Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2018, 06:06:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Butterfly Labs Delaying to mine?  (Read 495 times)
Cryptlexity
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 07:53:49 PM
 #1

I was wondering if anyone else was suspecting that Butterfly Labs is mining and delaying customer orders? The massive spike in difficulty is suspicions, and I don't think people would suddenly start buying tons of gpus when asics are supposedly just around the corner. It could be spike in price caused a lot of people to bring their rigs out of retirement, that doesn't seem reasonable since the hashrate is higher then it was it the past. What do you think?

FreeBitsDaily (http://freebitsdaily.com)
1524334016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334016
Reply with quote  #2

1524334016
Report to moderator
1524334016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334016
Reply with quote  #2

1524334016
Report to moderator
1524334016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334016
Reply with quote  #2

1524334016
Report to moderator
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
muubam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 07:57:43 PM
 #2

I'm not going to speculate as to the recent prices of BTC, but I do know they can't use consumer goods before use, unless they're planning on just mining and cancelling all the orders lol
dgray9000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 07:58:23 PM
 #3

Cause...you know... avalon asics couldn't cause any of that, nope.
Cryptlexity
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 08:04:41 PM
 #4

http://launch.avalon-asics.com/
The network should have only increased around 18000 g/hash since they shipped only 300 units. Would they be running a hundreds of units for themselves?
http://bitcoin.sipa.be/
Says the network has almost more then doubled since the new year.

FreeBitsDaily (http://freebitsdaily.com)
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 08:09:35 PM
 #5

I'm in the probably camp, if you look at their Eclipse MC pool you see 1000MH/s spikes around the time they were putting in the new chips in the test unit.

Cryptlexity
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 08:14:57 PM
 #6

It would be the greatest scam ever,
1. Use customer money to fund expensive ASIC R&D
2. Finish ASIC use to mine, keep delaying sales wait for everyone to refund,
3. Use mining to pay refunds, profit!

They essentially used customers money as a very cheap pretty much free loan.

FreeBitsDaily (http://freebitsdaily.com)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!