Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2019, 10:21:57 AM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: s7 only mining at 3ths?  (Read 789 times)
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 04:43:09 AM
 #1

hello,

I have a pest s7 that has only been mining at 3.1ths. it is very hot though. Ive been having to shut some down during the days until next week when the outside temps cool down.

could the heat have damaged the machine? It is the 1 fan model. Anything I can try? Thanks.
1547720517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547720517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547720517
Reply with quote  #2

1547720517
Report to moderator
1547720517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547720517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547720517
Reply with quote  #2

1547720517
Report to moderator
1547720517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547720517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547720517
Reply with quote  #2

1547720517
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547720517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547720517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547720517
Reply with quote  #2

1547720517
Report to moderator
1547720517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547720517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547720517
Reply with quote  #2

1547720517
Report to moderator
1547720517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547720517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547720517
Reply with quote  #2

1547720517
Report to moderator
Gilligans
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 04:54:32 AM
 #2

Try putting ice blocks next to your machine with a fan directed at it. It'll help on cooling down your machine but it's not good for permanent use. You would ofcourse need to give your miner a rest.

Not sure about why it's only 3 th/s though.
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 05:19:33 AM
 #3

LOL is this some kind of joke?

BTW all of the asics are hasing. Just have no idea why so low. Temp is only showing 79 so not bad.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 05:24:43 AM
 #4

Weird. 3.1TH would be about right for having dropped one board; are all three reporting high temps or is one a lot colder than the others?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 05:24:50 AM
 #5

im wondering if overheating a few times a day for like a month a year will just wear out the machine. i hope not. if so i may have to shut the farm down during the days. its just too hot for the next week or two
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 05:26:28 AM
 #6

all three are showing mid 70's it literally just kicked over to 4.7 ths. i had a few power supplys fall and were hanging from the boards the toehr day (not good)

im wondering if a solder joint came lose. Not likely but possible.

Also did you know you can rent a nice car in cancun for just 1.92 cents a day Wink
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 05:26:59 AM
 #7

back down to 3.1 again Sad maybe because its the single fan model it just cant take the higher temps as well. I was thinking about building a few evap coolers out of 20" box fans for cheap like you see on youtube. Anyone done something like this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J_ubf0zqvSQ
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 06:23:24 AM
 #8

Weird. 3.1TH would be about right for having dropped one board; are all three reporting high temps or is one a lot colder than the others?

sorry to post so much guys. it does indeed look like a damaged board. The LED light that is red is not coming on all the way. Its very dim. Not sure what this means but on all the other machines all 3 boards have bright red LEDS.

I am guessing this is basically unfixable by me. Major crap/bummer.

If anyone know how i can fix lmk but pretty sure its impossible
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1475


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 01:05:19 PM
 #9

Weird. 3.1TH would be about right for having dropped one board; are all three reporting high temps or is one a lot colder than the others?

sorry to post so much guys. it does indeed look like a damaged board. The LED light that is red is not coming on all the way. Its very dim. Not sure what this means but on all the other machines all 3 boards have bright red LEDS.

I am guessing this is basically unfixable by me. Major crap/bummer.

If anyone know how i can fix lmk but pretty sure its impossible

Down clock it to freq 500. See what happens

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
IITravel01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 325
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 04:09:23 PM
 #10

At 3.1 TH/s it sounds like one of your boards isn't running in the S7.
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 06:17:07 PM
Last edit: July 30, 2016, 06:41:45 PM by ChineseSavior
 #11

Weird. 3.1TH would be about right for having dropped one board; are all three reporting high temps or is one a lot colder than the others?

sorry to post so much guys. it does indeed look like a damaged board. The LED light that is red is not coming on all the way. Its very dim. Not sure what this means but on all the other machines all 3 boards have bright red LEDS.

I am guessing this is basically unfixable by me. Major crap/bummer.

If anyone know how i can fix lmk but pretty sure its impossible

Down clock it to freq 500. See what happens

doing it now. Can you please message me back about the solar array sir? I would like to get one setup myself. I have heard there are all types of tricks to get big discounts. Let me know i look forward to us chatting

p.s. what exactly does frequency mean? Also @phillipma what does "i charge a monthly flat rate for my signature mean" ?

edit: i changed to 500 freq still hashing at 3.1-3.3 Sad im sad
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1475


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 07:55:32 PM
 #12

Weird. 3.1TH would be about right for having dropped one board; are all three reporting high temps or is one a lot colder than the others?

sorry to post so much guys. it does indeed look like a damaged board. The LED light that is red is not coming on all the way. Its very dim. Not sure what this means but on all the other machines all 3 boards have bright red LEDS.

I am guessing this is basically unfixable by me. Major crap/bummer.

If anyone know how i can fix lmk but pretty sure its impossible

Down clock it to freq 500. See what happens

doing it now. Can you please message me back about the solar array sir? I would like to get one setup myself. I have heard there are all types of tricks to get big discounts. Let me know i look forward to us chatting

p.s. what exactly does frequency mean? Also @phillipma what does "i charge a monthly flat rate for my signature mean" ?

edit: i changed to 500 freq still hashing at 3.1-3.3 Sad im sad

I am a habitual poster.  i.e. I post a lot

So rather then keep a post count for my signature I sell it for the same amount every month.
Everyone knows I post 300 to 700 times a month.  I did this since I have been here on the forum.  you can look back at all my posts and see I post.
You can also look at other sites and see I post a lot there.  I also feed back my btc from the signature money into my difficulty thread contests.

Yeah looks like you killed a board. on that s-7

as for the solar array you told me in a pm you have very cheap power  so what state are you in and what is your power cost?

in some states solar power is not worth doing.  the rebates are poor and if you pay under 8 cents for power already the switch is not worth it.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 09:53:55 PM
 #13

I pay about 0.025 cents. Id rather not say my location. Im sure some people here know. Anyway. Its not really beneficial for me to have an array that much. Hosting some equipment would help pay it down. I just want it there for fun and also some shade.

I thought there are ways to get very cheap setups now. Somehow they subsidize it through the govs? IDK much about it. If its not possible obv im not interested in paying that much.


I still do not understand what you mean by charging for your signature? Are you saying you charge to post on sites?
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1166


bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 09:59:32 PM
 #14

I pay about 0.025 cents. Id rather not say my location. Im sure some people here know. Anyway. Its not really beneficial for me to have an array that much. Hosting some equipment would help pay it down. I just want it there for fun and also some shade.

I thought there are ways to get very cheap setups now. Somehow they subsidize it through the govs? IDK much about it. If its not possible obv im not interested in paying that much.


I still do not understand what you mean by charging for your signature? Are you saying you charge to post on sites?

There's several causes to this roblem.
1. probably easy to fix - a broken hashing board - you can order a new one of these fromBitmaintech.
2. harder to fix - it could be that if you have overclocked it and not regularly checked the clock seed or have used it for a long period of time (say more than 3 months uptime) you may ave exhaused and need to replace all three in order to fix the roblem

If the first is true you'll see one board is not transmitting information on the GUI, is colder than the others... (you can look for moe diagnosics online if necessary in order to check this).

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1475


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 10:39:42 PM
 #15

I pay about 0.025 cents. Id rather not say my location. Im sure some people here know. Anyway. Its not really beneficial for me to have an array that much. Hosting some equipment would help pay it down. I just want it there for fun and also some shade.

I thought there are ways to get very cheap setups now. Somehow they subsidize it through the govs? IDK much about it. If its not possible obv im not interested in paying that much.


I still do not understand what you mean by charging for your signature? Are you saying you charge to post on sites?

yes I am in New Jersey , Usa and it has a very good subsidy

some states are very bad   >>>> Wisconsion  does not help you if you go solar
some states are very good  >>>> New Jersey is very good.


if you are at that price 2.5 cents  solar will more.

Here is the signature that pays me monthly

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=877765.0

this is for this site. I am paid a monthly flat rate from him.

Click on the blue advertisement below my post :   CoinsBank is the company.

I use that payment to run a give-away

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1557126.0  

I have been giving away btc for more then a year. I run a new thread every diff adjustment

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 10:43:39 PM
 #16

I pay about 0.025 cents. Id rather not say my location. Im sure some people here know. Anyway. Its not really beneficial for me to have an array that much. Hosting some equipment would help pay it down. I just want it there for fun and also some shade.

I thought there are ways to get very cheap setups now. Somehow they subsidize it through the govs? IDK much about it. If its not possible obv im not interested in paying that much.


I still do not understand what you mean by charging for your signature? Are you saying you charge to post on sites?

There's several causes to this roblem.
1. probably easy to fix - a broken hashing board - you can order a new one of these fromBitmaintech.
2. harder to fix - it could be that if you have overclocked it and not regularly checked the clock seed or have used it for a long period of time (say more than 3 months uptime) you may ave exhaused and need to replace all three in order to fix the roblem

If the first is true you'll see one board is not transmitting information on the GUI, is colder than the others... (you can look for moe diagnosics online if necessary in order to check this).

do you have to email them for a new hashing board? Is it even worth it given the price / shipping offset to replace?

is the equipment really only running for 3 months before frying? Thats a little scary
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1475


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 10:47:36 PM
 #17

I pay about 0.025 cents. Id rather not say my location. Im sure some people here know. Anyway. Its not really beneficial for me to have an array that much. Hosting some equipment would help pay it down. I just want it there for fun and also some shade.

I thought there are ways to get very cheap setups now. Somehow they subsidize it through the govs? IDK much about it. If its not possible obv im not interested in paying that much.


I still do not understand what you mean by charging for your signature? Are you saying you charge to post on sites?

There's several causes to this roblem.
1. probably easy to fix - a broken hashing board - you can order a new one of these fromBitmaintech.
2. harder to fix - it could be that if you have overclocked it and not regularly checked the clock seed or have used it for a long period of time (say more than 3 months uptime) you may ave exhaused and need to replace all three in order to fix the roblem

If the first is true you'll see one board is not transmitting information on the GUI, is colder than the others... (you can look for moe diagnosics online if necessary in order to check this).

do you have to email them for a new hashing board? Is it even worth it given the price / shipping offset to replace?

is the equipment really only running for 3 months before frying? Thats a little scary

if you ran it at full speed in 95f /35c temps I consider it  not unusual

 if you overclocked it to freq 725  in a 95f-35c room it is pretty much normal

how hot is it where you are mining?

you mention it overheated 3 times  so what is it you expect?  

suggestion down clock every miner you have from 700 to 675 or 700 to 650
 do not fall for the thinking that mining is a race to the bottom.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1166


bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 11:00:07 PM
 #18

I pay about 0.025 cents. Id rather not say my location. Im sure some people here know. Anyway. Its not really beneficial for me to have an array that much. Hosting some equipment would help pay it down. I just want it there for fun and also some shade.

I thought there are ways to get very cheap setups now. Somehow they subsidize it through the govs? IDK much about it. If its not possible obv im not interested in paying that much.


I still do not understand what you mean by charging for your signature? Are you saying you charge to post on sites?

There's several causes to this roblem.
1. probably easy to fix - a broken hashing board - you can order a new one of these fromBitmaintech.
2. harder to fix - it could be that if you have overclocked it and not regularly checked the clock seed or have used it for a long period of time (say more than 3 months uptime) you may ave exhaused and need to replace all three in order to fix the roblem

If the first is true you'll see one board is not transmitting information on the GUI, is colder than the others... (you can look for moe diagnosics online if necessary in order to check this).

do you have to email them for a new hashing board? Is it even worth it given the price / shipping offset to replace?

is the equipment really only running for 3 months before frying? Thats a little scary

Oh, that's interesting... They used to be listed on their site.
Anyway, you can either contract their support for a new hashing board or look for someone like sidehack to sell you one as bitmain used to sell those parts. You may be able to find a hashing board from somewhere like ebay and get cheap shipping on that.

ChineseSavior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 31, 2016, 12:09:12 AM
 #19

Its right about 100 in the day. This is the last day of the heat according to the weather. It should be 100 from now on no more.

Too hot i know. I have been debating building an evap went to home depot a few mins ago what a joke. dont even have anything i really need except wood and pvc. rest i will have to get shipped of scamazon
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!