Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2018, 07:16:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking the S7 - improving efficiency through minor hardware manipulation  (Read 24750 times)
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1080

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 10:31:46 PM
 #261

You sure it's not reading from the SO-8 TMP75 in the center of the board using I2C via the TSCL and TSDA lines on the cable connector?

1524251815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524251815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524251815
Reply with quote  #2

1524251815
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524251815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524251815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524251815
Reply with quote  #2

1524251815
Report to moderator
1524251815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524251815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524251815
Reply with quote  #2

1524251815
Report to moderator
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 544


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 11:14:40 PM
 #262

You sure it's not reading from the SO-8 TMP75 in the center of the board using I2C via the TSCL and TSDA lines on the cable connector?

Ill have to dig out my documentation to confirm but that is what I remember from the hardware training I received from bitmain last year in China.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1080

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 12:14:14 AM
 #263

You're not thinking the S9, are you?

surferdudemi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 05:57:38 AM
 #264

You sure it's not reading from the SO-8 TMP75 in the center of the board using I2C via the TSCL and TSDA lines on the cable connector?

Ill have to dig out my documentation to confirm but that is what I remember from the hardware training I received from bitmain last year in China.

All of the chips show "o", so it seems odd that the temp value would be bad / wrong on two boards when the chips appear to be functioning properly.  There are multiple posts about the temp problem (I Googled it, not on here), but I could not find any info about where the sensor is so I could inspect it on the board.

People have mentioned that Bitmain had the schematics available, and that they were pulled.  Did copies survive anywhere?  Didn't see any with a Google search - even in the images which sometimes show stuff you don't see in the regular search results.
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 544


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 05:56:35 PM
 #265

You're not thinking the S9, are you?


Apologies, it seems that I was thinking s9. I pulled out my s7 maintenance guide and confirmed I was mixing the two up.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Sweminer777
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 643
Merit: 500

Because your are good, you are treated bad."Jebus"


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 03:49:02 PM
 #266

any form to, revive this boards, when they show 00000000000000000000000000000 but do not hash? what can be done or work around?

16evXY9azcbYtLdKCAn1SeNN7gGxcRGRi6

Save the Chickens!
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 544


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 04:35:31 PM
 #267

any form to, revive this boards, when they show 00000000000000000000000000000 but do not hash? what can be done or work around?

There are many reasons for it not hashing, we would need more info to help you. I would recommend making a post in the support section with your full kernel log so people can help.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1080

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 09:16:26 PM
 #268

To the guy whose post was recently deleted, asking about D3 hacking, someone on the previous page mentioned looking into it.

I started a topic on the D3 with a hardware mod. This is for steady hands only for now  Cool
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2346161.0



(Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove an off-topic portion of the post.)

FNT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2018, 10:23:50 AM
 #269

Hi sidehack,

Thanks for replay... and sorry for off topic posting.
I checked the post of D3 completly, but I found no hex file of D3.

About the S7, how have you made the settings in the hex file for the S7?
Have you just modified the memory where the voltage settings are stored or did you
have done the work from scratch do code the voltage settings?

Thanks for info!

Bye, FNT
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1034


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 02, 2018, 02:34:56 PM
 #270

Hmm, might this explain my donated old Ant45s7b6 briefly showing up on Kano last night? Someone fiddling with it and a PIC programmer? Wink

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.    HaggsFIN trip to Canaan
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1080

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 02, 2018, 03:06:12 PM
 #271

Why would someone have bought it six months ago or whatever and not run it or change pool configs? That's weird.

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1034


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 02, 2018, 04:31:37 PM
 #272

No idea unless they only changed pool-1 and it failed over to one of the other original settings for pool-2 or 3. It last reported to Kano's pool 13 hrs ago.

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.    HaggsFIN trip to Canaan
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
FNT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 03:51:59 PM
 #273

Hi,

@notfuzzywarm: not that miner, as hashboard is here on the table,
all pools set to mine. It's an other ant45s7.

Any hints about the PIC?

Bye
Breeze
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 12:12:40 PM
 #274

Anybody have an idea why i cant connect?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xocgink55xkclrq/fail.JPG?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xocgink55xkclrq/fail.JPG?dl=0



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove inline image tags.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1080

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 12:33:35 PM
 #275

Plenty of ideas, but it's not too helpful without knowing what you've done to get there.

Is your kit plugged in backward? Did you disconnect the 18-pin cable to the control board?

Breeze
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 12:38:53 PM
 #276

Plenty of ideas, but it's not too helpful without knowing what you've done to get there.

Is your kit plugged in backward? Did you disconnect the 18-pin cable to the control board?

I set the voltage 3.3. Arrow on the pickit is down, like in the picture. Have a pin cable. Yes, have dissconnected the 18 pin cable from the boars.
Now i'm gonna try older version of the IPE 3.35
Breeze
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 12:42:34 PM
 #277

Code:
2018-04-17 14:38:44 +0200 - Completed loading IPE.


*****************************************************

Connecting to MPLAB PICkit 3...

Currently loaded firmware on PICkit 3
Firmware Suite Version.....01.51.08 *
Firmware type..............Enhanced Midrange

Now Downloading new Firmware for target device: PIC12F1572
Downloading bootloader
Bootloader download complete
Programming download...
Downloading RS...
RS download complete
Programming download...
Downloading AP...
AP download complete
Programming download...

Currently loaded firmware on PICkit 3
Firmware Suite Version.....01.43.35
Firmware type..............Enhanced Midrange

Programmer to target power is enabled - VDD = 3,300000 volts.
Unable to connect to the target device.
Failed to get Device ID
Breeze
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 12:50:49 PM
 #278

Now it connect when i use "Low Voltage Power" in the Power menu.
But have this error:
Code:

*****************************************************

Connecting to MPLAB PICkit 3...

Currently loaded firmware on PICkit 3
Firmware Suite Version.....01.43.35
Firmware type..............Enhanced Midrange

Programmer to target power is enabled - VDD = 3,300000 volts.
Target Device ID (0x0) is an Invalid Device ID. Please check your connections to the Target Device.

EDIT: Got it working now. It works when i have the 18-pin cable connected to the board. It's some random shit.....
Testing board #1 now  Smiley
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!