Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:13:26 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help me set up my miner (will pay)  (Read 1631 times)
jimraynor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 04:51:55 PM
 #1

hi, i have the follow hardware which i cannot get to mine properly

Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD7
4GB corsair ram
Phenom II X6 1100T
xfx 5870 (4 of)
1200W antec PSU

what i want to do is run 4 cards in one PC and overclock them to 1.25V 1030/300

currently using windows 7 ult 64bit with m0mchils GUI miner

when i put 1 card in it works fine
when i put 2 cards in it works fine
when i put 3 cards in windows reconises them in device manager and crossfire works but the miner only sees 1 card.
when i put 4 cards in windows recoinises 3 of them in device manager and crossfire only allows me to use 2 way, not sure how many cards the miner allows me to use, either 1 or 2.

so that is my main problem, 4 way crossfire isnt working and m0mchils miner isnt working with more than 2 cards.

things i have thought/tried:

all the pci-e slots work, have tried just one card in them all.
all the cards work, they are all mining now just not in one computer.
the psu has plenty of power, it is gold rated and has 8x 30A 12V rails.

another problem i am having is i cant overclock more than one card past 900Mhz, using MSI afterburn to overvolt and AMD gpu clock tool to take the clocks to 1030/300 but it only lets me do it on one card, the other always runs at 900/1300.

if anyone can help me get it working like i want it to, 4 cards in one computers overclocked then i will throw some bitcoins your way.

i am prepared to use other miners or another OS but you may have to be a bit patient as i have never used anything other than windows.
1481228006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228006
Reply with quote  #2

1481228006
Report to moderator
1481228006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228006
Reply with quote  #2

1481228006
Report to moderator
1481228006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228006
Reply with quote  #2

1481228006
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
foggyb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 04:53:27 PM
 #2

PM Sent.
jimraynor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:41:31 PM
 #3

hmm, i sent you two pms but i cant see them in outbox, dont know if you got them or not.
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:44:40 PM
 #4

turn crossfire off

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:47:17 PM
 #5

Xfx cards won't clock that high and you're going to burn them up quickly at that voltage.
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:51:48 PM
 #6

1.2v
990core <1000 memory
80% fan speed
is what im running on my 5870 its reference and sits about 73c

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
WiseOldOwl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:53:45 PM
 #7

Go into your setting>Display>and start extending your desktop onto screens that are provided by the other cards. These cards have to be plugged into a screen, or a dummy plug so they think they are projecting the image.
If this helps you can donate to me just PM me.
Also you should undo crossfire.

http://cryptoswap.com
XRP/BTC/LTC/BTE
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:56:24 PM
 #8

http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=7.0

this will help with dummy plugs

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 06:08:35 PM
 #9

also have you tried uninstalling drivers + driver sweep, installing catalyst 11-5, do not install stream 2.4, download and install stream 2.1... but I bet you've already tried

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
jimraynor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:05:01 PM
 #10

hmm, it is now working in 4 way crossfire, i assume it will work with no crossfire if i use a monitor on each graphics card.

one of my cards fan has just died though so im one down.


i have fixed one of my problems, i think it was user error as you cant click a card into the bottom slot with any usb or front panel, or fan plugged in.

the other problem is overclocking, i cannot work out how to do it with more than one card.
Eikill
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:39:22 PM
 #11

Use MSI afterburner, follow these guides and enable voltage control from the settings. Should work.
http://vivithemage.com/2011/03/enabling-unofficial-overclocking-in-msi-afterburner-2-1/
http://www.overclock.net/amd-ati/667144-crossfire-disabling-ulps.html (disable everyone of your 000x)
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:45:39 PM
 #12

hmm, it is now working in 4 way crossfire, i assume it will work with no crossfire if i use a monitor on each graphics card.

one of my cards fan has just died though so im one down.


i have fixed one of my problems, i think it was user error as you cant click a card into the bottom slot with any usb or front panel, or fan plugged in.

the other problem is overclocking, i cannot work out how to do it with more than one card.

Use the steps outlined in this link: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1090/1/ That should do the trick.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
jimraynor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:24:25 PM
 #13

Use MSI afterburner, follow these guides and enable voltage control from the settings. Should work.
http://vivithemage.com/2011/03/enabling-unofficial-overclocking-in-msi-afterburner-2-1/
http://www.overclock.net/amd-ati/667144-crossfire-disabling-ulps.html (disable everyone of your 000x)

ahhh, i have been editing the config file wrong, i bet it will work if i do it right.

also why would i disable ulps?



Use the steps outlined in this link: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1090/1/ That should do the trick.

that is the program i am using currently and it wont apply adjusted clock speeds to more than one card.

thanks all, my bitcoins are at work but i will pass some on at some point.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!