Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2018, 11:28:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 350 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain's Released Antminer S9, World's First 16nm Miner Ready to Order  (Read 502847 times)
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1031


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 03:36:34 AM
 #701

Also note that it has the same # of chips as b1 (189) but runs at a lower clock of 600MHz. Looks like Bitmain decided that the b1's were actually now what they consider as OC'd... Their way of addressing the high chip temps?

Und ja, I ordered 1 of the batch-3's.

Oh, my b1 miner seems to have settled down in it's new home and the overnight avg hash rate as reported by Kano is 13.5THs and checking just now is holding at 13.7 average on the gui. Much better than the barely 13THs it started out at.

I did your fix using vent filters on the intake side.
<snip>

Thanks Philip, I get it - good mockup.

I will try it but I will need to monitor the temps.

I dont have the woo-woo sound so I have 1 less problem to worry about.

But the dust issue is a serious as it got my S7s to lose hash.

I got to go the DIY shop to look for these vent filters, so while searching the house for something similar....

I thought a "pantyhose" to replace the vent filter will be a good idea - at least to address the dust issue.

I took some of my wife's pantyhose to test... I am sure she will not mind... looks promising.

But yes, I still need a proper vent filter / muffler + pantyhose combination, so that I can further reduce the sound and reduce dust.



If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529710115
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529710115

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529710115
Reply with quote  #2

1529710115
Report to moderator
1529710115
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529710115

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529710115
Reply with quote  #2

1529710115
Report to moderator
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1031


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 03:39:09 AM
 #702

why you guys worry about dust on the machines? I've got dust on my machines and simply take out the fans, use brush and vacuum the dust that block the heat sink and put it back both fan once a month/two

what about the dust or grit that get into the PCB itself?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas
kodokbuduk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 03:54:48 AM
 #703

why you guys worry about dust on the machines? I've got dust on my machines and simply take out the fans, use brush and vacuum the dust that block the heat sink and put it back both fan once a month/two

what about the dust or grit that get into the PCB itself?

i didnt touch that, just leave it..not much anyway. If you put something/filter in front of the fan, then it is same having dust blocking the airflow..
kodokbuduk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 04:00:42 AM
 #704

Also that whistle sound will be gone by time due to dust blocking the airflow..once i clean it, then it happen again..so just let it be
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1031


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 04:02:03 AM
 #705

S9 review:

At 650 mhz default frequency, temps at chip reached over 100c when it started mining, is this normal? But PCB temps hovered around 60-64c. So, I put fans at 100% but chips temp still within the 99c-101c range.

Adjusted the freq to 625 mhz, and cranked up fans 100%, now chip temps 88-94c, PCB 56-62c.

I noticed that the 3rd board run hotter than the rest.

Is the chip temp normal at that high temps when mining?

Appreciate any feedback - thanks!

that pict on the left is surely distracting...lol

SP20 chips , which are probably the same type of silicon, were fine until 115C, showed warning at 120C and were program to throttle at 125C, from which i surmise that 100C chip temp is just fine and dandy.

LOL - yes, a few members have given me some feedback on that pix...

meanwhile thanks for the temps feedback - the unit is at 625mhz, PCB low 60s, chip 88-95s - so i am happy camper now.
I will crank it up tonight when its cooler, so that I could see this guy run at 650mhz or more.... anyone tried 700mhz?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1031


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 04:04:04 AM
 #706

Also that whistle sound will be gone by time due to dust blocking the airflow..once i clean it, then it happen again..so just let it be

ok good point - regular maintenance is required anyways.
at least the pantyhose will do for now, once dust builds up, i can always use the other "leg" of the pantyhose.  Grin

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery... BINANCE vs Huobi.Pro - Buy/Sell hash at Nicehash - Rent Rigs at MRR - SMOS -BBT/VOSK/AANTONOP/CBB/PM57/CryptoNEWS/CoinMktCap/Cryptoboreas
kodokbuduk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 04:21:53 AM
 #707

yea, and last time I've experience one of the fan suddenly is not working (broken into pieces, dont know why), then the miner just stop, beeping sound.. I replaced it (ordered from bitmain part site, 6 days to arrive), and back to work like a charm..So this is good, i know this miner has prevention of overheating. Now i got spare fans, so if this happen again, i got spare, no need to wait 6 days to order.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1063


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 04:27:05 AM
 #708

Also that whistle sound will be gone by time due to dust blocking the airflow..once i clean it, then it happen again..so just let it be

ok good point - regular maintenance is required anyways.
at least the pantyhose will do for now, once dust builds up, i can always use the other "leg" of the pantyhose.  Grin
Problem with letting the dust bunnies start living in the miners is not just one of them restricting airflow. Surface contamination of the heatsink fins by fine dust rather dramatically begins to impact heat xfr efficiency before airflow throttling becomes a concern. Miners like all the cooling they can get. Yes, they can tolerate what I would call heavy abuse and possibly/probably do it for a rather long time.

But still, when so easy to kill 2 birds with 1 stone...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
clgrissom3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1010


Carl, aka Sonny :)


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 04:55:59 AM
 #709

I couldn't stand it anymore...I broke down and pulled the trigger for an S9 tonight...  Cheesy  I will need a couple of these to keep my host fee average down after the halving.  Grin

I might be the first person to complete an S9 purchase in less than an hour!  Crazy!  As soon as my purchase was marked as paid Batch 3 changed to Sold Out...  Shocked

I proudly mine at the Kano Pool, the Best Bitcoin Pool in the World!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 16, 2016, 05:58:12 AM
 #710

How do you make a payment in BTC in less than an HOUR?

The entire network has not found a block in

Network:     66m (416434)

please explain

I have a payment thats been status ? for 3 hours now and mid setting on confirmation time.

same as anyone else... wait for blocks to be found :/

So over an hour to Bitmain i lost my BTC now??
It will confirm once blocks come through and things stabilise, your BTC is not lost.


S9 review:

At 650 mhz default frequency, temps at chip reached over 100c when it started mining, is this normal? But PCB temps hovered around 60-64c. So, I put fans at 100% but chips temp still within the 99c-101c range.

Adjusted the freq to 625 mhz, and cranked up fans 100%, now chip temps 88-94c, PCB 56-62c.

I noticed that the 3rd board run hotter than the rest.

Is the chip temp normal at that high temps when mining?

Appreciate any feedback - thanks!

that pict on the left is surely distracting...lol

SP20 chips , which are probably the same type of silicon, were fine until 115C, showed warning at 120C and were program to throttle at 125C, from which i surmise that 100C chip temp is just fine and dandy.
All temperatures are arbitrary based on the sensor location, its not a great idea to compare meltTemps between miners.

jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
June 16, 2016, 06:44:34 AM
 #711

Toomim Bros received five Batch 1 S9s today. ... two ("m6" and "m8") gave low hashrates when run at 650 MHz, around 8 TH/s each....
to keep on topic: I wonder if the hash rate issues jtoomim is experiencing are heat related? It seems possible as the hash rates came up when the clock rate was decreased.
Unlikely, as the intake air temperatures have been between 8°C and 20°C while we saw problems. I can't be sure, but it almost seemed like we were having more trouble with the unit at night (8-10°C intake) than during the day.

Probably that, or core voltage as too low. Might have had some under-spec chips on those boards.
This sounds more plausible to me. In particular, I suspect an issue during the startup routine for the ASICs. The hashrate stays pretty stable over time as long as I don't restart cgminer, but restarting cgminer even with the same settings can cause the rig to gain or lose a few TH/s. I suspect that some of the strings might be having an issue during startup, causing about half of the ASICs on a hashboard to not hash.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
SaBit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 06:57:20 AM
 #712

Seems like I got a dud. First hour it ran fine hashing away at 14  -   then overnight it averaged just over 13.

Rebooted this morning and its hovering around 13.5  --

PCB Temps 50,52,48  chips  81,82,88
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1022


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 08:10:51 AM
 #713


All temperatures are arbitrary based on the sensor location, its not a great idea to compare meltTemps between miners.


 Absolutely!

 SP20 sensors were on the CHIP, thus the high "rated" temps - Antminer sensors IME have been board-level, and need to stay a LOT lower for the actual silicon to not overheat.

 Personally I VASTLY prefer the sensor to be on the chip, as there are way too many variables involved in "board-level" sensors that can distort their readings badly.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
mishra1994u
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 16, 2016, 08:13:50 AM
 #714

I'm waiting for the halving and hopefully they put these bad boys on HashNest. Even at low electricity their HashNest s7 math for me makes their cloud mining 13% more profitable even though I have $.07/kwh. Pretty crazy, huh? I just want to keep watching the price drop on these...but then again difficulty is probably going up at an equal rate or maybe even more 
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 16, 2016, 09:11:17 AM
 #715

60% of my S9 B1 not perform as specified Sad
Hashrate is under 13.3TH/s

BTCKano Pool██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██
██
██
██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1129


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
June 16, 2016, 11:09:54 AM
 #716

60% of my S9 B1 not perform as specified Sad
Hashrate is under 13.3TH/s
Maybe this is one reason as well, that B2 is 12,93Th/s ?
Varying chip quality?

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 16, 2016, 11:42:45 AM
 #717

60% of my S9 B1 not perform as specified Sad
Hashrate is under 13.3TH/s

Can you post a image of the status screen so it's a little easier to see?   What does hashrate look like on each blade? (A status screen will help a lot of questions here).   Also are you getting number from miner itself or pool? 
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 16, 2016, 12:01:59 PM
 #718

see below...
the other 2 units are over 13.3 but no unit reach the advertised 14TH/s






BTCKano Pool██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██
██
██
██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 16, 2016, 12:39:27 PM
 #719

see below...
the other 2 units are over 13.3 but no unit reach the advertised 14TH/s

(picture above)

You are right out of curiosity what PSU's are you using?  Also have you tried another pool just to see what it does? (Pool should not make a difference as Kano works but just being through)

Just wondering on those things as that would be heck of a bad luck to get so many under.   
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1640
Merit: 1013


View Profile
June 16, 2016, 12:59:37 PM
 #720

Being able to see the individual blades' performance opens up the possibility of combining good or bad performing blades into a single unit and then clocking the unit appropriately for the blades (presumably voiding the warranty in the process though).

@yxt have you tried downclocking at all to see what happens to the blades that are not performing as well?



Also out of curiosity, has anyone from batch 2 or 3 received a shipping notification?  I am curious if batch 3 really is going to ship before batch 2.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 350 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!