Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:29:04 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux+HD5830: Underclocking below aticonfig limit without BIOS flashing?  (Read 2633 times)
xor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


Freenet developer


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:48:56 PM
 #1

Hi,
is there a way of downclocking a HD5830's memory below the limit of 900Mhz of aticonfig?
Someone told me this is possible on Windows so I'm assuming that it should theoretically also be possible on Linux.
I'm on Ubuntu 11.04 64bit with the properitary ATI drivers of the Ubuntu repository (the ones you can install with jockey) & Stream SDK 2.1

Thanks

Developer of the Freetalk & Web Of Trust subprojects of Freenet - http://freenetproject.org
Freenet flog: USK@QeTBVWTwBldfI-lrF~xf0nqFVDdQoSUghT~PvhyJ1NE,OjEywGD063La2H-IihD7iYtZm3rC0BP6UTvvwyF5Zh4,AQACAAE/flog/12/
Bitcoin: 16CBmnNghHGJJ5T6DSUmNWxLhg97GDt7iU
1480904944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904944
Reply with quote  #2

1480904944
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480904944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904944
Reply with quote  #2

1480904944
Report to moderator
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:03:45 PM
 #2


Get AMDOverDriveCtrl and see if it will let you go below the floor set by default.

In my experience, on 5830s and 5870s, it will allow you to set a memory clock as low as 150.  No flashing, etc, required.

hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:19:08 PM
 #3


Get AMDOverDriveCtrl and see if it will let you go below the floor set by default.

In my experience, on 5830s and 5870s, it will allow you to set a memory clock as low as 150.  No flashing, etc, required.

Do you know how to measure the consumption of the cards in Linux? I tried radeonvolt, but it does not work on my 5870 card.
xor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


Freenet developer


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:26:20 PM
 #4

Get AMDOverDriveCtrl and see if it will let you go below the floor set by default.

In my experience, on 5830s and 5870s, it will allow you to set a memory clock as low as 150.  No flashing, etc, required.
Works! Memory now running at 300Mhz which decreased the temperature quite a few degrees and allowed me to slow down the fan.
Also the fan-control by specifying a speed graph is a nice feature of it.
Very nice, thanks.

Doesn't allow to overclock above 875MHz though - this is the default limit of the amdcontrol tool. Is there also a way to overclock beyond that without flashing the BIOS?  Grin

Developer of the Freetalk & Web Of Trust subprojects of Freenet - http://freenetproject.org
Freenet flog: USK@QeTBVWTwBldfI-lrF~xf0nqFVDdQoSUghT~PvhyJ1NE,OjEywGD063La2H-IihD7iYtZm3rC0BP6UTvvwyF5Zh4,AQACAAE/flog/12/
Bitcoin: 16CBmnNghHGJJ5T6DSUmNWxLhg97GDt7iU
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 12:18:19 AM
 #5


Get AMDOverDriveCtrl and see if it will let you go below the floor set by default.

In my experience, on 5830s and 5870s, it will allow you to set a memory clock as low as 150.  No flashing, etc, required.

Do you know how to measure the consumption of the cards in Linux? I tried radeonvolt, but it does not work on my 5870 card.

I'm not sure what you mean...?  AMDOverDriveCtrl will show you the current voltage, but it won't show you any sort of power consumption or separate voltages for GPU and Memory.

Get AMDOverDriveCtrl and see if it will let you go below the floor set by default.

In my experience, on 5830s and 5870s, it will allow you to set a memory clock as low as 150.  No flashing, etc, required.
Works! Memory now running at 300Mhz which decreased the temperature quite a few degrees and allowed me to slow down the fan.
Also the fan-control by specifying a speed graph is a nice feature of it.
Very nice, thanks.

Doesn't allow to overclock above 875MHz though - this is the default limit of the amdcontrol tool. Is there also a way to overclock beyond that without flashing the BIOS?  Grin

Whatever is reported back from the card as the ceiling is what AMDOverDriveCtrl uses, I think.  You'll need to flash to go higher.

hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 03:58:27 AM
 #6

I'm not sure what you mean...?  AMDOverDriveCtrl will show you the current voltage, but it won't show you any sort of power consumption or separate voltages for GPU and Memory.

Yes, AMDOverdriveCtrl lets you see an set the voltage, but to know the consumpton of a card (and anything) you need the voltage and the current. I know some linux tools show the current and the rest of the temperature sensors. I would like to access that information in linux.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!