Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 12:18:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Transaction status "Not in blockchain yet"  (Read 693 times)
sabretache
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10



View Profile WWW
September 07, 2016, 08:11:06 AM
 #1

On 20 August I sent a small btc amount to another (Electrum) wallet of mine. The transaction arrived OK and was reported by Electrum as confirmed within an hour.

It can be viewed on the Blockchain at: https://blockchain.info/tx/1ed12b046d7fe0edde347faf24852b9be38d60e4637af5e3b179d70094f11b57

To date the transaction is still reported by Armory as "Not in the blockchain yet" and appears in light grey with zero confirmations in the transactions list. However, the link to the blockchain entry from Armory works OK and the reported wallet balance is correct..

Can someone suggest what has gone wrong here - and how to fix it.

FI. Using 0.94.1 on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - also I'm light on techie  skills.

Thanks in advance.

Sabretache
1513513120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513513120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513513120
Reply with quote  #2

1513513120
Report to moderator
1513513120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513513120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513513120
Reply with quote  #2

1513513120
Report to moderator
Bitcoin mining is now a specialized and very risky industry, just like gold mining. Amateur miners are unlikely to make much money, and may even lose money. Bitcoin is much more than just mining, though!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513513120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513513120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513513120
Reply with quote  #2

1513513120
Report to moderator
1513513120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513513120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513513120
Reply with quote  #2

1513513120
Report to moderator
1513513120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513513120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513513120
Reply with quote  #2

1513513120
Report to moderator
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
September 07, 2016, 09:38:36 AM
 #2

Let's see some log files first.

sabretache
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2016, 06:29:01 PM
 #3

Let's see some log files first.

I have done 2 x restores from a paper backup. The first using the repair option; the second using the overwrite option. In both cases the wallet restored OK but that transaction remains greyed out with zero confirmations, per original message.

Here is the portion of the log file that seems appropriate - ie the lines following successful loading of Armory, thru sending the transaction, to closing Armory.

Code:
2016-08-20 22:34 (INFO) -- Networking.py:341 - Handshake finished, connection open!
2016-08-20 22:34 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:3121 - Current block number: 425773
2016-08-20 22:36 (INFO) -- TxFrames.py:720 - Change address behavior: NewAddr
2016-08-20 22:36 (INFO) -- (PPRINT from /usr/lib/armory/ArmoryQt.py:3705)

  01000000 01d8dedf fad4fa85 1514c440 5c0ee242 fdbb9726 e5d64c5b bc4f3ae2
  142bc759 8d010000 008a4730 44022042 2fd70bab 20fcf753 3b995225 3bd7ef55
  5a25cc11 d90289ff d075b010 40a21202 20689c17 75e26496 beaadcf4 c320aaf4
  84dad0d7 1b4af28c 227c2154 98e3f877 ff014104 3edaf684 b36adaca b3c78b68
  315707a4 74fa2931 98cda94c a2d617c6 d48b05ad e1d829da 22f925cd eccc1456
  f48a930a 1900e212 0d34c274 5c8abd5b d8bcf841 ffffffff 0298b1ef 02000000
  001976a9 145dba83 296f3395 06fb208d e1d14f70 7ebbc59f ac88ac3e caaf1a00
  00000019 76a914f6 91e90e08 1db7a626 7ee19d0f d63b4f56 565bf288 ac000000
  00
2016-08-20 22:36 (INFO) -- (PPRINT from /usr/lib/armory/ArmoryQt.py:3706)
Transaction:
   TxHash:    1ed12b046d7fe0edde347faf24852b9be38d60e4637af5e3b179d70094f11b57 (BE)
   Version:   1
   nInputs:   1
   nOutputs:  2
   LockTime:  0
   Inputs:
      PyTxIn:
         PrevTxHash: 8d59c72b14e23a4fbc5b4cd6e52697bbfd42e20e5c40c4141585fad4fadfded8 (BE)
         TxOutIndex: 1
         Script:     (4730440220422fd70bab20fcf7533b9952253bd7ef555a25cc11d90289ffd075)
         Sender:     1PUk2DnvQrQrZAqqAMvswqk3rTCkHET6KK
         Seq:        4294967295
   Outputs:
      TxOut:
         Value:   49263000 (0.49263)
         Script:  OP_DUP OP_HASH160 (19YbGwqsuAYyEByPo3vvs3Kr3XJcvwH9DN) OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG
      TxOut:
         Value:   447728190 (4.4772819)
         Script:  OP_DUP OP_HASH160 (1PUk2DnvQrQrZAqqAMvswqk3rTCkHET6KK) OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG

2016-08-20 22:36 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:3708 - Sending Tx, 571bf19400d779b1e3f57a63e4608de39b2b8524af7f34deede07f6d042bd11e
2016-08-20 22:36 (INFO) -- Networking.py:279 - sendTx called...
2016-08-20 22:36 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:3710 - Transaction sent to Satoshi client...!
2016-08-20 22:36 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6584 - Bitcoins Sent!
Amount:  0.49314684 BTC
From:    Wallet "Main" (9WS2gufD)
To:      19YbGwqsuAYyEByPo3vvs3Kr3XJcvwH9DN
2016-08-20 22:37 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6685 - BDM is safe for clean shutdown
2016-08-20 22:37 (INFO) -- SDM.py:683 - Called stopBitcoind
2016-08-20 22:37 (ERROR) -- Networking.py:350 - ***Connection to Satoshi client LOST!  Attempting to reconnect...
2016-08-20 22:37 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6727 - Attempting to close the main window!

Sabretache
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2016, 06:35:43 PM
 #4

Here is the portion of the log file that seems appropriate - ie the lines following successful loading of Armory, thru sending the transaction, to closing Armory.
Please show the entire log, or at least the portion containing the run where this happened. There may be some other issue reported in the log that you did not see.

sabretache
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2016, 06:54:14 AM
 #5

Here is the portion of the log file that seems appropriate - ie the lines following successful loading of Armory, thru sending the transaction, to closing Armory.
Please show the entire log, or at least the portion containing the run where this happened. There may be some other issue reported in the log that you did not see.

The portion already posted IS 'the run where this happened'.

Trying to post the runs either side of that already posted results in an 'allowed characters exceeded' message.

My suspicion is that the bitcoin core database is compromised in some way but I don't relish the prospect of downloading the whole damn thing yet again. If Goatpig and/or other techie-competent folk here agree, then might it be possible to delete that portion of the database prior to 20 August (the offending transaction date) and simply download the from there?

If so How?

Sabretache
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 07:13:49 AM
 #6

The portion already posted IS 'the run where this happened'.

Trying to post the runs either side of that already posted results in an 'allowed characters exceeded' message.

Unless you are familiar with the content of Armory log files, please post the entire thing. Use pastebin instead of trying to copy paste the content here.

Quote
My suspicion is that the bitcoin core database is compromised in some way but I don't relish the prospect of downloading the whole damn thing yet again. If Goatpig and/or other techie-competent folk here agree, then might it be possible to delete that portion of the database prior to 20 August (the offending transaction date) and simply download the from there?

Before we can tell you to do that, we need to see your log file, in full. We could be lazy, not ask for logs and simply tell you to nuke the last 100 blkXXXXX.dat files. But that not even may be the issue. So let's see these logs first.

sabretache
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2016, 08:24:57 PM
 #7

I've had to trim the file to get under the 512K limit for guest users but there a lot either side of the offending transaction time.

http://pastebin.com/hkMVzj0t

FFI. I have been leaving the Bitcoin core GUI running constantly to keep the db utd and provide a full network node, then shutting it down before periodically loading Armory to check for incoming payments and/or send payments (I'm nervous about leaving a wallet with upwards of 50 BTC sitting online all the time). On occasion I have forgotten to close the BTC GUI before loading Armory and thus been prompted to close it  first. Also, I have suffered the odd 'unexpected closure' of the BTC GUI which remain unsolved. When that has happened it has left bitcoind running and I've had to shut it down with the OS terminal before starting Armory again.


Sabretache
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2016, 09:40:24 PM
 #8

I've had to trim the file to get under the 512K limit for guest users but there a lot either side of the offending transaction time.

http://pastebin.com/hkMVzj0t
For some reason your Armory has not been in sync. It is stuck at block 425773. To fix this, I think you need to rebuild and rescan the databases. Go the Help > Rebuild and Rescan Databases. Click yes then restart Armory.

FFI. I have been leaving the Bitcoin core GUI running constantly to keep the db utd and provide a full network node, then shutting it down before periodically loading Armory to check for incoming payments and/or send payments (I'm nervous about leaving a wallet with upwards of 50 BTC sitting online all the time). On occasion I have forgotten to close the BTC GUI before loading Armory and thus been prompted to close it  first. Also, I have suffered the odd 'unexpected closure' of the BTC GUI which remain unsolved. When that has happened it has left bitcoind running and I've had to shut it down with the OS terminal before starting Armory again.
If you're doing that, might as well just turn off the auto-managed bitcoind. Go to File > Settings and uncheck "Let armory run Bitcoin-core in the background". Then restart Armory. This will allow you to keep Bitcoin Core running while Armory is running. However, in order for Armory to work, you will need to start Bitcoin Core by yourself. If you are using a custom datadir for either Armory or Bitcoin Core, you will need to set command line options, --datadir=<path> for Armory's and --satoshi-datadir=<path> for Bitcoin Core.

sabretache
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2016, 04:04:23 PM
 #9

For some reason your Armory has not been in sync. It is stuck at block 425773. To fix this, I think you need to rebuild and rescan the databases. Go the Help > Rebuild and Rescan Databases. Click yes then restart Armory.

Thanks for that achow101. Job done.

Amazing how easy it is to miss a solution when it is staring you in the face eh?

Thanks for the additional tips too - and to others for progressing this

Sabretache
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!