Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2018, 06:15:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 350 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain's Released Antminer S9, World's First 16nm Miner Ready to Order  (Read 502874 times)
Sierra8561
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 21, 2016, 09:43:40 PM
 #901

Is the S9 as loud as the S7?

   The fan noise on the S7 is unbearable compared to S3's. sigh.

From what I have read in some threads ( I didn't have one myself) you can compare the noise from the S9 with an S7.
Maybe one of the owners can answer better?



I can't tell a difference between the two. They seem the same to me.
1529777701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529777701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529777701
Reply with quote  #2

1529777701
Report to moderator
1529777701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529777701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529777701
Reply with quote  #2

1529777701
Report to moderator
1529777701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529777701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529777701
Reply with quote  #2

1529777701
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529777701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529777701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529777701
Reply with quote  #2

1529777701
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142
Merit: 1245


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 09:50:19 PM
 #902

I just checked my two s-9's coming on weds well they are now coming on thurs and both have a line I have never seen.
I bolded the line below.


Shenzhen, China   06/22/2016   1:00 A.M.   Export Scan
Shenzhen, China   06/21/2016   10:15 P.M.
Your package is in transit. We're updating plans to schedule your delivery. / The package will be forwarded to a UPS facility in the destination city.



Lakewood, NJ, United States   06/21/2016   7:08 A.M.   The receiver must pay the duties or taxes due on the package.

.....

I wonder if maybe this happened because you have two S9's as a single shipment, and the total value exceeded some threshold. In the past haven't you had "single miner shipments"? Perhaps in the future it might be worth considering staggered orders which become staggered shipments?

I had the exact same thing happen. I had to pay $63.00 for my 5 miners.

Well 63 for 5 is 12.60 each    so if my 2 are 25.20 it is fine with me.


@ real-duke if you get a whistler in s-7 or s-9  it is painfully loud otherwise they are close to being the same.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Puffy23
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 09:56:27 PM
 #903

I just checked my two s-9's coming on weds well they are now coming on thurs and both have a line I have never seen.
I bolded the line below.


Shenzhen, China   06/22/2016   1:00 A.M.   Export Scan
Shenzhen, China   06/21/2016   10:15 P.M.
Your package is in transit. We're updating plans to schedule your delivery. / The package will be forwarded to a UPS facility in the destination city.



Lakewood, NJ, United States   06/21/2016   7:08 A.M.   The receiver must pay the duties or taxes due on the package.

.....

I wonder if maybe this happened because you have two S9's as a single shipment, and the total value exceeded some threshold. In the past haven't you had "single miner shipments"? Perhaps in the future it might be worth considering staggered orders which become staggered shipments?

They were staggered by more then a day.

 first order batch 2 order was on the 9th
 second batch 2 order was on the 12th

so the question is what will fees be for 4154   = 1985+1985+62+62

so I get a delay in shipping   it comes on thur vs wed and a mystery fee.


I believe items over $200 are subject to customs duties and/or taxes.  Then there is a Merchandise Processing Fee that is determined by a threshold of $2,500.  I don't claim to be an expert, but I know certain items like computers are exempt from one or both of the fees.  That's how some get it through with no additional cost (I think).

If you want to fight it, you need to identify what is exempt and make a claim based on that exemption.  If you want to pay it I believe you have to procure a broker to handle it (most shipping companies can do this).  The fees shouldn't be more than about 3%.  It may be faster and more economical to pay the fee depending on potential delay.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1063


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 10:01:00 PM
 #904

I just checked my two s-9's coming on weds well they are now coming on thurs and both have a line I have never seen.
I bolded the line below.


Shenzhen, China   06/22/2016   1:00 A.M.   Export Scan
Shenzhen, China   06/21/2016   10:15 P.M.
Your package is in transit. We're updating plans to schedule your delivery. / The package will be forwarded to a UPS facility in the destination city.



Lakewood, NJ, United States   06/21/2016   7:08 A.M.   The receiver must pay the duties or taxes due on the package.

.....

I wonder if maybe this happened because you have two S9's as a single shipment, and the total value exceeded some threshold. In the past haven't you had "single miner shipments"? Perhaps in the future it might be worth considering staggered orders which become staggered shipments?

I had the exact same thing happen. I had to pay $63.00 for my 5 miners.
When shipping to the USA if the value of a shipment exceeds $2,500 then Customs Import Duty kicks in. Same applies to folks returning from abroad with trinkets they picked up during their travels.

Considering the price of s9's yeah 2x def puts ya over that threshold.

EDIT: Interesting reading... https://www.cbp.gov/trade/basic-import-export/internet-purchases

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142
Merit: 1245


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 11:01:45 PM
 #905

well they were ordered on the 9th and the 12th .

they have separate order numbers and separate tracking numbers.

so i am not going to go nuts over it. since they arrive the same day I guess they can be combined.  If the combination is legal for the total I am over 2500.

so I will lose the day pay the fee.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
generalt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 955
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 11:39:04 PM
 #906

I think there was a post about the HST Code that they use for shipping.  If they use the wrong HST code you may incur additional charges.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1165628.msg13512588#msg13512588

BTC: 1GENERALrtBAjEv2Ps5cmEW1FADnXh1bCZ
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1641
Merit: 1013


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 01:30:46 AM
 #907

The only time that happened to me was on an S7 and the fee was $38.  I think the cost was around $1900 but I can't recall now.

You might be able to call UPS and get it reversed.  I did.  But I had to pay the driver to get it and they sent me a refund check about a month later.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142
Merit: 1245


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 01:43:04 AM
 #908

I think I am stuck since they sent my   june 9th order and my june 12th order on the same day.

each is 1985 plus shipping or 2047 + 2047 = 4094  which is over the threshold of 2500.

I do not want to complain  to ups as I have  had many orders before on the s-7 and even the s-9 .

So if the driver want 3% of 4100  that is 123 usd   i will eat the charge and never order gear from bitmaintech again .

 as I just can't deal with the drama any more.

I will have 4 s-9's and it will have to be enough

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 22, 2016, 02:13:37 AM
 #909

Just ordered one. Wondering what power supplies people are using in the states?

Thanks guys!

I suspect that the bitmaintech psu is just a tiny bit short to run an s-9

it does need 210 or more volts so if in USA you need correct voltage wires.

now if you are looking for an ATX 120 volt option EVGA has them  but they are costly

titanium 1600 watt cost - 386 usd

https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-SuperNOVA-TITANIUM-Crossfire-220-T2-1600-X1/dp/B00R33ZBQU/ref=sr_1_1?


platinum 342
https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-SuperNOVA-PLATINUM-Crossfire-220-P2-1600-X1/dp/B00NJG61JQ/ref=sr_1_3?

gold 302
https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-SuperNOVA-Crossfire-Warranty-120-G2-1600-X1/dp/B00MMLUIE8/ref=sr_1_2?

How many of the Bitmain APW3's have you tried out? Through my testing I have 1 remote connected to a APW3 and one now at my place connected to an APW3 and not having issues with them.

What way are you testing the APW3 to determine they are coming up short?  I have been testing by running the units with them so wanted to what tests you were using to get this. Just trying to compare as we seem to be getting different results.
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1376



View Profile
June 22, 2016, 02:52:08 AM
 #910

I think I am stuck since they sent my   june 9th order and my june 12th order on the same day.

each is 1985 plus shipping or 2047 + 2047 = 4094  which is over the threshold of 2500.

I do not want to complain  to ups as I have  had many orders before on the s-7 and even the s-9 .

So if the driver want 3% of 4100  that is 123 usd   i will eat the charge and never order gear from bitmaintech again .

 as I just can't deal with the drama any more.

I will have 4 s-9's and it will have to be enough

US govt takes only 0.3464%, at least that's what my FedEx bills show. Plus $7 flat fee of some sort charged by FedEx. If you have to pay 3% there must be something wrong.

Breaking news: GAW was a scam
(Homero Garza pleads guilty)

HOWEYCOINS: SEC approved
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
Incanus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 06:02:32 AM
 #911

Got my 2 s9s today, but one is not working Sad

Cannot find a manual on the website, was trying to do a factory reset so I can make sure it is defective.  Came on for 15 minutes, then went offline.  Temperature was fine, now just a flashing FAULT light.

Does anyone know how to do a reset on this model so I can try this before requesting a RMA?


Thanks in advance.

Hi Incanus,

Thanks for choosing Bitmain.

Please inform us details of your issue at support.bitmain.com and one of our customer support reps will be happy to resolve your issue ASAP.

We wish you a happy mining experience,

the Bitmain team


Status update:

After 5 days of talking with Quentin via email we are no closer to a solution.

The day I posted here, I went to Bitmain's website and read that for people who can repair their own machines, they can order parts.  The BB board listed said to state what model you are repairing as it needs to be programmed correctly, so I placed an order for an 1/0 and a BB board, seeing that S9 wasn't listed on the parts, but that they still haven't put the manual for the S9 up either, so I figured they had not updated the website.  I stated CLEARLY on the order that I needed S9 parts, that I had a defective S9 and that once I was able to determine which board was bad, or both for that matter, I would request a RMA and return it for a replacement, keeping whatever returned as a spare part.  Makes sense from my end as I lose more money being offline than the cost of the parts.  I get a order confirmation and it is sent out and then I get a message from Quentin that they don't have S9 parts for sale.  SO what is on the way to me, I still have not gotten an answer, I cannot give a screenshot as it doesn't even appear on my network (so there is nothing to navigate to) NOW my new batch 3 miner is down.  Out of 3 I have only 1 working.  One of the hashcards is not working and I have uploaded a screenshot of it, but we are now at 5 days and Quentin doesn't seem to understand what is going on.  HELP.  Do I take delivery and see if the parts are right?  He will not answer me.
mez
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 10:37:39 AM
 #912

Bitmain uses his own BMminer on this device.
The result is that the miner is unable to mine coins with lower difficulty.
Also renting out on Nicehash or Westhash doesn't work. All share get rejected, lots of hardware errors and temperature rises a LOT

It does work perfectly on bitcoin pools.
Why Bitmain, Why didn't you just use CGminer instead of your own branded miner that clearly isn't up to the task (yet)

alienesb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 22, 2016, 10:39:42 AM
 #913

i will eat the charge and never order gear from bitmaintech again .

Hahaha, come on this is a lie! Wait until the next super miner comes out and you'll be there on day one.
cryptotore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 22, 2016, 11:37:31 AM
 #914

I just checked my two s-9's coming on weds well they are now coming on thurs and both have a line I have never seen.
I bolded the line below.


Shenzhen, China   06/22/2016   1:00 A.M.   Export Scan
Shenzhen, China   06/21/2016   10:15 P.M.
Your package is in transit. We're updating plans to schedule your delivery. / The package will be forwarded to a UPS facility in the destination city.



Lakewood, NJ, United States   06/21/2016   7:08 A.M.   The receiver must pay the duties or taxes due on the package.

.....

I wonder if maybe this happened because you have two S9's as a single shipment, and the total value exceeded some threshold. In the past haven't you had "single miner shipments"? Perhaps in the future it might be worth considering staggered orders which become staggered shipments?

I had the exact same thing happen. I had to pay $63.00 for my 5 miners.
When shipping to the USA if the value of a shipment exceeds $2,500 then Customs Import Duty kicks in. Same applies to folks returning from abroad with trinkets they picked up during their travels.

Considering the price of s9's yeah 2x def puts ya over that threshold.

EDIT: Interesting reading... https://www.cbp.gov/trade/basic-import-export/internet-purchases

You guys should be happy the tax rates are so low! I'm paying a default 25% import tax on my miners aka 520$, on top of the 2085$ miner price Tongue (Norway).

sunny163
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 12:14:18 PM
 #915

I just checked my two s-9's coming on weds well they are now coming on thurs and both have a line I have never seen.
I bolded the line below.


Shenzhen, China   06/22/2016   1:00 A.M.   Export Scan
Shenzhen, China   06/21/2016   10:15 P.M.
Your package is in transit. We're updating plans to schedule your delivery. / The package will be forwarded to a UPS facility in the destination city.



Lakewood, NJ, United States   06/21/2016   7:08 A.M.   The receiver must pay the duties or taxes due on the package.

.....


I wonder if maybe this happened because you have two S9's as a single shipment, and the total value exceeded some threshold. In the past haven't you had "single miner shipments"? Perhaps in the future it might be worth considering staggered orders which become staggered shipments?



I had the exact same thing happen. I had to pay $63.00 for my 5 miners.
When shipping to the USA if the value of a shipment exceeds $2,500 then Customs Import Duty kicks in. Same applies to folks returning from abroad with trinkets they picked up during their travels.

Considering the price of s9's yeah 2x def puts ya over that threshold.

EDIT: Interesting reading... https://www.cbp.gov/trade/basic-import-export/internet-purchases

You guys should be happy the tax rates are so low! I'm paying a default 25% import tax on my miners aka 520$, on top of the 2085$ miner price Tongue (Norway).



Yes they are very lucky i am paying 20% sometime and sometime around 26%
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 12:23:21 PM
 #916

Bitmain uses his own BMminer on this device.
nope, it is stolen and renamed cgminer

The result is that the miner is unable to mine coins with lower difficulty.
Also renting out on Nicehash or Westhash doesn't work. All share get rejected, lots of hardware errors and temperature rises a LOT
this problem is known since S5 and i believe it is hardware related
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1098

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 12:35:13 PM
 #917

Pretty unlikely to be hardware-related, if it was on the S5. BM1384 have no problem working with vardiff 1.

Micky25
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 955
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 22, 2016, 12:45:39 PM
 #918

You guys should be happy the tax rates are so low! I'm paying a default 25% import tax on my miners aka 520$, on top of the 2085$ miner price Tongue (Norway).
Yes they are very lucky i am paying 20% sometime and sometime around 26%

Hail Europe, where you get as*fisted at any given opportunity.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142
Merit: 1245


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 12:47:38 PM
 #919

I just checked my two s-9's coming on weds well they are now coming on thurs and both have a line I have never seen.
I bolded the line below.


Shenzhen, China   06/22/2016   1:00 A.M.   Export Scan
Shenzhen, China   06/21/2016   10:15 P.M.
Your package is in transit. We're updating plans to schedule your delivery. / The package will be forwarded to a UPS facility in the destination city.



Lakewood, NJ, United States   06/21/2016   7:08 A.M.   The receiver must pay the duties or taxes due on the package.

.....


I wonder if maybe this happened because you have two S9's as a single shipment, and the total value exceeded some threshold. In the past haven't you had "single miner shipments"? Perhaps in the future it might be worth considering staggered orders which become staggered shipments?



I had the exact same thing happen. I had to pay $63.00 for my 5 miners.
When shipping to the USA if the value of a shipment exceeds $2,500 then Customs Import Duty kicks in. Same applies to folks returning from abroad with trinkets they picked up during their travels.

Considering the price of s9's yeah 2x def puts ya over that threshold.

EDIT: Interesting reading... https://www.cbp.gov/trade/basic-import-export/internet-purchases

You guys should be happy the tax rates are so low! I'm paying a default 25% import tax on my miners aka 520$, on top of the 2085$ miner price Tongue (Norway).



Yes they are very lucky i am paying 20% sometime and sometime around 26%

I can not complain as I have order s-1's s-3's s-5's s-7's and even 2 s9's and never paid a tax as of now.

 So even if it is 3% that would be about 123 usd.
If it is .3%  that would be 12.30 usd.

I was not complaining so much as I was  wondering what I would pay.


@ alienesb

  yeah  it was brooklyn speak   which is talking like you feel at that exact moment. 

Now that 12 hours have past lets face it I will buy more gear. Grin Grin Grin

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 02:22:32 PM
 #920

Pretty unlikely to be hardware-related, if it was on the S5. BM1384 have no problem working with vardiff 1.
S5 are known to lock itself when mining shitcoins on nicehash. Same apply to S7s but they only loose one hashing board untill soft reboot. I don't think this is cgminer problem as A6 also use cgminer but don't have such bug
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 350 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!