Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2018, 11:39:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can anyone mine eth right now?  (Read 710 times)
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1062


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 07:27:25 PM
 #1

It seems that it is something major related to geth.
All of my rigs are not working.
Someone messes up with geth (DOS?) on the eve of major ethereum meetup in Shanghai.
Not good.
1524742770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524742770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524742770
Reply with quote  #2

1524742770
Report to moderator
1524742770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524742770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524742770
Reply with quote  #2

1524742770
Report to moderator
1524742770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524742770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524742770
Reply with quote  #2

1524742770
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1062

bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 07:30:02 PM
 #2

It seems that it is something major related to geth.
All of my rigs are not working.
Someone messes up with geth (DOS?) on the eve of major ethereum meetup in Shanghai.
Not good.

I really like problems with ETH (it boosts trust and price of Bitcoin)!
This is not looking good for them, since the "hack" and now this problem with is another blockchain issue.
The developers proably didn't expect their coin to get so big!

rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2016, 07:30:50 PM
 #3

No issues here at all.

rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2016, 07:31:13 PM
 #4

It seems that it is something major related to geth.
All of my rigs are not working.
Someone messes up with geth (DOS?) on the eve of major ethereum meetup in Shanghai.
Not good.

I really like problems with ETH (it boosts trust and price of Bitcoin)!
This is not looking good for them, since the "hack" and now this problem with is another blockchain issue.
The developers proably didn't expect their coin to get so big!

Rofl. Troll.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1177


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 07:32:05 PM
 #5

It seems that it is something major related to geth.
All of my rigs are not working.
Someone messes up with geth (DOS?) on the eve of major ethereum meetup in Shanghai.
Not good.

my rigs are all working but I can not check my site.


so maybe I am wasting power or maybe I am whaling  just do not know.


so this is how btc competes with eth coin  they ddos sites since they know they are losing to eth coin as a value to mine.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
20kevin20
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 07:39:06 PM
 #6

I just read another thread regarding an attack over the ETH network. I guess that's what happened there. We'll see soon at the News about what is going on; let's hope none of you lost any coin.
peoples
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 07:40:08 PM
 #7

geth seems to have problems right now ..
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 07:47:40 PM
 #8

It doesn't look like it's an attack, it's likely an issue with Geth.

RIP Bittrex
flikflak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 08:41:42 PM
 #9

The pool Im connected to is still submitting to the network and getting ether, so i hope its nothing serious. But the difficulty went down from 75k to 60 (so we have 20% less)
Ambros
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500

pool.sexy co-founder


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 09:02:08 PM
 #10

Every pool i checked had a hash rate drop. Someone knows something about it ?
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1062

bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 09:05:20 PM
 #11

The pool Im connected to is still submitting to the network and getting ether, so i hope its nothing serious. But the difficulty went down from 75k to 60 (so we have 20% less)

Maybe a data centre or pool has gone offline or something then?
That means that there will probably be some small effect on the network.
If it's a few nodes that have gone down, then, when they come back online the network will go back to normal.
The problem is probably OP's configuration or the pool they use.

Every pool i checked had a hash rate drop. Someone knows something about it ?
Now that is an odd thing to happen.

There appears to be speculation on DoS attacks [https://forum.ethereum.org/categories/mining], that would potentially slow down the network.

QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1021


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 09:06:58 PM
 #12

per ethmine pool, there was an apparent DDOS attack on the Ethereum network forcing GETH offline.

Issue seems to have lasted about 3 hours and resolved about 30 mins back.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 530


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2016, 12:22:52 AM
 #13

https://steemit.com/crypto-news/@crypt0mine/ethereum-client-geth-has-an-error-which-is-exploitet-right-before-ethereum-devcon-2

"nanopool ‏@nanopool_org
Ethereum network is under attack. ETH pool is temporary disabled due to bug in geth wallet."

Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
64dimensions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 05:26:41 PM
 #14

There was a particular block number that found a bug in geth.

If you are solo mining, use parity 0.1.3  Ethcore has a script that will install parity 0.1.3 automatically.

Pools that are using the parity client are up. There is a geth patch out: https://blog.ethereum.org/2016/09/18/security-alert-geth-nodes-crash-due-memory-bug/

To find out which pools are up, just go to the etherscan.io blockchain explorer and look at the latest blocks to see which pools are up.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!