Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:08:41 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 [191] 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1200 TH] EMC: 0 Fee DGM. Anonymous PPS. US & EU servers. No Registration!  (Read 460926 times)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 11:35:51 PM
 #3801

You need BFGMiner or the latest CGMiner and you'll need to point to port 3333... all servers SHOULD work, though mdude77 says he can only connect on US1, which is strange since all the servers run the same codebase.

At the moment if you connect to the normal connections it redirects to GBT.
Obviously by design.
Is there a reason to not redirect to Stratum first if the miner supports it?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1480702121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702121
Reply with quote  #2

1480702121
Report to moderator
1480702121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702121
Reply with quote  #2

1480702121
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480702121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702121
Reply with quote  #2

1480702121
Report to moderator
1480702121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702121
Reply with quote  #2

1480702121
Report to moderator
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 12:43:13 AM
 #3802

On port 3333 it redirects to GBT?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 12:52:30 AM
 #3803

I'm mining with stratum on US3 without falling back to GBT at the moment, doesn't appear to be any problems.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 12:52:52 AM
 #3804

On port 3333 it redirects to GBT?
http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 switches to GBT
(you can put an x-stratum header to tell it to try Stratum first)

(sorry - by normal, I meant the http: connections, i.e. non-stratum)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 12:56:17 AM
 #3805

Shouldn't you be using port 3333 if you want Stratum though?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 01:40:32 AM
 #3806

Shouldn't you be using port 3333 if you want Stratum though?
Well - since requesting GetWork switches to GBT I just sorta thought it would be nice to switch to Stratum instead Smiley

... since the GBT spec has yet to deal with the issues that have been brought up - it seems reasonable, for now, to switch to Stratum if the miner supports it.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 01:56:40 AM
 #3807

Kano's just trolling, as usual.

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 01:59:31 AM
 #3808

Kano's just trolling, as usual.

LP and GBT take up significantly more bandwidth and resources than stratum.  Why would anyone NOT want to use stratum, aside from personal aka non logical reasons?

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 02:18:58 AM
 #3809

Kano's just trolling, as usual.

LP and GBT take up significantly more bandwidth and resources than stratum.  Why would anyone NOT want to use stratum, aside from personal aka non logical reasons?
This simply isn't true. The only case where stratum uses noticably less bandwidth is the case where it is harmful to the Bitcoin network. Using it in a secure fashon uses about as much bandwidth as GBT. On the other hand, GBT is far more miner-friendly in general, since it allows miners more control over the blocks they are mining.

ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 02:35:47 AM
 #3810

Kano's just trolling, as usual.

LP and GBT take up significantly more bandwidth and resources than stratum.  Why would anyone NOT want to use stratum, aside from personal aka non logical reasons?

M

I did notice if I mined with cgminer on the GBT port, there will be occasional port failures. After moving to the stratum port 3333, I hardly see failures or rejects. I guess my internet connection in Asia side is not consistent enough.

BTW Inaba, seems that the rewards from your EMC pool are much higher for my small time 600 Mh/s rig since the last 24 hours, compared to other mining pools.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 02:37:55 AM
 #3811

Kano's just trolling, as usual.

LP and GBT take up significantly more bandwidth and resources than stratum.  Why would anyone NOT want to use stratum, aside from personal aka non logical reasons?
This simply isn't true. The only case where stratum uses noticably more bandwidth is the case where it is harmful to the Bitcoin network. Using it in a secure fashon uses about as much bandwidth as GBT. On the other hand, GBT is far more miner-friendly in general, since it allows miners more control over the blocks they are mining.
When vehemently gnashing your teeth while typing - firstly get the words right so that your argument makes sense.
Read what you wrote again Smiley

(oh I see you settled down a bit and fixed it ... the above is what you originally typed Tongue)

Anyway, there is no implementation of GBT ANYWHERE that allows anyone to choose what transactions they want.

All Mr. Confused above is gnashing his teeth about, is that he wants the pool to send his miner a copy of every transaction it is using every time it gets work.

Stratum resolves this silly need by sending the side slice of the merkle tree instead of every transaction.
The Stratum definition allows the miner to request the full set of transactions also so that the mining software can feel all warm and fuzzy about throwing away that information before the person mining gets to read it all ...
cgminer doesn't implement a request of this VERY large waste of time.

Mr Confused put up a pull request to cgminer to get it to ask for the list of transactions more often than even GBT does.
Then he even confused himself even more by naming the fields using tonal names to attempt to hide the time frames.
So yeah when people do stupid things like that, they get ignored.

It's all a big hoax saying that if the miner gets the list of transactions, suddenly a pool is decentralised.
That, of course, is false.
Any non peer-to-peer pool is of course centralised -> you know - that pool thing you all talk to in the centre of it all deciding if your work is OK Tongue
Currently the only decentralised pool is p2pool.
Mr Confused, it's called ENGLISH, not tonal or something else ... ENGLISH, learn it Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 08:07:59 AM
 #3812

I just started us1 on port 3333 (stratum) on my 2.8GH/s Miner and it was using on average 75-150mb per hour!!!

I've got the latest BFGminer and burning on 4x 5970s

What the shit?!?

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 08:27:58 AM
 #3813

I just started us1 on port 3333 (stratum) on my 2.8GH/s Miner and it was using on average 75-150mb per hour!!!

I've got the latest BFGminer and burning on 4x 5970s

What the shit?!?
When luke-jr took stratum from cgminer to his fork, he added code to it to grab all the transactions the way GBT does at regular intervals, but to grab them even more frequently than GBT does, which of course will make it look like it uses more bandwidth than GBT. The way he "analyses" the data coming from the transactions is pretty much useless so does not really serve as any kind of meaningful audit to make sure a pool is misbehaving as a way to prevent the dangers of centralised pools to bitcoin. Since all that transaction grabbing just wastes bandwidth for no useful purpose, cgminer does no such thing. Try cgminer and compare your bandwidth usage.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 08:39:18 AM
 #3814

Kano's just trolling, as usual.

LP and GBT take up significantly more bandwidth and resources than stratum.  Why would anyone NOT want to use stratum, aside from personal aka non logical reasons?
This simply isn't true. The only case where stratum uses noticably less bandwidth is the case where it is harmful to the Bitcoin network. Using it in a secure fashon uses about as much bandwidth as GBT. On the other hand, GBT is far more miner-friendly in general, since it allows miners more control over the blocks they are mining.

Where is this software? How do I have "more control over the blocks I am mining".

And explain how I can see the big red flag showing me I'm getting ripped off by the evil pool operators.

Please tell me Luke, because I would really like to use it to control the blocks I'm mining.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 10:22:03 AM
 #3815

Try cgminer and compare your bandwidth usage.

Or use --skip-security-checks (and set some high number there) in bfgminer. This is probably available only in git master.

DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 12:42:03 PM
 #3816

What's a git master?

GITMASTER - Somebody responsible for a band of retards

Tongue

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 01:36:55 PM
 #3817

I just started us1 on port 3333 (stratum) on my 2.8GH/s Miner and it was using on average 75-150mb per hour!!!

I've got the latest BFGminer and burning on 4x 5970s

What the shit?!?
When luke-jr took stratum from cgminer to his fork, he added code to it to grab all the transactions the way GBT does at regular intervals, but to grab them even more frequently than GBT does, which of course will make it look like it uses more bandwidth than GBT. The way he "analyses" the data coming from the transactions is pretty much useless so does not really serve as any kind of meaningful audit to make sure a pool is misbehaving as a way to prevent the dangers of centralised pools to bitcoin. Since all that transaction grabbing just wastes bandwidth for no useful purpose, cgminer does no such thing. Try cgminer and compare your bandwidth usage.

Fuck me sideways, you're right!

I'm only using 50-400 bytes a second!

NICE ONE, BROTHER

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
December 05, 2012, 03:33:14 PM
 #3818

Hey,

sometime cgminer 2.9.6 connected with gbt to us3 gives me rejected shares (unknown-work) in the middle of the block. i have about 180 rejects and 11000 accepted. its not happening often, but it happens.

Anyone else have that problem? (was too lazy to try stratum)

Quote
[2012-12-05 16:36:17] Accepted 0160d6ab Diff 185/1 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2012-12-05 16:36:22] Accepted 3afb19dd Diff 4/1 ICA 0 pool 1
 [2012-12-05 16:36:24] Accepted 7421cc8b Diff 2/1 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2012-12-05 16:36:33] Rejected 658bcde8 Diff 2/1 ICA 0 pool 1 (unknown-work)
 [2012-12-05 16:36:34] Rejected 6348621c Diff 2/1 ICA 0 pool 1 (unknown-work)
 [2012-12-05 16:36:36] Rejected 2ae310ea Diff 5/1 ICA 0 pool 1 (unknown-work)
 [2012-12-05 16:36:44] Accepted c2c8db07 Diff 1/1 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2012-12-05 16:36:47] Accepted 69aaa620 Diff 2/1 ICA 0 pool 1

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
December 05, 2012, 07:46:20 PM
 #3819

Usually I can trace it to a passthrough or scan time being too high.
Try scan time of 90 and they should dissappear.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
December 05, 2012, 08:36:22 PM
 #3820

scantime is on default 60, and expiry on 120. ill try expire 90. It does not happen often though, lets see.

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
Pages: « 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 [191] 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!