Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 04:02:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 support 2 GPU?  (Read 1906 times)
goldbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:07:39 PM
 #1

A newbie question.

My Mobo is Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 running a sapphire 6870.

From the manual:

1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16) 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4) Note: The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable


I am a little confused. Will this motherboard allow me to add one more GPU for mining?

Thanks in advance!

19pTRoTFAcQ2PVBPrqVoWGy7RczDNhTygN
1481256176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256176
Reply with quote  #2

1481256176
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481256176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256176
Reply with quote  #2

1481256176
Report to moderator
1481256176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256176
Reply with quote  #2

1481256176
Report to moderator
BTCPrizes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 04:12:08 PM
 #2

It looks and sounds as this board has 2 PCI-e slots? From what I've gathered you have 1 card in it now?

You should be able to fit 2 as long as they physically fit!

Confirm that you have 2 identical PCI-e slots and you're good to go.

btcprizes.com  - free bitcoins.
goldbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:23:40 PM
 #3

It looks and sounds as this board has 2 PCI-e slots? From what I've gathered you have 1 card in it now?

You should be able to fit 2 as long as they physically fit!

Confirm that you have 2 identical PCI-e slots and you're good to go.

Thanks for your reply.

Yes. I only have 1 card now.

The part I am confused is that it says 1 PCI-e 16x, and the other PCI-e is 4x.

What is the difference between PCI-e 16x and PCI-e 4x?

Sorry for newbie question

19pTRoTFAcQ2PVBPrqVoWGy7RczDNhTygN
emugoo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:32:10 PM
 #4

you munged up the specs, so i looked it up:

1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4) (Note 3)
2 x PCI Express x1 slots (The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot.) (Note 3)
      (All PCI Express slots conform to the PCI Express 2.0 standard.)
3 x PCI slots

(Note 3) The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable.

It sounds as if you'd be restricted to 4x on the second slot. Also, you should not have anything on the smaller "pci-x 1" slots, because those will not work at all when using slot 1 and 2. unless you added a wifi or tv decoder card to the 1x pci-x slots, then that should not concern you.

No idea how the 4x speed changes the mining behaviour tho. Does mining need a lot of i/o bandwidth? If yes, then you could be restricted by the reduced speed, if not, then go ahead.
goldbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:48:50 PM
 #5

you munged up the specs, so i looked it up:

1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4) (Note 3)
2 x PCI Express x1 slots (The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot.) (Note 3)
      (All PCI Express slots conform to the PCI Express 2.0 standard.)
3 x PCI slots

(Note 3) The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable.

It sounds as if you'd be restricted to 4x on the second slot. Also, you should not have anything on the smaller "pci-x 1" slots, because those will not work at all when using slot 1 and 2. unless you added a wifi or tv decoder card to the 1x pci-x slots, then that should not concern you.

No idea how the 4x speed changes the mining behaviour tho. Does mining need a lot of i/o bandwidth? If yes, then you could be restricted by the reduced speed, if not, then go ahead.

I plan to run 2 x HD 6870 (add one more) on this machine. I wonder what will be speed of the 2nd card if it is plugged into the PCIEX4 slot.

19pTRoTFAcQ2PVBPrqVoWGy7RczDNhTygN
BiafraRepublic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 01:52:21 AM
 #6

Generally speaking, the perceived speed on the card in the PCIeX16 slot running at x4 would be one-fourth of normal due to the reduced throughput.

Obligatory bitcoin whoring: 1JTWNmDdDLoTMBz88AkfDBmEn7XQsYCrnZ
PGP KEY (http://pgp.mit.edu:11371/pks/lookup?op=get&search=0x99BB249DF660C6F6) and Web of Trust Rating (http://www.bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=Biafra&sign=ANY&type=RECV)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!