Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 12:43:52 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Should i get APW3-12-1600 or other PSUs?  (Read 2968 times)
fusion0389
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 01:54:15 PM
 #41

I do understand that PDUs distributes power. But i suppose that we're good to go, since we installed 1 plug point for each miners. Isn't that so?

Why would we need PDUs, since we can just install one plug point per miner? Is there something im missing out?

It sounds like you are good to go for your current setup! The only reason you would need a PDU is if you want more miners and you dont have enough space in your main electrical panel to wire in another plug. Is that making a little bit more sense?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539780232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539780232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539780232
Reply with quote  #2

1539780232
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 02:48:18 PM
 #42

I do understand that PDUs distributes power. But i suppose that we're good to go, since we installed 1 plug point for each miners. Isn't that so?

Why would we need PDUs, since we can just install one plug point per miner? Is there something im missing out?


so  you want to do

30 amp
fuse  in box..................plug in wall..........plug in wall........... plug in wall......... plug in wall...........plug in wall.......plug in wall


correct?  so 3x 2 plug  receptacles  are 38 bucks

6 special power cables are 90 bucks  that is 128 dollars.

you need 3 wallplates and 3 boxes for the walls as I for one would not put all into a 3 gang box.  so 10 -15 more.

so 153 in parts.  no extra fuse protection offered by the pdu.

but i do not know full code for your area.



I am usa based    so   code for above  is this receptacle  wait for link

https://www.amazon.com/Leviton-5822-W-Receptacle-Commercial-Grounding/dp/B000U3I1S0

now see photo  below  12.72 for one  which does 2 plugs

if you do a 30 amp fuse at the box  and buy 3 of these  you could do 5 s-9's   at full speed   or 6 s-9's with a down clock.


https://www.amazon.com/NEMA-6-20P-C13-Power-Cord/dp/B004WJNVH4/ref=sr_1_1?








I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
MineRonny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 06:20:02 AM
 #43

I do understand that PDUs distributes power. But i suppose that we're good to go, since we installed 1 plug point for each miners. Isn't that so?

Why would we need PDUs, since we can just install one plug point per miner? Is there something im missing out?

It sounds like you are good to go for your current setup! The only reason you would need a PDU is if you want more miners and you dont have enough space in your main electrical panel to wire in another plug. Is that making a little bit more sense?

Thank you very much for the explaination!

I do understand that PDUs distributes power. But i suppose that we're good to go, since we installed 1 plug point for each miners. Isn't that so?

Why would we need PDUs, since we can just install one plug point per miner? Is there something im missing out?


so  you want to do

30 amp
fuse  in box..................plug in wall..........plug in wall........... plug in wall......... plug in wall...........plug in wall.......plug in wall


correct?  so 3x 2 plug  receptacles  are 38 bucks

6 special power cables are 90 bucks  that is 128 dollars.

you need 3 wallplates and 3 boxes for the walls as I for one would not put all into a 3 gang box.  so 10 -15 more.

so 153 in parts.  no extra fuse protection offered by the pdu.

but i do not know full code for your area.



I am usa based    so   code for above  is this receptacle  wait for link

https://www.amazon.com/Leviton-5822-W-Receptacle-Commercial-Grounding/dp/B000U3I1S0

now see photo  below  12.72 for one  which does 2 plugs

if you do a 30 amp fuse at the box  and buy 3 of these  you could do 5 s-9's   at full speed   or 6 s-9's with a down clock.


https://www.amazon.com/NEMA-6-20P-C13-Power-Cord/dp/B004WJNVH4/ref=sr_1_1?



http://i.imgur.com/VFftnsR.png


http://i.imgur.com/ZyNZhmX.png


Does that mean that PDUs is much more cost effective as compared to plugging it directly to the wall?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 10, 2016, 06:51:56 AM
 #44

Does that mean that PDUs is much more cost effective as compared to plugging it directly to the wall?

I think you are missing out on the reason for the PDU.  If you had a wall plug for each psu (with proper voltage and amps) you would not need a PDU.  This is more common in say 110-120 volt.   But a PDU allows you to take one big power source (via the outlet) and distribute it to many item's.   For example say you have 240 30 amp running to your miner's most likely you will need a PDU to take it from the outlet to your PSU's.

It's more about being a necessity in some setup's then the cost aspect.  But you could save money running 1 wire to it vs many lower volt/amp wires (but this could very).

I suggest reading post before:
....Better description then mine I think is here - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_distribution_unit
MineRonny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 04:13:34 AM
 #45

Does that mean that PDUs is much more cost effective as compared to plugging it directly to the wall?

I think you are missing out on the reason for the PDU.  If you had a wall plug for each psu (with proper voltage and amps) you would not need a PDU.  This is more common in say 110-120 volt.   But a PDU allows you to take one big power source (via the outlet) and distribute it to many item's.   For example say you have 240 30 amp running to your miner's most likely you will need a PDU to take it from the outlet to your PSU's.

It's more about being a necessity in some setup's then the cost aspect.  But you could save money running 1 wire to it vs many lower volt/amp wires (but this could very).

I suggest reading post before:
....Better description then mine I think is here - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_distribution_unit

I finally understand it now.. So it is much safe to be using a PDU as compared to running it from the outlet.

1. PDU offers extra protection
2. save cost as you would only require 1 outlet from wall as compared to lots of outlet installed.
fusion0389
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 12:37:12 PM
 #46

Quote

I finally understand it now.. So it is much safe to be using a PDU as compared to running it from the outlet.

1. PDU offers extra protection
2. save cost as you would only require 1 outlet from wall as compared to lots of outlet installed.

More or less, yes that is correct. If you plan correctly and get all the right equipment, you can safely plug multiple miners into one wall receptacle via a PDU. Keep in mind, the most important part of this whole thing is planning properly.

You need to know:
-amperage rating for your current electrical panel
-how many unused spaces in your electrical panel
-how many miners you want to add within the next 12-24 months

Once you have these facts laid out in front its easier to plan and easier to get usable advice.
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 04:32:52 PM
 #47

how much each hash board consume in S7 & S9 ?
S9 1200W for all controller and hash board
so how much I/O controller need from this 1200W
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!