Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2018, 01:14:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I connect PCI-E x16 card to x16 port via x1 cable extender ?  (Read 3920 times)
limpbrains
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:37:04 PM
 #1

Can I connect PCI-E x16 card to x16 port via x1 cable extender ?

Do it need any jumpers like when I connect video card to x1 ?

Thanks
1529586884
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529586884

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529586884
Reply with quote  #2

1529586884
Report to moderator
1529586884
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529586884

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529586884
Reply with quote  #2

1529586884
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529586884
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529586884

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529586884
Reply with quote  #2

1529586884
Report to moderator
1529586884
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529586884

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529586884
Reply with quote  #2

1529586884
Report to moderator
1529586884
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529586884

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529586884
Reply with quote  #2

1529586884
Report to moderator
dpcc487
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:29:30 PM
 #2

Yes, but at 1x bandwidth. No jumpers needed
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:48:20 PM
 #3

Yes, but at 1x bandwidth. No jumpers needed

I'm pretty sure you do need jumpers, or a 1x to 16x cable.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Capitan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 12:00:51 AM
 #4

What jumper? What setting is this jumper supposed to control? And is the jumper on the video card or on the motherboard?
limpbrains
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 03:19:10 PM
 #5

What jumper? What setting is this jumper supposed to control? And is the jumper on the video card or on the motherboard?

Sorry for my english, not a jumper.
A piece of wire/cable
This is what I was talking about http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1788271/pics/x16.jpg

Works fine.
Capitan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:03:42 PM
 #6

What jumper? What setting is this jumper supposed to control? And is the jumper on the video card or on the motherboard?

Sorry for my english, not a jumper.
A piece of wire/cable
This is what I was talking about http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1788271/pics/x16.jpg

Works fine.

Thanks. Just to be clear, you are referring to the PCIe extender in that picture? What is that white twistie-tie thing for, that's curving from the front of the PCIe slot to the back of it, and curves around two capacitors?
limpbrains
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:54:30 PM
 #7

It's well descibed here http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42
Quote
The PCI Express Card Electromechanical Specification describes five "presence detect" pins
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:42:14 PM
 #8

Yes, some motherboards will need two pins on the PCIe 1x slot "shorted" in order for it to detect that a card is present. On my particular machine it wouldn't even see the card until I shorted out those two pins... now it works like a champ!

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
HanSolo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


Don't everyone thank me at once.


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:46:25 PM
 #9

What jumper? What setting is this jumper supposed to control? And is the jumper on the video card or on the motherboard?

Sorry for my english, not a jumper.
A piece of wire/cable
This is what I was talking about http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1788271/pics/x16.jpg

Works fine.

Thanks. Just to be clear, you are referring to the PCIe extender in that picture? What is that white twistie-tie thing for, that's curving from the front of the PCIe slot to the back of it, and curves around two capacitors?

Looks like the twisty-tie is electrically connecting pin#81 of the B-side (2nd from bottom right in usual locking-clip-to-left orientation) to pin#1 of the A-side (top-left), and thus letting the motherboard know something is plugged in (without filling the whole x16 slot).

I'm basing this guess on the pinout information at:

http://pinouts.ru/Slots/pci_express_pinout.shtml

...where it also says, "Add on card needs to have PRSNT#1 connected to one of PRSNT#2 depending what type of connector is in use.". (For x16, PRSNT#1 is pin#1-side-A, and PRSNT#2 is pin#81-side-B.)

It might be a bad idea to connect these two before the x1 extender is in, because it could indicate a card was present when not. But maybe it's harmless; I really don't know.

Never tell me the odds. ⓑ 1J5wQvCz2mn3f4TxPFtExKs253GyeKKkBb
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:56:14 PM
 #10

It might be a bad idea to connect these two before the x1 extender is in, because it could indicate a card was present when not. But maybe it's harmless; I really don't know.

As long as the machine is off, and unplugged (and has been for some time) then it shouldn't make a difference.

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 12:00:38 AM
 #11

What about if the wire jumps off for any reason while the system is on? Just get a PCI-E 1x to 16x cable form ebay, it's around 6-9$ and it will save you potential problems.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!