Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 01:58:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Since updating to 0.3.22: Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC  (Read 3113 times)
Spammy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 03:45:19 PM
 #1

Running bitcoin with -server flag, tried running bitcoind instead. Neither worked. Was working fine in previous versions but I can't seem to get mining to work no matter what I try now.

I try to help everyone to the best of my ability for free. If I helped you: Pay it forward.
Any tips are appreciated at: 149y9qHCWuhcTciUX1WMDDRETmi2Mc8dtp
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- gmaxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481464715
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464715

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464715
Reply with quote  #2

1481464715
Report to moderator
Spammy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 03:47:56 PM
 #2

Running Windows XP, bitcoin.conf is still there (and fine) but I re-created it anyway, same problem. Sad

Edit: Also bitcoin is using 50% CPU constantly (A single core)

I try to help everyone to the best of my ability for free. If I helped you: Pay it forward.
Any tips are appreciated at: 149y9qHCWuhcTciUX1WMDDRETmi2Mc8dtp
Spammy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 03:51:24 PM
 #3

I was using poclbm from command line but tried GUIminer to see if I could get it working. I have python installed but I have no idea how to code in it. Is the protocol binary or text? I could connect with a telnet client or something equivalent to netcat.

I try to help everyone to the best of my ability for free. If I helped you: Pay it forward.
Any tips are appreciated at: 149y9qHCWuhcTciUX1WMDDRETmi2Mc8dtp
Spammy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 03:59:09 PM
 #4

Bitcoin didn't have the chain downloaded (but it does now). When I started poclbm it told me that bitcoin was still downloading the chain, then a minute or so later: "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC". Still taking up 50% CPU. Will look into querying with python, doesn't seem too hard.

Also, exiting bitcoin from the tray only removes the tray icon. The process is still there using up 50% CPU.

I try to help everyone to the best of my ability for free. If I helped you: Pay it forward.
Any tips are appreciated at: 149y9qHCWuhcTciUX1WMDDRETmi2Mc8dtp
PabloW
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 04:28:51 PM
 #5

I haver version 0.3.20.2 should I upgrade my bitcoin client?
Spammy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 04:33:25 PM
 #6

Going back to 0.3.21 Makes it work again, installing 0.3.22 breaks it. Couldn't get json-rpc to install properly so I can't test it Sad

I try to help everyone to the best of my ability for free. If I helped you: Pay it forward.
Any tips are appreciated at: 149y9qHCWuhcTciUX1WMDDRETmi2Mc8dtp
xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:50:16 PM
 #7


Version 0.3.22 has one known problem:  'getwork' mining on Windows fails.

If you (a) are not mining with bitcoind, or (b) you are not on Windows, then everything is OK.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!