Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:41:00 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 1 Bitcoin for the one that solves my problem!  (Read 2780 times)
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:22:57 PM
 #21

Try putting your RAM into slots 2, 4, 6 (depending on how many you have), not into the other slots.
If that and the other ideas dont work.. I too guess faulty hardware or incompatible BIOS settings (less likely).

Good luck, keep us updated!

Ente
1480876860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876860
Reply with quote  #2

1480876860
Report to moderator
1480876860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876860
Reply with quote  #2

1480876860
Report to moderator
1480876860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876860
Reply with quote  #2

1480876860
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480876860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876860
Reply with quote  #2

1480876860
Report to moderator
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:34:32 PM
 #22

Otherwise.. grab a multimeter and stick it in one of the 12V rails, watch the amperage when you boot. If it drops significantly then you have a PSU issue.

More than likely however, is the overclocking, if the system bus is out of clock with the PCIE frequency video will fail to boot. I had a 4890 that worked fine in my X38, but I had to reset RAM timings to get my 5770 to work.

i don't overclock my system and i'm 99% that it's not from my PSU. i will try a 6850 (i see that uses almost the same power as 5870) and will see then. i have tried with only one memory stick and it doesn't work so it shouldn't be from ram. at this point my guess is that it's a faulty card

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:42:07 PM
 #23

i don't overclock my system and i'm 99% that it's not from my PSU. i will try a 6850 (i see that uses almost the same power as 5870) and will see then. i have tried with only one memory stick and it doesn't work so it shouldn't be from ram. at this point my guess is that it's a faulty card

It would suck if that is the case.. though certainly isn't out of the range of possibility.

Ship it back if you can, but don't expect a replacement.

Good luck man.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 08:04:26 PM
 #24

If you tried that card in another system and it worked, then it sounds like you have a bad motherboard to me.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 10:32:24 PM
 #25


If it's a crossfire mainboard, have you tried disabling crossfire?

Are you using the crossfire connector?  Did you use them in the previous system?

When you cleared CMOS - are you sure there aren't any settings for video?  Some older boards will have a toggle from PCIe or PCI (or even AGP), newer boards might have PCI/PEG.  Boot with a working card and check.

Someone mentioned PSU draw - this is a good place to look.

You mentioned you are 100% sure you have connected and powered the 6pin power connectors on both cards.

And you definitely hear beeps, right?  One of my ATI cards will only appear as a valid adapter if there is a DVI cable in the bottom (opposite the PSU) DVI connector - no idea if my card is jacked up, but you could try that.

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!