Bitcoin Forum
May 03, 2024, 07:51:03 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Trouble recovering wallet  (Read 1180 times)
Hawk72 (OP)

Activity: 22
Merit: 0

View Profile
March 02, 2013, 04:07:33 AM
Last edit: March 02, 2013, 07:28:30 PM by Hawk72

Hi,
Clearly a newbie here.  My situation is I had a Ubuntu virtual machine with my bitcoin-qt client on it.  I backed up the wallet, I do not recall how I backed it up (using "backup" from the menu or just copying the file, I dont recall).

The VM has crashed, unrecoverable.

No biggy I was thinking.  So I have installed the QT client on a windows pc now.  Ran the QT client for a minute, then exited to get my backed-up wallet installed.  Copied the file in, renamed it wallet.dat.  Starting the QT client.  it complained "wallet.dat corrupt, salvage failed".

Is this not supposed to work?  few questions:
1) are linux wallet.dat files compatible in windows
2) do I need to wait for the entire blockchain to load before putting the wallet in?  I wouldnt think so.
3) for my own edification, I have another windows QT client that has the vast majority of my QT coins.  Is there ANY danger in taking that wallet.dat file (from windows machine A) and putting it into my new QT client (on windows machine B).  
4) is there a way to read my private keys off of the "corrupted" wallet.dat?
5) if I do manage to read my private keys off of the "corrupted" wallet, how can I get them into a client (ideally QT client)
6) What is the correct way to import a backed-up wallet?  I'm assuming just copy it into that directory.

Apologies in advance, but I am a noob.

ps love this place.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC