Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2018, 02:45:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 351 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain's Released Antminer S9, World's First 16nm Miner Ready to Order  (Read 505311 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 06:35:01 PM
 #1081

Sitting on the fence not sure what i want to do.

That's unlike of you to be sitting on the fence not sure what to do, you're usually a very decisive guy. Well, whatever you do, keep us informed!!!

Got four of them  and an s-7 running at the solar array  we can fit one more  pretty easy.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1534603517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534603517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534603517
Reply with quote  #2

1534603517
Report to moderator
1534603517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534603517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534603517
Reply with quote  #2

1534603517
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534603517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534603517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534603517
Reply with quote  #2

1534603517
Report to moderator
1534603517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534603517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534603517
Reply with quote  #2

1534603517
Report to moderator
1534603517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534603517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534603517
Reply with quote  #2

1534603517
Report to moderator
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1683
Merit: 1013


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 06:50:48 PM
 #1082

More than I wanted to spend but I bought one more.  I'll wait until after the halving to decide if I need any more.

Anyone know the turn around time for bitmainwarranty in Denver?  The S7 they are fixing for me now needs to be sold to make room for the S9 I just ordered.
edonkey
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1135
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 27, 2016, 06:53:27 PM
 #1083

It's too bad that BTC went down since B3. That makes B4 more expensive than B3 in BTC terms.

Even B3 was a stretch for me at 2.9 (after the unexpected duty charge from UPS). I'll wait for a better priced batch.

Was I helpful?   BTC: 18wQtEDmhur2xAd3oE8qgrZbpCDeuMsdQW   LTC: LbqLtkZ6wTSpwHHuv1tG4J7tHajGdH5QFB   DOGE: D9R5ySAP2DARpxuNKd7hN7ANmqFiGwB9G6
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 27, 2016, 07:03:02 PM
 #1084

More than I wanted to spend but I bought one more.  I'll wait until after the halving to decide if I need any more.

Anyone know the turn around time for bitmainwarranty in Denver?  The S7 they are fixing for me now needs to be sold to make room for the S9 I just ordered.

They have great service from my experiences.   They are very quick on things I have done so far.  You can contact them very easy is one thing about their great  customer service - https://bitmainwarranty.com/contact/

So there is a ticket form there you could fill out if you really need to know time frame,or there is also a phone number.  So you can contact them and get a better and more accurate anwser then me guessing  Smiley
hawkfish007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 501


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 07:30:34 PM
 #1085

Is anybody having trouble ordering a B4. I decided to go ahead and order my 2nd S9 but Bitmain website is giving me this error message - "DirectPay generate bitcoin payment address error: null".

For quality risers, splitters or 133 CFM fans, please visit my eBay listings,
http://www.ebay.com/sch/hawkfish007/m.html?_ipg=50&_sop=12&_rdc=1
mountainminer333
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 07:36:24 PM
 #1086

I'm getting the same error on my end too
citricut
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 07:46:04 PM
 #1087

Hi I have received two units of S9 and both have one board hashing around 2.7

They are batch 2, is it a normal? Any tips?

Thanks!

http://i.imgur.com/2mRZROr.png

As others have said try lowering the freq.  I have one board which underperforms as well.  If I do a 'save and apply' without changing anything, sometimes it will come up good (higher hash) and sometimes it will come up bad (lower hash).  But lower freq usually means better odds of it coming up good when I restart cgminer.  I can tell within a minute if it got a good start because it will either come up past 3000 or it wont by that time.

I've got it working with the mysterious "low voltage" firmware from June 22nd. I had to lower the frequency to 593 and reboot quite a few times but now I got it running at 12.6 TH stable, with the slow board around 4000Gh, I guess this is as good as it gets.
I'm wondering if using an alternative PSU to my bitmain one would improve, I will try to borrow one to test.

BTC: 1AmTHsBNuCfGMqWvpdTzuHMtgTUt861d8F
steve1965!
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:03:44 PM
 #1088

How about releasing 14nm or 12nm or even 10nm chip miners  Grin Grin Grin But dont forget to fix nicehash bug first by putting back cgminer. Roll Eyes
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1080


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:15:09 PM
 #1089

How about releasing 14nm or 12nm or even 10nm chip miners  Grin Grin Grin But dont forget to fix nicehash bug first by putting back cgminer. Roll Eyes
<facepalm>
14nm ain't gonna happen from Bitmain as that process is available only from Samsung or GloFo foundries. 12 or 10nm chips of any sort will not be available from anyone for several more years, on top of that, so far looks like <12nm is going to be reserved for high complexity chips and not simple boutique ones like mining ASIC's.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1683
Merit: 1013


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:16:16 PM
 #1090

Hi I have received two units of S9 and both have one board hashing around 2.7

They are batch 2, is it a normal? Any tips?

Thanks!



As others have said try lowering the freq.  I have one board which underperforms as well.  If I do a 'save and apply' without changing anything, sometimes it will come up good (higher hash) and sometimes it will come up bad (lower hash).  But lower freq usually means better odds of it coming up good when I restart cgminer.  I can tell within a minute if it got a good start because it will either come up past 3000 or it wont by that time.

I've got it working with the mysterious "low voltage" firmware from June 22nd. I had to lower the frequency to 593 and reboot quite a few times but now I got it running at 12.6 TH stable, with the slow board around 4000Gh, I guess this is as good as it gets.
I'm wondering if using an alternative PSU to my bitmain one would improve, I will try to borrow one to test.

Yeah I misspoke (misstyped) on my previous post.  It'll hit 4000 within a minute if it gets a good restart, not 3000 as I had stated before.  I get 12.6 also but I am running at 587.  I thought about trying the mystery firmware but opted not to until I hear more results.  My slow board will push 4150 or so after a good restart at 587.  The thing is the other boards will do 4300 easy with higher freqs, but if I do that the slow board just gets stuck around 2700-2800 (like your screeny).  I may well try swapping boards when my B4 arrives to see if I can build a higher freq unit and lower freq unit.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:23:17 PM
 #1091

12 or 10nm chips of any sort will not be available from anyone for several more years, on top of that, so far looks like <12nm is going to be reserved for high complexity chips and not simple boutique ones like mining ASIC's.

Why? Because of pricing?

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:28:42 PM
 #1092

Hi I have received two units of S9 and both have one board hashing around 2.7

They are batch 2, is it a normal? Any tips?

Thanks!



As others have said try lowering the freq.  I have one board which underperforms as well.  If I do a 'save and apply' without changing anything, sometimes it will come up good (higher hash) and sometimes it will come up bad (lower hash).  But lower freq usually means better odds of it coming up good when I restart cgminer.  I can tell within a minute if it got a good start because it will either come up past 3000 or it wont by that time.

I've got it working with the mysterious "low voltage" firmware from June 22nd. I had to lower the frequency to 593 and reboot quite a few times but now I got it running at 12.6 TH stable, with the slow board around 4000Gh, I guess this is as good as it gets.
I'm wondering if using an alternative PSU to my bitmain one would improve, I will try to borrow one to test.

Yeah I misspoke (misstyped) on my previous post.  It'll hit 4000 within a minute if it gets a good restart, not 3000 as I had stated before.  I get 12.6 also but I am running at 587.  I thought about trying the mystery firmware but opted not to until I hear more results.  My slow board will push 4150 or so after a good restart at 587.  The thing is the other boards will do 4300 easy with higher freqs, but if I do that the slow board just gets stuck around 2700-2800 (like your screeny).  I may well try swapping boards when my B4 arrives to see if I can build a higher freq unit and lower freq unit.

I would contact them  before switching boards between unit's.  It's would break the warranty seal and be a shame to lose warranty on two pretty new unit's  over a little bit of hash.

Have you contacted them and said it did not fall in "12.93TH/s ±5%" of batch 2?  If not do that before breaking seals and voiding warranty.  
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1080


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:33:22 PM
 #1093

12 or 10nm chips of any sort will not be available from anyone for several more years, on top of that, so far looks like <12nm is going to be reserved for high complexity chips and not simple boutique ones like mining ASIC's.

Why? Because of pricing?
That would be one way to look at it. The complexity and circuit density of the process so far is dictating that the dies will be fairly large/high value. IMO probably because they can fit so much into the dies that the cost to connect simple circuits to the outside world makes them a moot point. ref the threads here a while ago about IBM announcing a 7nm test chip https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1508382.msg15196056#msg15196056 and https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1508382.msg15197990#msg15197990

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1683
Merit: 1013


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:34:40 PM
 #1094



Yeah I misspoke (misstyped) on my previous post.  It'll hit 4000 within a minute if it gets a good restart, not 3000 as I had stated before.  I get 12.6 also but I am running at 587.  I thought about trying the mystery firmware but opted not to until I hear more results.  My slow board will push 4150 or so after a good restart at 587.  The thing is the other boards will do 4300 easy with higher freqs, but if I do that the slow board just gets stuck around 2700-2800 (like your screeny).  I may well try swapping boards when my B4 arrives to see if I can build a higher freq unit and lower freq unit.

I would contact them  before switching boards between unit's.  It's would break the warranty seal and be a shame to lose warranty on two pretty new unit's  over a little bit of hash.

Have you contacted them and said it did not fall in "12.93TH/s ±5%" of batch 2?  If not do that before breaking seals and voiding warranty.  

It gets 12.6 which is within the 5% range.  I realize it will void the warranty.  I wouldn't do it right away and I haven't even gotten the B4 so who knows, it might have 3 great boards that all get 4300 in which case there won't be any reason to swap boards around.  Just something I would consider if it looked like it was worth doing.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 27, 2016, 08:43:47 PM
 #1095



Yeah I misspoke (misstyped) on my previous post.  It'll hit 4000 within a minute if it gets a good restart, not 3000 as I had stated before.  I get 12.6 also but I am running at 587.  I thought about trying the mystery firmware but opted not to until I hear more results.  My slow board will push 4150 or so after a good restart at 587.  The thing is the other boards will do 4300 easy with higher freqs, but if I do that the slow board just gets stuck around 2700-2800 (like your screeny).  I may well try swapping boards when my B4 arrives to see if I can build a higher freq unit and lower freq unit.

I would contact them  before switching boards between unit's.  It's would break the warranty seal and be a shame to lose warranty on two pretty new unit's  over a little bit of hash.

Have you contacted them and said it did not fall in "12.93TH/s ±5%" of batch 2?  If not do that before breaking seals and voiding warranty.  

It gets 12.6 which is within the 5% range.  I realize it will void the warranty.  I wouldn't do it right away and I haven't even gotten the B4 so who knows, it might have 3 great boards that all get 4300 in which case there won't be any reason to swap boards around.  Just something I would consider if it looked like it was worth doing.

Ahh ok I guess the picture is old then or before the  freq change.  I thought you were in area  of 11.4ish (pictured rate) but 12.6 is much better.    Personally if it works I would keep it going at least though warranty stage.    .3T is very little hash to give up warranty over.

Either way best of luck.
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1683
Merit: 1013


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 09:03:25 PM
 #1096



Yeah I misspoke (misstyped) on my previous post.  It'll hit 4000 within a minute if it gets a good restart, not 3000 as I had stated before.  I get 12.6 also but I am running at 587.  I thought about trying the mystery firmware but opted not to until I hear more results.  My slow board will push 4150 or so after a good restart at 587.  The thing is the other boards will do 4300 easy with higher freqs, but if I do that the slow board just gets stuck around 2700-2800 (like your screeny).  I may well try swapping boards when my B4 arrives to see if I can build a higher freq unit and lower freq unit.

I would contact them  before switching boards between unit's.  It's would break the warranty seal and be a shame to lose warranty on two pretty new unit's  over a little bit of hash.

Have you contacted them and said it did not fall in "12.93TH/s ±5%" of batch 2?  If not do that before breaking seals and voiding warranty.  

It gets 12.6 which is within the 5% range.  I realize it will void the warranty.  I wouldn't do it right away and I haven't even gotten the B4 so who knows, it might have 3 great boards that all get 4300 in which case there won't be any reason to swap boards around.  Just something I would consider if it looked like it was worth doing.

Ahh ok I guess the picture is old then or before the  freq change.  I thought you were in area  of 11.4ish (pictured rate) but 12.6 is much better.    Personally if it works I would keep it going at least though warranty stage.    .3T is very little hash to give up warranty over.

Either way best of luck.

I think you were thrown off by the nested quotes, the picture wasn't mine (although mine performs very similarly at that freq).
Swimmer63
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1584
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 27, 2016, 09:16:13 PM
 #1097

Trying to get another S9 but getting this error when I hit confirm at the bottom.  Anyone else?  Tried two different browsers.

steve1965!
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 09:39:05 PM
 #1098

Trying to get another S9 but getting this error when I hit confirm at the bottom.  Anyone else?  Tried two different browsers.



who knows maybe sold out.
Swimmer63
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1584
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 27, 2016, 09:45:33 PM
 #1099

Trying to get another S9 but getting this error when I hit confirm at the bottom.  Anyone else?  Tried two different browsers.



who knows maybe sold out.


Possible.  But previously it would not even let you put a miner in the cart.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 27, 2016, 09:51:30 PM
 #1100

Most likely it is not sold out it is another problem. 

BTW I have the same problem and  I have had this happen at least 5 times over the last 2 years.  They may correct it later today.

I am not going to pull the trigger and will hold coins instead.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 351 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!