Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2017, 04:09:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 support 2 GPU?  (Read 2216 times)
goldbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:07:39 PM
 #1

A newbie question.

My Mobo is Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 running a sapphire 6870.

From the manual:

1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16) 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4) Note: The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable


I am a little confused. Will this motherboard allow me to add one more GPU for mining?

Thanks in advance!

19pTRoTFAcQ2PVBPrqVoWGy7RczDNhTygN
1506139740
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506139740

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506139740
Reply with quote  #2

1506139740
Report to moderator
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BTCPrizes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:12:08 PM
 #2

It looks and sounds as this board has 2 PCI-e slots? From what I've gathered you have 1 card in it now?

You should be able to fit 2 as long as they physically fit!

Confirm that you have 2 identical PCI-e slots and you're good to go.
goldbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:23:40 PM
 #3

It looks and sounds as this board has 2 PCI-e slots? From what I've gathered you have 1 card in it now?

You should be able to fit 2 as long as they physically fit!

Confirm that you have 2 identical PCI-e slots and you're good to go.

Thanks for your reply.

Yes. I only have 1 card now.

The part I am confused is that it says 1 PCI-e 16x, and the other PCI-e is 4x.

What is the difference between PCI-e 16x and PCI-e 4x?

Sorry for newbie question

19pTRoTFAcQ2PVBPrqVoWGy7RczDNhTygN
emugoo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:32:10 PM
 #4

you munged up the specs, so i looked it up:

1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4) (Note 3)
2 x PCI Express x1 slots (The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot.) (Note 3)
      (All PCI Express slots conform to the PCI Express 2.0 standard.)
3 x PCI slots

(Note 3) The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable.

It sounds as if you'd be restricted to 4x on the second slot. Also, you should not have anything on the smaller "pci-x 1" slots, because those will not work at all when using slot 1 and 2. unless you added a wifi or tv decoder card to the 1x pci-x slots, then that should not concern you.

No idea how the 4x speed changes the mining behaviour tho. Does mining need a lot of i/o bandwidth? If yes, then you could be restricted by the reduced speed, if not, then go ahead.
goldbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:48:50 PM
 #5

you munged up the specs, so i looked it up:

1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4) (Note 3)
2 x PCI Express x1 slots (The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot.) (Note 3)
      (All PCI Express slots conform to the PCI Express 2.0 standard.)
3 x PCI slots

(Note 3) The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable.

It sounds as if you'd be restricted to 4x on the second slot. Also, you should not have anything on the smaller "pci-x 1" slots, because those will not work at all when using slot 1 and 2. unless you added a wifi or tv decoder card to the 1x pci-x slots, then that should not concern you.

No idea how the 4x speed changes the mining behaviour tho. Does mining need a lot of i/o bandwidth? If yes, then you could be restricted by the reduced speed, if not, then go ahead.

I plan to run 2 x HD 6870 (add one more) on this machine. I wonder what will be speed of the 2nd card if it is plugged into the PCIEX4 slot.

19pTRoTFAcQ2PVBPrqVoWGy7RczDNhTygN
BiafraRepublic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 01:52:21 AM
 #6

Generally speaking, the perceived speed on the card in the PCIeX16 slot running at x4 would be one-fourth of normal due to the reduced throughput.

Obligatory bitcoin whoring: 1JTWNmDdDLoTMBz88AkfDBmEn7XQsYCrnZ
PGP KEY (http://pgp.mit.edu:11371/pks/lookup?op=get&search=0x99BB249DF660C6F6) and Web of Trust Rating (http://www.bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=Biafra&sign=ANY&type=RECV)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!