Bitcoin Forum
April 15, 2021, 02:25:44 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain Antminer R4  (Read 11370 times)
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1533


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2016, 10:38:53 AM
 #41

An official thread has been opened https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1597639.0

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 26, 2016, 07:23:30 PM
Last edit: August 29, 2016, 12:52:21 AM by Tupsu
 #42

Dear all,

None of the information published here or on other sources on the internet has been confirmed by us.

The links posted here seem to have been solely for the purpose of internal testing.

Please stay tuned for confirmed and accurate information from our official channels like the Bitmain blog (blog.bitmain.com/en), the Bitmain Facebook page, Twitter account or the Bitmain website.

Regards,

the Bitmain team


Bitmain  you are liar.


You posted this less as 24h later

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1597639.0

Bitmain may have changed their mind on releasing the R4 for sale and have now put up a blank page at https://enshop.bitmain.com/adv/antminer-r4-silent-bitcoin-miner.html where six hours ago a very polished website laid out all the specifications of the new home miner.

But, there is a cached copy of the website they took down at https://web.archive.org/web/20160826021158/https://enshop.bitmain.com/adv/antminer-r4-silent-bitcoin-miner.html

The time is right to give Bitmain real Trust Rating.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=156878

My negative rating stay, until Bitmain  does not delete negative trust against BitcoinNewsMagazine .


   Bitmain Has multiple forum accounts and posted invalid trust items against BitcoinNewsMagazine. Abuser forum Trust Rating system.

EDIT.

29.august.

Bitmain has removed his false accusation against BitcoinNewsMagazine .
Thus, a sign of good will, I will take back mynegative feedback.

QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1028


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 09:25:24 PM
 #43


Actually not bad price for plug-and-play all the way from 110v up to 240v.
But 7 pairs of PCIe, making only 14 total?

 Probably designed specifically to power a pair of R4 units - 1 PCI-E per hashboard, 6 hashboards + controller seems likely.


 While the ORDER page links seem to have been dropped or changed (perhaps posted in error), the PRODUCT link to the "comming August 29" page IS still up and active. Looks pretty "official" to me.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Cast12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 251


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 09:44:27 PM
 #44

Dear all,

None of the information published here or on other sources on the internet has been confirmed by us.

The links posted here seem to have been solely for the purpose of internal testing.

Please stay tuned for confirmed and accurate information from our official channels like the Bitmain blog (blog.bitmain.com/en), the Bitmain Facebook page, Twitter account or the Bitmain website.

Regards,

the Bitmain team


Bitmain  you are liar.


You posted this less as 24h later

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1597639.0

Bitmain may have changed their mind on releasing the R4 for sale and have now put up a blank page at https://enshop.bitmain.com/adv/antminer-r4-silent-bitcoin-miner.html where six hours ago a very polished website laid out all the specifications of the new home miner.

But, there is a cached copy of the website they took down at https://web.archive.org/web/20160826021158/https://enshop.bitmain.com/adv/antminer-r4-silent-bitcoin-miner.html

The time is right to give Bitmain real Trust Rating.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=156878

My negative rating stay, until Bitmain  does not delete negative trust against BitcoinNewsMagazine .


   Bitmain Has multiple forum accounts and posted invalid trust items against BitcoinNewsMagazine. Abuser forum Trust Rating system.
Do you have proof that bitmain has alt accounts? If you do, you should post them here.
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 26, 2016, 09:58:45 PM
Last edit: August 26, 2016, 10:42:51 PM by Tupsu
 #45


Do you have proof that bitmain has alt accounts? If you do, you should post them here.

All of these were new users in one day
Date Registered : 2014-11-14 for all thiese acounts
All  are Bitmain employees

BITMAIN_LCXU  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394828
BITMAIN_KTZHAN  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394830
BITMAIN_XLXUE https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394832
BITMAIN_JLXUE https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394833
BITMAIN_Janet https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394834
BITMAIN_Kiddy https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394836
BITMAIN_YHQIN  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394837
BITMAIN_Rob https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=394838


Date Registered : 2015-05-05
Bitmain_Sherry https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=510894
Date Registered : 2015-09-16
BITMAIN_Lunna https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=555187
Date Registered : 2016-08-22
Barbara at Bitmain  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=891254


tothemoonsands
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 965
Merit: 613


friendsofsatoshi.com


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 05:22:15 AM
 #46

I have a few questions...I'm considering getting the R4 and it would be my first home rig. Are all the cables included or what else is needed beside the PSU and R4 itself? Will any standard 110v jack really support it?

Searing
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1422


Clueless!


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 06:02:30 AM
 #47

I have a few questions...I'm considering getting the R4 and it would be my first home rig. Are all the cables included or what else is needed beside the PSU and R4 itself? Will any standard 110v jack really support it?

make a 110v line into 220v is my advice ...check out youtube it is easy to do with just a 220 plug at one end and the 220 double breaker at the other. It involves no wire pulls
you just tape the neutral with black tape at both ends and use it with the standard black for the 220 breaker....and ground...no neutral reguired.

Anyway youtube videos should clear up such a switch on how to make a new circuit (with 20 amp 12-2 wire) and or mod an old one to 220v.

Others on here can offer other advice on specific miner setup or further links to my stuff above

reason for 220v is more efficient


Old Style Legacy Plug & Play BBS System. Get it from www.synchro.net. Updated 1/1/19. It also works with Windows 10 and allows 16 bit DOS game doors on the same Win 10 Machine! Five Minute Install! Look it over uninstalls just as fast! Freeware! Full BBS System! It is a frigging hoot!:)
tbonetony
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443
Merit: 250


No zuo no die why you try, u zuo u die dont be shy


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 06:12:18 AM
 #48

Can you share a link to the youtube video? I found a bunch but they didn't seem to show details...

Customizable full-featured crypto trading platform in development. Asking for demo if interested.







I offer private S9 rental for various length: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1708351.0
Searing
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1422


Clueless!


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 06:37:49 AM
 #49

Can you share a link to the youtube video? I found a bunch but they didn't seem to show details...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMgwZDtR4tw

hopefully this is on topic on how to convert for an R4 for use with a NEW 220v outlet above

IF you just want to convert a 110v outlet..make sure you have 2 spaces (you take out the single 110v breaker and make sure you have one more space in panel) you then put
in a 220v double pole breaker (ask home depot guy bring old 110v single slot breaker to get the right model) and put your preferred type of 220v plug (you can also ask home
depot guy his preference) find a proper psu cord for that wall outlet to your switching PSU (the new ones switch from 110 to 220 auto mode sense I assume this bitmain one
does as well) ...and again you simply put black tape on the neutral both ends (making it black a power lead of 110v) and use the current black (other 110v) and the ground
at both ends and the outlet...

and you should be good....any other questions PM me...we will wrap it up off this thread I assume we are still on topic due to others may also want 220v instead of 110v
for these units and the above is an easy fix.

You also have to make sure that the ONLY thing on this line you are gonna convert ONLY has the ONE outlet on  it....or ALL the outlets on  this circuit (lights won't work for this) will
have to be 220v outlet change..this is for a conversion of an existing 110v line to 220v outlet.

again running a single line  NEW from panel to the outlet is specific to the link above and is what I would recommend even if you have to fish some wire around the house.

anyway ....if you are gonna run this R4 beast imho 220v is the ONLY way to go....no way do you want it to run on 110v even if it works ..others can get into the detail
on why that is so on here or to you via pm. Also having an electrician do it is probably the wise choice on either a new line or a conversion....BTC is gonna go to 1000 usd
after you get your R4 right Smiley So you can afford it! Smiley After you have this done or do it probably not a bad idea to have it and the house inspected and signed off on all this
electrical stuff anyway....they also have whole house surge protectors ..(which I should probably do) ...anyway whatever way you go you want these R4's at 220v imho.


Old Style Legacy Plug & Play BBS System. Get it from www.synchro.net. Updated 1/1/19. It also works with Windows 10 and allows 16 bit DOS game doors on the same Win 10 Machine! Five Minute Install! Look it over uninstalls just as fast! Freeware! Full BBS System! It is a frigging hoot!:)
shmadz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000


@theshmadz


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 02:42:36 PM
 #50

Ugh,  23:00 (GMT+8)  ... So that's what? 07:00 GMT? Or is it 15:00 GMT? Which then converts to what? Is that 7 AM Pacific time? But no, I need to add or subtract an hour for daylight savings¿ And which day? Aren't they a day ahead? So confused Huh

Best guess is these will go on sale on Monday morning at 9 AM mountain time.

Does that sound right?

"You have no moral right to rule us, nor do you possess any methods of enforcement that we have reason to fear." - John Perry Barlow, 1996
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1820



View Profile
August 27, 2016, 05:47:55 PM
 #51

Ugh,  23:00 (GMT+8)  ... So that's what? 07:00 GMT? Or is it 15:00 GMT? Which then converts to what? Is that 7 AM Pacific time? But no, I need to add or subtract an hour for daylight savings¿ And which day? Aren't they a day ahead? So confused Huh

Best guess is these will go on sale on Monday morning at 9 AM mountain time.

Does that sound right?

yeah, 9am mountain on Monday, but they never actually stick to the schedule.
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1500
Merit: 1000


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:40:22 PM
 #52

new fan design seems to be more efficient & quiter, kudos to that but here are my thoughts on the R4

1. there ain't gonna be any easy find for the FAN if it breaks down = DOWNTIME !
2. the heatsinks are in a 90 degree orientation so you can only run R4 blades
3. this thing looks WIDE, hence taking up rack space & NON stack-able but imo with a little creativity & simple mod/add on should solve that problem
4. still the same 3 x PCIE jacks for each blade but the orientation does NOT allow for wiring management say if you purchase 2 x R4 with the new PSU but on the new PSU i think I see ONLY 7 PCIE & not 14 of them, well I could be wrong though & it will be most likely to be 18 AWG sizes.

let's see when it launches & my guess was REALLY close with BMT pricing it around 1.7 btc ish range, the PSU is nice for newbies but for the hardcore diy'ers out there, there are alot more options & much cheaper PSU with the same power or more.

will the S9 prices drop after the R4 launch, i'd say NO !

atm, it's difficult for me to purchase the R4 atm UNLESS there are readily available parts with reasonable pricing or any other aftermarkets. The ONLY PROS on the R4 would be most likely cooler chips & quieter miner but i'd still go for the 11.85 ths S9 as i think the EOL will last longer than the R4 & the pricing per ths should be more or less the same & the S9 have some available aftermarket parts readily available.

just my 2 cents.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1820



View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:59:55 PM
 #53

new fan design seems to be more efficient & quiter, kudos to that but here are my thoughts on the R4

1. there ain't gonna be any easy find for the FAN if it breaks down = DOWNTIME !
2. the heatsinks are in a 90 degree orientation so you can only run R4 blades
3. this thing looks WIDE, hence taking up rack space & NON stack-able but imo with a little creativity & simple mod/add on should solve that problem
4. still the same 3 x PCIE jacks for each blade but the orientation does NOT allow for wiring management say if you purchase 2 x R4 with the new PSU but on the new PSU i think I see ONLY 7 PCIE & not 14 of them, well I could be wrong though & it will be most likely to be 18 AWG sizes.

let's see when it launches & my guess was REALLY close with BMT pricing it around 1.7 btc ish range, the PSU is nice for newbies but for the hardcore diy'ers out there, there are alot more options & much cheaper PSU with the same power or more.

will the S9 prices drop after the R4 launch, i'd say NO !

atm, it's difficult for me to purchase the R4 atm UNLESS there are readily available parts with reasonable pricing or any other aftermarkets. The ONLY PROS on the R4 would be most likely cooler chips & quieter miner but i'd still go for the 11.85 ths S9 as i think the EOL will last longer than the R4 & the pricing per ths should be more or less the same & the S9 have some available aftermarket parts readily available.

just my 2 cents.


All solid points, but let's see price and WARRANTY. A consumer item should have warranty of 1 year minimum.
Prediction: they will price it too high, but will relatively quickly drop it once A7 shows up.
In fact, perhaps A7 is also consumer oriented and they are trying to preempt it. We shall see.
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1500
Merit: 1000


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 09:47:28 PM
 #54

new fan design seems to be more efficient & quiter, kudos to that but here are my thoughts on the R4

1. there ain't gonna be any easy find for the FAN if it breaks down = DOWNTIME !
2. the heatsinks are in a 90 degree orientation so you can only run R4 blades
3. this thing looks WIDE, hence taking up rack space & NON stack-able but imo with a little creativity & simple mod/add on should solve that problem
4. still the same 3 x PCIE jacks for each blade but the orientation does NOT allow for wiring management say if you purchase 2 x R4 with the new PSU but on the new PSU i think I see ONLY 7 PCIE & not 14 of them, well I could be wrong though & it will be most likely to be 18 AWG sizes.

let's see when it launches & my guess was REALLY close with BMT pricing it around 1.7 btc ish range, the PSU is nice for newbies but for the hardcore diy'ers out there, there are alot more options & much cheaper PSU with the same power or more.

will the S9 prices drop after the R4 launch, i'd say NO !

atm, it's difficult for me to purchase the R4 atm UNLESS there are readily available parts with reasonable pricing or any other aftermarkets. The ONLY PROS on the R4 would be most likely cooler chips & quieter miner but i'd still go for the 11.85 ths S9 as i think the EOL will last longer than the R4 & the pricing per ths should be more or less the same & the S9 have some available aftermarket parts readily available.

just my 2 cents.


All solid points, but let's see price and WARRANTY. A consumer item should have warranty of 1 year minimum.
Prediction: they will price it too high, but will relatively quickly drop it once A7 shows up.
In fact, perhaps A7 is also consumer oriented and they are trying to preempt it. We shall see.

sadly :

NO way it's gonna be a 1 year warranty
YES the price will be HIGH & NO the price will NOT quickly drop
A7 price or Avalon prices are ALWAYS a tad more than BMT prices sadly

in other words be prepared for a ROI target of a minimum of 1 year or MORE

so sad but very true EXCLUDING downtimes, warranty claims & the other usual stuffs.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1820



View Profile
August 28, 2016, 01:38:28 AM
 #55

new fan design seems to be more efficient & quiter, kudos to that but here are my thoughts on the R4

1. there ain't gonna be any easy find for the FAN if it breaks down = DOWNTIME !
2. the heatsinks are in a 90 degree orientation so you can only run R4 blades
3. this thing looks WIDE, hence taking up rack space & NON stack-able but imo with a little creativity & simple mod/add on should solve that problem
4. still the same 3 x PCIE jacks for each blade but the orientation does NOT allow for wiring management say if you purchase 2 x R4 with the new PSU but on the new PSU i think I see ONLY 7 PCIE & not 14 of them, well I could be wrong though & it will be most likely to be 18 AWG sizes.

let's see when it launches & my guess was REALLY close with BMT pricing it around 1.7 btc ish range, the PSU is nice for newbies but for the hardcore diy'ers out there, there are alot more options & much cheaper PSU with the same power or more.

will the S9 prices drop after the R4 launch, i'd say NO !

atm, it's difficult for me to purchase the R4 atm UNLESS there are readily available parts with reasonable pricing or any other aftermarkets. The ONLY PROS on the R4 would be most likely cooler chips & quieter miner but i'd still go for the 11.85 ths S9 as i think the EOL will last longer than the R4 & the pricing per ths should be more or less the same & the S9 have some available aftermarket parts readily available.

just my 2 cents.


All solid points, but let's see price and WARRANTY. A consumer item should have warranty of 1 year minimum.
Prediction: they will price it too high, but will relatively quickly drop it once A7 shows up.
In fact, perhaps A7 is also consumer oriented and they are trying to preempt it. We shall see.

sadly :

NO way it's gonna be a 1 year warranty
YES the price will be HIGH & NO the price will NOT quickly drop
A7 price or Avalon prices are ALWAYS a tad more than BMT prices sadly

in other words be prepared for a ROI target of a minimum of 1 year or MORE

so sad but very true EXCLUDING downtimes, warranty claims & the other usual stuffs.

Then it is NOT a home item, period.
Mass consumers are not like us, who just turn another cheek and wait for it.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 3144



View Profile
August 28, 2016, 01:57:42 AM
 #56

And  gpu mining looks better mostly due to sales and warranty tactics of btc ASIC builders.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1820



View Profile
August 28, 2016, 04:09:47 AM
 #57

And  gpu mining looks better mostly due to sales and warranty tactics of btc ASIC builders.

the problem is that each manufacturer makes their own mining chip. if there was something like Intel/AMD duopoly and anyone could order from some company (ies) like this, then final product (miners) would have quickly commoditized resulting in lower prices eventually. the problem is that this market is too small (so far) for a serious player.
tbonetony
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443
Merit: 250


No zuo no die why you try, u zuo u die dont be shy


View Profile
August 28, 2016, 07:45:22 AM
 #58

Can you share a link to the youtube video? I found a bunch but they didn't seem to show details...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMgwZDtR4tw

hopefully this is on topic on how to convert for an R4 for use with a NEW 220v outlet above

IF you just want to convert a 110v outlet..make sure you have 2 spaces (you take out the single 110v breaker and make sure you have one more space in panel) you then put
in a 220v double pole breaker (ask home depot guy bring old 110v single slot breaker to get the right model) and put your preferred type of 220v plug (you can also ask home
depot guy his preference) find a proper psu cord for that wall outlet to your switching PSU (the new ones switch from 110 to 220 auto mode sense I assume this bitmain one
does as well) ...and again you simply put black tape on the neutral both ends (making it black a power lead of 110v) and use the current black (other 110v) and the ground
at both ends and the outlet...

and you should be good....any other questions PM me...we will wrap it up off this thread I assume we are still on topic due to others may also want 220v instead of 110v
for these units and the above is an easy fix.

You also have to make sure that the ONLY thing on this line you are gonna convert ONLY has the ONE outlet on  it....or ALL the outlets on  this circuit (lights won't work for this) will
have to be 220v outlet change..this is for a conversion of an existing 110v line to 220v outlet.

again running a single line  NEW from panel to the outlet is specific to the link above and is what I would recommend even if you have to fish some wire around the house.

anyway ....if you are gonna run this R4 beast imho 220v is the ONLY way to go....no way do you want it to run on 110v even if it works ..others can get into the detail
on why that is so on here or to you via pm. Also having an electrician do it is probably the wise choice on either a new line or a conversion....BTC is gonna go to 1000 usd
after you get your R4 right Smiley So you can afford it! Smiley After you have this done or do it probably not a bad idea to have it and the house inspected and signed off on all this
electrical stuff anyway....they also have whole house surge protectors ..(which I should probably do) ...anyway whatever way you go you want these R4's at 220v imho.



Thank you for the explanation. I actually wanted to add in that 2 pole breaker a while back but then I realized I had too many other appliances would not work at 220v. I live in a small condo so choices are very limited. If I move into a big house then I would definitely devote the entire basement to build my own farm lol.

Customizable full-featured crypto trading platform in development. Asking for demo if interested.







I offer private S9 rental for various length: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1708351.0
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1028


View Profile
August 28, 2016, 10:13:59 PM
 #59

Not quite sure why a centrifugal fan has all its sides vented if its in push configuration as they usually intake from the ends and spray air radially. You control the direction of flow with a cover or case which they're not using. So if its in pull configuration then how is it generating enough pressure as a centrifugal fan surrounded by open vents?

 2 sides, not all - but that's STILL an odd design decision that one would think would reduce the fan efficiency.

 There is NO reason the R4 can't be run on a 110 circuit - it's actually a TON better for that than the existing S9 units that force you to push a common 15 Amp 110 circuit VERY hard. 8 amps or so draw is VERY easy on a 15 amp circuit, and 2 would be practical (using seperate OUTLETS unless the outlet itself is one of the less-common NEMA 5-20 type) on a single 20 amp circuit.


 One of the pages linked somewhere cited "515mm" width - that's a bit over 20" and will NOT fit in a standard rackmount space.
 It's a good fit for my homebuilt "made to fit A2 Terminator" wood shelving though - almost identical width, and a bit lower in height.
 8-)



I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
cloh76
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 318
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 29, 2016, 09:03:58 PM
 #60

Did they already increase the price from 100 USD to 1300 USD?

[ BTC Donations: 13RNJdT72WEd1FsT3CwdJ6jy9NAa7Hsb54 ]
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!