Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2018, 03:46:56 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Do i need a good computer to mine with ASIC?  (Read 3269 times)
Barnabe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 28, 2016, 09:18:46 PM
 #21

Let it be noted this is now a alt-coin discussion.. An ARM chip is an application processor and do to internal thermal-throttle is probably worse than a x86.
The ARM chip is only controling the ASICS miners and they are mining bitcoins, so this is not an alt-coin discussion. And maybe there is no throttle at all, haven't you seen the fan ?  Grin
1540223216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540223216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540223216
Reply with quote  #2

1540223216
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540223216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540223216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540223216
Reply with quote  #2

1540223216
Report to moderator
barrysty1e
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 603
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 30, 2016, 09:12:39 PM
 #22

you'll get a better profit margin with a more powerful processor, try hanging it off a x64 linux box which has its usb controller hanging off its PCI bus. the arm architecture still suffers from poor i/o due to its reduced instruction set; meaning that it executes more commands per cycle meaning it can't respond to interrupt requests as quickly.

im not sure that DuddlyDoRight knows what they are talking about; the system processor itself is not mining.

just like a chocolate milkshake, only crunchy..!
Yviergreen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 05:33:07 AM
 #23

What is ASIC by the way?
jpucela14
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 251


SWISSREALCOIN - FIRST REAL ESTATE CRYPTO TOKEN


View Profile
July 01, 2016, 10:41:55 AM
 #24

What is ASIC by the way?

Specific hardware created to mine BTC

DuddlyDoRight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 318
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2016, 10:50:44 AM
 #25

The USB bus on ASIC miners is only for control network and mining are on the PCB of the miner(s). Network on the miners needs to be gigabit LAN or better over PCIe. Most are on a slow bus to a controller and the controller interfaces the cable. PCIe is probably too expensive to implement for these turn-profit companies who make miners.

I have faith that one day this forum will get threads where people won't just repeat their previous posts or what others have already stated in the same thread. Also that people will stop acting like BTC is toy-money and start holding vendors accountable. Naive? Maybe.
ruselbd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 07, 2016, 06:31:01 PM
 #26

As it's been specified now, the PC doesn't generally make a difference (insofar as it's from this century I'm certain you'll be fine). Better equipment amounts to nothing since you're utilizing the ASIC for processing power.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!