Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2017, 01:55:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 1 Bitcoin for the one that solves my problem!  (Read 2797 times)
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:22:57 PM
 #21

Try putting your RAM into slots 2, 4, 6 (depending on how many you have), not into the other slots.
If that and the other ideas dont work.. I too guess faulty hardware or incompatible BIOS settings (less likely).

Good luck, keep us updated!

Ente
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485050149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485050149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485050149
Reply with quote  #2

1485050149
Report to moderator
1485050149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485050149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485050149
Reply with quote  #2

1485050149
Report to moderator
1485050149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485050149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485050149
Reply with quote  #2

1485050149
Report to moderator
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:34:32 PM
 #22

Otherwise.. grab a multimeter and stick it in one of the 12V rails, watch the amperage when you boot. If it drops significantly then you have a PSU issue.

More than likely however, is the overclocking, if the system bus is out of clock with the PCIE frequency video will fail to boot. I had a 4890 that worked fine in my X38, but I had to reset RAM timings to get my 5770 to work.

i don't overclock my system and i'm 99% that it's not from my PSU. i will try a 6850 (i see that uses almost the same power as 5870) and will see then. i have tried with only one memory stick and it doesn't work so it shouldn't be from ram. at this point my guess is that it's a faulty card

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:42:07 PM
 #23

i don't overclock my system and i'm 99% that it's not from my PSU. i will try a 6850 (i see that uses almost the same power as 5870) and will see then. i have tried with only one memory stick and it doesn't work so it shouldn't be from ram. at this point my guess is that it's a faulty card

It would suck if that is the case.. though certainly isn't out of the range of possibility.

Ship it back if you can, but don't expect a replacement.

Good luck man.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 08:04:26 PM
 #24

If you tried that card in another system and it worked, then it sounds like you have a bad motherboard to me.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 10:32:24 PM
 #25


If it's a crossfire mainboard, have you tried disabling crossfire?

Are you using the crossfire connector?  Did you use them in the previous system?

When you cleared CMOS - are you sure there aren't any settings for video?  Some older boards will have a toggle from PCIe or PCI (or even AGP), newer boards might have PCI/PEG.  Boot with a working card and check.

Someone mentioned PSU draw - this is a good place to look.

You mentioned you are 100% sure you have connected and powered the 6pin power connectors on both cards.

And you definitely hear beeps, right?  One of my ATI cards will only appear as a valid adapter if there is a DVI cable in the bottom (opposite the PSU) DVI connector - no idea if my card is jacked up, but you could try that.

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!