BCTbitstamp.

I'm not sure why we can't see that pair directly, though. We can already see crosses between different IOU issuers, BTCbitstamp/USDwee, for instance, so why not BTCx/BTCy crosses?

No – you can see that pair directly by typing "BTC/BTC" in the dropdown field and setting the issuers correctly.
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1010



View Profile
February 28, 2013, 03:16:19 PM
 #326

You can type any currency pair you want into the trade dropdown. Speaking of which, can anybody else see my BTC/BTC trade? The client makes it a puzzle to set up the trade correctly, but I don't see a reason it shouldn't work.

BTC/BTC? How do you see that market... I can't see that currency pair. Once I select an issuer of base currency, I cannot change the secondary currency other than by selecting a currency pair from the drop-down which does not contain BTC/BTC.

I think what he's saying is that he synthesized that pair by looking at BTCwee/XRP and BTCbitstamp/XRP. When you cancel out XRP, it gives you BCTwee/BCTbitstamp.

I'm not sure why we can't see that pair directly, though. We can already see crosses between different IOU issuers, BTCbitstamp/USDwee, for instance, so why not BTCx/BTCy crosses?

No – you can see that pair directly by typing "BTC/BTC" in the dropdown field and setting the issuers correctly.

holy shit. I call that a "hidden feature"

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
Peter Lambert
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500

It's all fun and games until somebody loses an eye


View Profile
February 28, 2013, 03:20:56 PM
 #327

You can type any currency pair you want into the trade dropdown. Speaking of which, can anybody else see my BTC/BTC trade? The client makes it a puzzle to set up the trade correctly, but I don't see a reason it shouldn't work.

BTC/BTC? How do you see that market... I can't see that currency pair. Once I select an issuer of base currency, I cannot change the secondary currency other than by selecting a currency pair from the drop-down which does not contain BTC/BTC.

I think what he's saying is that he synthesized that pair by looking at BTCwee/XRP and BTCbitstamp/XRP. When you cancel out XRP, it gives you BCTwee/BCTbitstamp.

I'm not sure why we can't see that pair directly, though. We can already see crosses between different IOU issuers, BTCbitstamp/USDwee, for instance, so why not BTCx/BTCy crosses?

No – you can see that pair directly by typing "BTC/BTC" in the dropdown field and setting the issuers correctly.

holy shit. I call that a "hidden feature"


Having the drop-down menu is a bit deceiving, people think it it limited to what options are available and do not realize they can type something else in the box.

Use CoinBR to trade bitcoin stocks: CoinBR.com

The best place for betting with bitcoin: BitBet.us
jking
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0



View Profile
February 28, 2013, 08:35:42 PM
 #328

Thanks for that tip. Now I can see the BTC/BTC market.
supert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 28, 2013, 10:08:50 PM
 #329

If anyone cares to grant a small BTC or GBP credit, I will reciprocate. When I get some XRP.

rh7eAu9SrFsE2fVfc1PJTs1WYDHGAUde6V
Snowfire
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 01:37:43 AM
 #330

Ripple's server (or whatever it is) still seems erratic--cutting in and out a lot.

BTC:1Ca1YU6rCqCHniNj6BvypHbaHYp32t2ubp XRP: rpVbjBotUFCoi9xPu3BqYXZhTLpgZbQpoZ
LTC:LRNTGhyymtNQ7uWeMQXdoEfP5Mryx2c62i :FC: 6qzaJCrowtyepN5LgdpQaTy94JuxmKmdF7
zulzedd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 01, 2013, 01:40:46 AM
Last edit: March 06, 2013, 11:46:52 AM by zulzedd
 #331

Someone have same problem with wallet which going offline?


Found answer.

I'm also constantly having problems with currency exchange: order book does not update and wallet occasionally goes offline without any reason. Also, I added trust to bitstamp address but program keep asking me to add trust to the same address each time I attempt withdrawing to my ripple wallet. After refreshing webpage all goes to norm except if I wasn't cicked offline. All in last firefox, win7
These are the three issues that are at the top of my priority list. It will take us a few days to resolve as it requires both server and client changes that have to be coordinated.


Aeron 1.250.000 CryptoBonusMiles Giveaway, 250 Winners, 5.000 CryptoBonusMiles per winner and guaranteed airdrop for ARN holders until 30.11.2018.
Follow the link to join Giveaway 
Evan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 507
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 01, 2013, 01:44:35 AM
 #332

rfpS692WVbsSXyv6R48K8A2LHCqdvYaS2w

I am poor, but i do work for Coin Smiley
1PtHcavXoakgNkQfEQdvnvEksEY2NvwaLM
Bit_Happy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1019


A Great Time to Start Something!


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 11:05:18 AM
Last edit: March 01, 2013, 11:18:07 AM by Bit_Happy
 #333

What?
~247 xrp is not enough?
Your current balance is low. You must keep a minimum of 250 XRP to use all the features of ripple.


Edit: received, thank you.  Smiley
Will someone kind please send me 4 little xrp's?
rndKhw8JpwY3bajTn7Jwp7Q6sXzjNyT77S
Thank you.

FYI: We are <snip>
Beepbop
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 01, 2013, 12:21:34 PM
 #334

I sent you 5. You're welcome.
imanikin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 705
Merit: 503



View Profile
March 01, 2013, 06:34:23 PM
 #335

Do we have an LTC gateway to ripple somewhere yet?

Timo Y
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1001


bitcoin - the aerogel of money


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 06:59:15 PM
Last edit: March 01, 2013, 07:35:31 PM by Timo Y
 #336

Ok, I'm intrigued by this BTC/BTC trading thing so let's have a go:  

I've created an offer selling 0.01 'molecular BTC' for 0.0096 'bitstamp BTC'.  (No offense, molecular!)

molecular: rpH3zuMch2GrrYX724xGWwbMGwiQ5RbSAU
bitstamp: rvYAfWj5gh67oV6fW32ZzP3Aw4Eubs59B

Any takers?

You should see the offer if you choose bitstamp as the base currency issuer and molecular as counter currency issuer.

GPG ID: FA868D77   bitcoin-otc:forever-d
moocowpong1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 07:34:34 PM
Last edit: March 02, 2013, 02:12:12 AM by moocowpong1
 #337

Funny, I'm not seeing anything on the Bitstamp BTC/molecular BTC order book. Can anybody else see my WeEx BTC/Bitstamp BTC offer?
Timo Y
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1001


bitcoin - the aerogel of money


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 07:40:22 PM
 #338

Funny, I'm not seeing anything on the Bitstamp BTC/molecular BTC order book. Can anybody else see my WeEx BTC/Bitstamp BTC offer?

Ah. Looks like the order has been filled already.  I no longer own molecular IUOs. That went fast!

GPG ID: FA868D77   bitcoin-otc:forever-d
TTBit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1136
Merit: 1001


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 10:31:20 PM
 #339

I grant trust to molecular with 100 usd, but I have only 0.5 in my ripple acc now  Wink
You sure you want to do that? That means that if you ever hold USD in the system, molecular or someone else can take them from you and in exchange give you molecular IOUs, which he is under no obligation to honor.


Under no obligation? Maybe not face to face, but if molecular is owed $100 via ripple, I can swap IOUs with that person, yes?

good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment
Beepbop
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 01, 2013, 10:38:26 PM
 #340

If you don't redeem your IOUs at face value, you would in effect devalue your own worth, make your friends collect what you owe them, and cause your IOUs worth less in the future. An IOU is a promise to your friends that you'll give them USD or whatever other currency you've promised to give them.

(There are things like debt buy-back and discounting of debts at play too, but I don't know how Ripple supports that, if it even does.)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!