Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:40:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MORE DDoS on Deepbit?  (Read 4415 times)
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:56:09 PM
 #1

I thought he had the problem fixed!  Apparently not.
1480963200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963200
Reply with quote  #2

1480963200
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
zerohour
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:57:32 PM
 #2

yep, just went down briefly a few minutes ago....

[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 10:58:29 PM
 #3

No DDoSes today.
Those two interruptions were caused by software bug and server restart.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:39:22 PM
 #4

I *just* tried starting up one of my miners, and here's the message I got:

[error] (ocl_bitcoin.c:318) Failure connecting and authenticating to server deepbit.net at port 8332!

Why are my other miners still connected, but my main rig can't connect? We're all on the same IP.

Also -- is it possible that I'm getting caught in some kind of anti-DDoS dragnet?

I have several miners here at my location -- is it possible I'm crossing some kind of limit of connections per IP? Did I get caught in some kind of flood control?

Thanks,

Matthew
fsasa70
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:43:04 PM
 #5

I *just* tried starting up one of my miners, and here's the message I got:

[error] (ocl_bitcoin.c:318) Failure connecting and authenticating to server deepbit.net at port 8332!

Why are my other miners still connected, but my main rig can't connect? We're all on the same IP.

Also -- is it possible that I'm getting caught in some kind of anti-DDoS dragnet?

I have several miners here at my location -- is it possible I'm crossing some kind of limit of connections per IP? Did I get caught in some kind of flood control?

Thanks,

Matthew


Am getting the same error for some of my cards. Know what the problem is?
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:51:32 PM
 #6

Slush's seems to be affected as well.

I think some script kiddies are throwing a tantrum; trying to drive miners away to "lower the difficulty" so they can make money. Idiots!
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:14:12 AM
 #7

Did anyone figure this out yet?
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 03:17:07 AM
 #8

Why are my other miners still connected, but my main rig can't connect? We're all on the same IP.
I have several miners here at my location -- is it possible I'm crossing some kind of limit of connections per IP? Did I get caught in some kind of flood control?
No, there is no limit unless you are using same worker credentials on more than 20 workers.

Can you try to ping pit.deepbit.net and tell me what IP address it shows ?

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
jme621
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 03:54:03 AM
 #9

Why are my other miners still connected, but my main rig can't connect? We're all on the same IP.
I have several miners here at my location -- is it possible I'm crossing some kind of limit of connections per IP? Did I get caught in some kind of flood control?
No, there is no limit unless you are using same worker credentials on more than 20 workers.

Can you try to ping pit.deepbit.net and tell me what IP address it shows ?

72.8.190.23

Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 03:59:34 AM
 #10

aisde posted above A v4 IP, 2nd resolved is 46.4.55.54 in my case.
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:09:04 PM
 #11

0 MHash/s     Switching back to http://f1.deepbit.net:8332
0 MHash/s     Couldn't connect to server
0 MHash/s     Couldn't connect to server
Switching to http://f2.deepbit.net:8332
0 MHash/s     Switching back to http://f1.deepbit.net:8332
0 MHash/s     Couldn't connect to server
0 MHash/s     Couldn't connect to server
Switching to http://f2.deepbit.net:8332

Is it possible I need to update my DNS cache?

Because my machine & Internet (router, etc.) has been on for a long time now.
pwnyboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:16:26 PM
 #12

I too have had massive problems with Deepbit over the last 24 hours, many miners die after a few minutes, some won't connect at all and are seemingly banned by IP.  I've switched those to Slush permanently; if I encounter any more issues in the short-term i'll just switch them all.
muyoso
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 12:41:00 AM
 #13

Sadly I too had to switch away from deepbit.  Too big of a pain constantly keeping an eye on the miners making sure that they haven't stalled because of connection issues requiring a manual restart.  Switched over to bitcoins.lc and in the last 24 hours have mined nearly 2 bitcoins vs the 1 bitcoin per day I could mine on deepbit.  Not regretting the switch at all now.  Also, no fees either on bitcoins.lc.  No where near as good of a website, but damn I can't argue with the results.

I drink it up!
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 01:00:04 AM
 #14

Sadly I too had to switch away from deepbit.  Too big of a pain constantly keeping an eye on the miners making sure that they haven't stalled because of connection issues requiring a manual restart.  Switched over to bitcoins.lc and in the last 24 hours have mined nearly 2 bitcoins vs the 1 bitcoin per day I could mine on deepbit.  Not regretting the switch at all now.  Also, no fees either on bitcoins.lc.  No where near as good of a website, but damn I can't argue with the results.
totally offtopic, but, YAY, less people in deepbit!

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Capitan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 01:50:14 AM
 #15

Sadly I too had to switch away from deepbit.  Too big of a pain constantly keeping an eye on the miners making sure that they haven't stalled because of connection issues requiring a manual restart.  Switched over to bitcoins.lc and in the last 24 hours have mined nearly 2 bitcoins vs the 1 bitcoin per day I could mine on deepbit.  Not regretting the switch at all now.  Also, no fees either on bitcoins.lc.  No where near as good of a website, but damn I can't argue with the results.

Which mining software stalls like this? Sounds like they need to be bug-fixed so they detect the "stalled" state and retry. A main thread spawns worker thread with a built in timeout setting, and if the worker thread hasn't done any work for more time than the timeout setting, kill it and restart it.
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 01:57:05 AM
 #16

hardly thats deepbit-specific.
but ironically, DDoS'ing anyone won't matter/help anyway, unless software become solo-mining-friendly and/or work at least[in that mode].
muyoso
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 02:30:08 AM
 #17

Sadly I too had to switch away from deepbit.  Too big of a pain constantly keeping an eye on the miners making sure that they haven't stalled because of connection issues requiring a manual restart.  Switched over to bitcoins.lc and in the last 24 hours have mined nearly 2 bitcoins vs the 1 bitcoin per day I could mine on deepbit.  Not regretting the switch at all now.  Also, no fees either on bitcoins.lc.  No where near as good of a website, but damn I can't argue with the results.

Which mining software stalls like this? Sounds like they need to be bug-fixed so they detect the "stalled" state and retry. A main thread spawns worker thread with a built in timeout setting, and if the worker thread hasn't done any work for more time than the timeout setting, kill it and restart it.

phoenix

I drink it up!
mrpetem
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 07:26:11 PM
 #18

I cant connect to slushes pool. It says the site was DDoSED and to look at the forum thread but I cant find it. Would be helpful if there was a link on the site to go to...

LudwigDG
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 07:58:55 PM
 #19

Well it seems clear that a lot of computer power is entering the network and a lot of pools are having problems.

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

Abraham Lincoln
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!