Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 07:36:04 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain Announces the Antminer R4 and APW5 Power Supply, Designed for Silence  (Read 68590 times)
LASERminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 08, 2016, 08:47:08 PM
 #441

Are they still accepting payment via wire transfer. I placed my order on the 2nd of Dec paid via bank transfer. My order was expired after 3 days after contacting them I got replied that they don't accept wire transfer anymore. Has anybody got the same problem? Or has anybody got refunded after paying via wire transfer.

There was Wire transfer option available at the Bitmain Store checkout.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539891364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539891364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539891364
Reply with quote  #2

1539891364
Report to moderator
1539891364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539891364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539891364
Reply with quote  #2

1539891364
Report to moderator
reelen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 08, 2016, 08:53:37 PM
 #442

Anyone that purchased multiple units seeing a large range of chip temps by unit?

One of my units is showing 105/79 and 93/103.  The other that is sitting right next to it, with same airflow and ambient temps showing 70/70 and 55/75.  Doesn't make sense.  Do you think the lower temperature unit is reading the temps incorrectly by chance?  The other 2 R4 batch 1 unit chip temps I have in the room are all about 88c~
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
December 08, 2016, 09:43:50 PM
 #443

Are they still accepting payment via wire transfer. I placed my order on the 2nd of Dec paid via bank transfer. My order was expired after 3 days after contacting them I got replied that they don't accept wire transfer anymore. Has anybody got the same problem? Or has anybody got refunded after paying via wire transfer.

There was Wire transfer option available at the Bitmain Store checkout.
The s9 BUY page now in bold states "BTC only for these miners".

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
December 08, 2016, 09:46:12 PM
 #444

Anyone that purchased multiple units seeing a large range of chip temps by unit?

One of my units is showing 105/79 and 93/103.  The other that is sitting right next to it, with same airflow and ambient temps showing 70/70 and 55/75.  Doesn't make sense.  Do you think the lower temperature unit is reading the temps incorrectly by chance?  The other 2 R4 batch 1 unit chip temps I have in the room are all about 88c~
Ja temps on the auto tune miners will vary a lot from miner to miner. Part of what auto-tune seems to do is look at hashrate vs temp and use that data as part of the Majik Sauce of speed, temp, and Vcore used to produce as-advertised total hashrate. That process lets them be less picky about what params are best for any particular group of chips from the Foundry and that in turn gives them a lot more usable chips. -- If any individual hashboard(s) under-performs they make sure a better one is in the same miner to give advertised speed.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
IITravel01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 325
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 08, 2016, 10:15:48 PM
 #445

Anyone that purchased multiple units seeing a large range of chip temps by unit?

One of my units is showing 105/79 and 93/103.  The other that is sitting right next to it, with same airflow and ambient temps showing 70/70 and 55/75.  Doesn't make sense.  Do you think the lower temperature unit is reading the temps incorrectly by chance?  The other 2 R4 batch 1 unit chip temps I have in the room are all about 88c~
Ja temps on the auto tune miners will vary a lot from miner to miner. Part of what auto-tune seems to do is look at hashrate vs temp and use that data as part of the Majik Sauce of speed, temp, and Vcore used to produce as-advertised total hashrate. That process lets them be less picky about what params are best for any particular group of chips from the Foundry and that in turn gives them a lot more usable chips. -- If any individual hashboard(s) under-performs they make sure a better one is in the same miner to give advertised speed.

I agree with this, I've got one board in my R4 b2 that's 105 deg. C but is the slower (555 M avg) of the 2 and also the one putting out 215 HW errors vs. the other at 91 deg. C that's only got 16 HW errors at 559 M (avg).
Jaz80
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 08, 2016, 10:18:14 PM
 #446

Are they still accepting payment via wire transfer. I placed my order on the 2nd of Dec paid via bank transfer. My order was expired after 3 days after contacting them I got replied that they don't accept wire transfer anymore. Has anybody got the same problem? Or has anybody got refunded after paying via wire transfer.

There was Wire transfer option available at the Bitmain Store checkout.

Not anymore they are only accepting bitcoins.
LASERminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 08, 2016, 11:25:42 PM
 #447

They not accepting any orders for R4 ATM. and no wire for current limited batch of S9.
Who knows what will be at next sale of any miner.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1022


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 12:19:41 AM
 #448

They not accepting any orders for R4 ATM. and no wire for current limited batch of S9.
Who knows what will be at next sale of any miner.

 There are still S7-LN and S5 units available - from NewEgg.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
agentcash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 09:38:11 AM
 #449

Is "Chain[7] has 0 asic" a fried board?
LASERminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 11:34:10 AM
 #450

They not accepting any orders for R4 ATM. and no wire for current limited batch of S9.
Who knows what will be at next sale of any miner.

 There are still S7-LN and S5 units available - from NewEgg.

We are talking about Bitmain shop acceptable payment.
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1009



View Profile
December 09, 2016, 11:59:00 AM
 #451

Ouch, UPS just stung me for over $300 in taxes, duty and "handling charges"   Roll Eyes

Now I remember why I don't buy miners in the UK anymore. Lucky I have free electric for this or I wouldn't bother.  Cry

That's exactly why I haven't bought a new miner from outside the EU. Ridiculous charges from government, then the handling charges on top of that aswell  Roll Eyes

Still have to pay tax if you buy inside the EU new. Only way out of paying VAT is to buy second hand, which has its own risks.

I normally buy and then get it delivered and hosted outside the EU so China or US. But the R4 is a curiosity a toy (almost) for home/office mining so worth a punt.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2016, 04:27:01 PM
 #452

Are they still accepting payment via wire transfer. I placed my order on the 2nd of Dec paid via bank transfer. My order was expired after 3 days after contacting them I got replied that they don't accept wire transfer anymore. Has anybody got the same problem? Or has anybody got refunded after paying via wire transfer.

There was Wire transfer option available at the Bitmain Store checkout.

Not anymore they are only accepting bitcoins.

My bet is these are let over, or units that didn't meet spec.. maybe hashnet surplus, and they are wanting to keep the sales off the books lol
Make-A-Buck
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 07:22:19 PM
 #453

Well, I hope the R4 I found is legit. Just bought one, so I guess I'll see if they actually have it IN HAND in the USA & will ship it within 10 days...

Antminer R4, 8TH/s Designed for home use.NOTE: We ship the miner after 10 days
http://www.ebay.com/itm/162307697540

The seller has sold Antminers in the past, both used and a new one with positive feedback, so hopefully I'll have a new R4 to start mining with in about 2 weeks. Had to pay a premium price, but if it will be months b4 the next batch comes out, I'd rather have one now & hashing so it can pay for itself sooner rather than later when the difficulty increases.



People are paying $2000 USD for a batch 1 so you didn't pay too much.

Good to know. Thanks dogjunior.  Sure hope I actually get it.
I'll be keeping an eye on this thread since others here are expecting theirs to come in this week.
Hope the R4 Batch 2's can be overclocked to 650 like the Batch 1's. We will see.

Well dogjunior, things are looking up. Looks like they actually shipped my new Antminer R4 today! Coming from Michigan to Florida.
Scheduled FedEx delivery date is Fri 12/16/2016. Hopefully this Batch 2 unit is a good one that runs cooler & not like some that run over 100.
Guess it's time to pick out a Digital Wallet, and a Pool. I've read that it's a good idea to shy away from AntPool since they are approaching a monopoly, so I'll try to find a good one that doesn't charge a fee & has a decent web console to see stats, etc. I'd like to belong to a pool that is able to send e-mail or text alerts if my miner goes down, or is not hashing normally. Any ideas?
Hope to be mining soon. Thanks all for your help & information. Cheers!
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 07:31:45 PM
 #454

I'd say kano.is Smiley

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=789369

VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 503


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 08:25:45 PM
 #455

LOVE my R4!  And I'd second kano.is

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP),S9-13.5 & S9r-11.5
LASERminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 09:05:53 PM
 #456

Two R4 arrived yesterday in UK.
My impressions:
1- This thing is huge! I mean long and wide comparing to any S
2- It is way quieter than S3! You can potentially have it in the bedroom. My ones installed today in attic - can't hear a thing anywhere in the house
3- Hooked this morning to KANO.IS of course because:
- best overall historical luck
- best support from kano himself here on forum (almost 24/7)
- easy simple straight forward setup and web stats
- Status mobile App with notification for block find, miners speed
- and... o yeah first payment just came after little over 4hrs of mining!

HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1217


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2016, 09:30:12 PM
 #457

I got the R4 today as well and it is huge indeed Smiley
Working nicely and quiet.
I bought Enermax Revolution 87+ 1000W PSU from mammon for this and it is a great choice (I also have previous good experiences with this PSU).
You just need a PCI-E power splitter or one more modular PCI-E cable and you're good to go with this PSU.
But I still asked again Bitmain for the possibilty to manipulate the settings myself.
As I see it in the kernel log, it is the PIC firmware version in the hash board, which is programmed for the auto-tune setting and once the controller notices it, it disables user freq settings possibility.
Code:
...
Find hashboard on Chain[6]
Find hashboard on Chain[7]
Check chain[6] PIC fw version=0x02
Check chain[7] PIC fw version=0x02
has freq in PIC, will disable freq setting.
chain[6] has freq in PIC and will jump over...
Chain[6] has core num in PIC
Check chain[6] PIC fw version=0x02
has freq in PIC, will disable freq setting.
chain[7] has freq in PIC and will jump over...
Chain[7] has core num in PIC
Check chain[7] PIC fw version=0x02
get PIC voltage=57 on chain[6], value=910
get PIC voltage=57 on chain[7], value=910
chain[6] temp offset record: 3,-11,4,-6,0,0,0,0
chain[7] temp offset record: 3,-15,4,-8,0,0,0,0
check PIC voltage=910 on chain[6]
check PIC voltage=910 on chain[7]
set command mode to VIL
...

dogjunior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 09:38:13 PM
 #458

Anyone that purchased multiple units seeing a large range of chip temps by unit?

One of my units is showing 105/79 and 93/103.  The other that is sitting right next to it, with same airflow and ambient temps showing 70/70 and 55/75.  Doesn't make sense.  Do you think the lower temperature unit is reading the temps incorrectly by chance?  The other 2 R4 batch 1 unit chip temps I have in the room are all about 88c~
Ja temps on the auto tune miners will vary a lot from miner to miner. Part of what auto-tune seems to do is look at hashrate vs temp and use that data as part of the Majik Sauce of speed, temp, and Vcore used to produce as-advertised total hashrate. That process lets them be less picky about what params are best for any particular group of chips from the Foundry and that in turn gives them a lot more usable chips. -- If any individual hashboard(s) under-performs they make sure a better one is in the same miner to give advertised speed.

I agree with this, I've got one board in my R4 b2 that's 105 deg. C but is the slower (555 M avg) of the 2 and also the one putting out 215 HW errors vs. the other at 91 deg. C that's only got 16 HW errors at 559 M (avg).

I have one that is 78/68 and 84/113 with ambient temp at 23 C
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
December 09, 2016, 11:03:41 PM
 #459

I got the R4 today as well and it is huge indeed Smiley
Working nicely and quiet.
I bought Enermax Revolution 87+ 1000W PSU from mammon for this and it is a great choice (I also have previous good experiences with this PSU).
You just need a PCI-E power splitter or one more modular PCI-E cable and you're good to go with this PSU.
But I still asked again Bitmain for the possibilty to manipulate the settings myself.
As I see it in the kernel log, it is the PIC firmware version in the hash board, which is programmed for the auto-tune setting and once the controller notices it, it disables user freq settings possibility.
<snip>
Welllll.... it all rather depends on what changes there are to the hashboard circuitry vs the first batch. This applies to the s9 boards as well.

Can you take a pic of the front & back of the Vcore regulator area of an R4 board? Mainly interested in seeing if someone else can post a pic of a batch 1 so some differences can/might be seen. If there are any then probably game over right there.

That follows with someone hooking up a PIC programmer and pulling the code from the PIC and then knowing how to read and hack it. Programmer I got from doing the Sidehack UV/UC mods to my s7's. Reading & hacking the firmware is definitely outside of my province.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Liquid71
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842
Merit: 1000


There is NO Freedom without Privacy


View Profile
December 11, 2016, 09:09:34 PM
 #460

Any chance this will ever be in stock again? Huh

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!