Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2018, 02:41:03 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: i need to buy S9 but i have a problem with PSU  (Read 2623 times)
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 03:35:23 PM
 #1

hi,

bitmain APW3-12-1600-B2 have this note (The PSU cannot be used in countries with a mains power voltage lower than 205V. The PSU will not start below this voltage. And power cord is not included, please find one with at least 16A from your local market.)

i have free electricity but its very bad which moving all the time between 185V to 220V ( using voltage stabilizer! )
without stabilizer it moving between 145V to 180V

now, what is the best solution for this situation
1540176063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540176063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540176063
Reply with quote  #2

1540176063
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540176063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540176063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540176063
Reply with quote  #2

1540176063
Report to moderator
1540176063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540176063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540176063
Reply with quote  #2

1540176063
Report to moderator
1540176063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540176063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540176063
Reply with quote  #2

1540176063
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1363


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 03:41:13 PM
 #2

hi,

bitmain APW3-12-1600-B2 have this note (The PSU cannot be used in countries with a mains power voltage lower than 205V. The PSU will not start below this voltage. And power cord is not included, please find one with at least 16A from your local market.)

i have free electricity but its very bad which moving all the time between 185V to 220V ( using voltage stabilizer! )
without stabilizer it moving between 145V to 180V

now, what is the best solution for this situation


A) tell us what country  So I can figure what psu will ship to you.

B) do not use the APW3-12-1600-B2

C) read  on underclock of the s-9

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1534854.0


D) if you are willing to run at an underclock  the s-9 at freq 462 uses 1080 watts at the wall and hashes close to 9.9th

E)  all of the above means the EVGA 1300 g2  a 1300 watt psu should do the job if you clock at freq 462  


  it uses 110 volts to 240 volts let me find the exact number make that 100 to 240 volts.


http://www.evga.com/Products/Product.aspx?pn=120-G2-1300-XR

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Erumara
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 100

I mine because math


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 03:43:12 PM
 #3

You may be stuck buying a 1600w PC PSU which will take 120-240v.
I can't say how well they will take constant voltage changes, but if it's within the range they will certainly work.
Look up an eVGA 1600w G2, they're around $360 USD.

Always hashing for the community. Oh, and dollars.
QuadrigaCX -Your North American Exchange- https://www.quadrigacx.com/?ref=h0een92jnww3mhxsekv3mqau -Get Verified Today!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1363


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 03:44:01 PM
 #4

You may be stuck buying a 1600w PC PSU which will take 120-240v.
I can't say how well they will take constant voltage changes, but if it's within the range they will certainly work.
Look up an eVGA 1600w G2, they're around $360 USD.

 my method of underclocking to freq 462 and buying the evga 1300 g2 is better


he saves 160 usd maybe more.   

he runs at 9.9 th vs 12.0 th

so he loses 2 th.

gear is much quieter much cooler

if it is hot desert he is well off.

2 th is going to earn 160 usd in about 7 months.   So he would be ahead of the game for the next 7 months. with the evga 1300 g2 and a downclock.

plus much much much much less noise.

and less heat

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
July 05, 2016, 03:55:52 PM
 #5

Don't buy a new miner only to under-clock it, you are essentially throwing money away if you don't gain any efficiency on it (which you can't unless you are able to provide lower than 12V through PSU)

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1363


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 03:59:19 PM
 #6

Don't buy a new miner only to under-clock it, you are essentially throwing money away if you don't gain any efficiency on it (which you can't unless you are able to provide lower than 12V through PSU)

no that is not always true.

i can show multiple cases where it is the correct solution.

this is one right here.

 the math favors him to buy the evga 1300g2 not the evga1600 g2

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
July 05, 2016, 04:09:29 PM
 #7

Don't buy a new miner only to under-clock it, you are essentially throwing money away if you don't gain any efficiency on it (which you can't unless you are able to provide lower than 12V through PSU)

no that is not always true.

i can show multiple cases where it is the correct solution.

this is one right here.

 the math favors him to buy the evga 1300g2 not the evga1600 g2

That only applies if you are factoring the PSU price into your ROI.  Depending on your long-term intentions, PSU's can be considered equity whose actual depreciation can be subsidized over multiple generations.  If you are in it for a long time, you don't need to pay off the PSU with one generation of miner.  By under-clocking your miner you are reducing it's value immediately, and have already lost money.  If all of what he said was true, he may be better off finding a hosting solution for the same price/kW as he pays for electricity and not have to worry about power woes or varying voltage.  Pretty much all hosting facilities have access to stable 200+V, which opens the door for WAY more cost-effective PSU's than the EVGA's by a huge factor.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 04:10:49 PM
 #8

they said (Power supply unit is not included. You will need an ATX PSU. There are 3 PCI-e connectors for +12V DC input on each hashing board and all 3 need to be connected to the PSU for the hashboard to operate. Do not connect more than one PSU to the same hashing board!)

i think about using 3 PSU (cooler master Extreme Power Plus 500W)
each one have 1 PCI-6
and i will use pci 4 to 6 adapter to get the other

what is your opinion ?



mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 04:21:57 PM
 #9

i have also HEC Cougar CMX 1000W PSU
so i can use 3 PSU to power 2 Antminer like here
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1165628.msg12876759#msg12876759
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 05, 2016, 04:24:37 PM
 #10

they said (Power supply unit is not included. You will need an ATX PSU. There are 3 PCI-e connectors for +12V DC input on each hashing board and all 3 need to be connected to the PSU for the hashboard to operate. Do not connect more than one PSU to the same hashing board!)

i think about using 3 PSU (cooler master Extreme Power Plus 500W)
each one have 1 PCI-6
and i will use pci 4 to 6 adapter to get the other

what is you opinion ?



Buy a quality PSU using 3 not so good ATX psu's... just is not way to go.  You are spending good money on a nice miner, getting a quality PSU is really something you should do with that.

Reading your first post the APW3 is not a option as it going under 205V it is not made to operate.  So what they recommend and I have been using is not a option for you.  Look up again at the nice EVGA's mentioned there is a reason why people are recommending good PSU's.  I personally would go for the 1600 and not underclock but that is just me.   The other is a option aswell.

But PSU's if you treat good you can use for multiple generations of miners, or sell just keep boxes and all your accessories.  I would not touch let those cheap PSU's you mention and adapters (which we don't know quality of as no link) touch a new S9.   Just wrong way to start mining with it.  
traxor
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 04:25:35 PM
 #11

I just bought the EVGA 1600 and it works fine -- already comes with all the cables necessary.

I did opt for the ATX 24 Pin bridge ($5) rather than using the paper clip method.


mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 04:43:34 PM
 #12

i have this power supply too
Cougar CMX1200 CGR B2-1200CM 1200W
it have 6 (PCI-E 6 pin) so it can power 2 boards

http://cougargaming.com/products/power_supplies/cougar_cmx_v3.html
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 04:50:44 PM
 #13

this is my best choice and available in our market ( Cooler Master V1000 / 1000W )
http://www.coolermaster.com/powersupply/v-series-psu/v1000/
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
July 05, 2016, 05:36:58 PM
 #14

they said (Power supply unit is not included. You will need an ATX PSU. There are 3 PCI-e connectors for +12V DC input on each hashing board and all 3 need to be connected to the PSU for the hashboard to operate. Do not connect more than one PSU to the same hashing board!)

i think about using 3 PSU (cooler master Extreme Power Plus 500W)
each one have 1 PCI-6
and i will use pci 4 to 6 adapter to get the other

what is your opinion ?

My opinion is, you get flaming cables and burned plugs .


this is my best choice and available in our market ( Cooler Master V1000 / 1000W )
http://www.coolermaster.com/powersupply/v-series-psu/v1000/

You still get burned plugs possble on both ends.  This is not a good PSU. I have used them a couple of pieces with EVGA G2 cables
which are directly tinned to PSU.  Then it is durable and reliable for 2x S7 blades.
But after all, you're not going to get a new PSU to replace the cables. I got mine used with  KNC Jupiters long time ago.

Read also this thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1540037.0

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 05, 2016, 07:01:42 PM
 #15

this is my best choice and available in our market ( Cooler Master V1000 / 1000W )
http://www.coolermaster.com/powersupply/v-series-psu/v1000/

Most likely you will need to order online on a PSU for a S7/S9.  It depends on your market some have great local store's.   But me personally I can order from newegg or amazon and get cheaper then local market and better quality.

You really need to get a quality PSU to go with your S9, I like the recommended APW3 but again with your voltage going up/down under 205V it's not a option. (Your voltage kinda scares me with such large varience, makes me wonder of quality of electricity).   But again look at the EVGA ones mentioned... don't go for these low quality PSU's. 

Ever since you mentioned 3 PSU (cooler master Extreme Power Plus 500W) + unknown quality adapters your PSU selecting has really scared me.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1363


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 07:15:33 PM
 #16

they said (Power supply unit is not included. You will need an ATX PSU. There are 3 PCI-e connectors for +12V DC input on each hashing board and all 3 need to be connected to the PSU for the hashboard to operate. Do not connect more than one PSU to the same hashing board!)

i think about using 3 PSU (cooler master Extreme Power Plus 500W)
each one have 1 PCI-6
and i will use pci 4 to 6 adapter to get the other

what is your opinion ?






obey me or die. this is a joke  Grin Grin

  All kidding aside    if you live in the usa and want to do that it would be really stupid cheap.

but since you said you have 140 to 180 volt power you don't live in the usa

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 08:27:49 PM
 #17

after reading many other experiences
i can power 2 Antminer with 3 PSU 1000W connected by (Add2PSU)
https://www.amazon.com/Add2PSU-Multiple-Power-Supply-Adapter/dp/B009P98Q8U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1467744817&sr=8-1&keywords=add2psu

many users here using CORSAIR RM1000
its same quality as cool master v1000
search in google (rm1000 vs v1000)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1363


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 09:44:21 PM
 #18

after reading many other experiences
i can power 2 Antminer with 3 PSU 1000W connected by (Add2PSU)
https://www.amazon.com/Add2PSU-Multiple-Power-Supply-Adapter/dp/B009P98Q8U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1467744817&sr=8-1&keywords=add2psu

many users here using CORSAIR RM1000
its same quality as cool master v1000
search in google (rm1000 vs v1000)

the rm1000 is a lot better quality  then the 500 watt unit you mentioned.

but getting 3 to run  2 s-9's and using the amazon part is not what I would do.

good luck.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 09:52:49 PM
 #19

after reading many other experiences
i can power 2 Antminer with 3 PSU 1000W connected by (Add2PSU)
https://www.amazon.com/Add2PSU-Multiple-Power-Supply-Adapter/dp/B009P98Q8U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1467744817&sr=8-1&keywords=add2psu

many users here using CORSAIR RM1000
its same quality as cool master v1000
search in google (rm1000 vs v1000)

the rm1000 is a lot better quality  then the 500 watt unit you mentioned.

but getting 3 to run  2 s-9's and using the amazon part is not what I would do.

good luck.

i talk about Cooler master V1000
its more efficiency
traxor
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 05, 2016, 09:57:03 PM
 #20

Hey Phillip...

I noticed your strong advocation for down clocking...

A little off topic for the thread -- but:

I live in an ungodly large home for just 2 people -- so the noise isn't even heard 99% of the time...

However, I am plugging in a 1600W PSU into just a regular outlet (20 Amp circuit) for my S9.  I've seen some of the awful pictures of other miners that burned -- Am I OK?  Or should I consider sliding the scale down just a bit...

I know it says that it pulls 1300W -- but every time I check the kilowatt meter, it was between 1138W and 1194W -- temps are fine (air conditioned environment)...

I know that you are an expert -- and reading your advice about down clocking kind of mentally set me back a bit...

I'd like to hash as much as possible -- without risk...

Thanks!!!

 Smiley Smiley Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!