Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 08:04:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 PCs, 2 miners, 1 wallet  (Read 1390 times)
whitetoo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269



View Profile WWW
April 01, 2013, 10:07:57 PM
 #1

Hi mining gurus,

I am new to bitcoin mining and wanted to check it out for a bit of fun more than anything to see what was possible with my current machines.
I have successfully got one machine chugging away in Slush's pool. I've registered two worker accounts through Slush's website.
I am running armory for my wallet on the first PC.

Is it possible to incorporate my second machine?
I tried just installing the miner and entering the new worker details but as it doesn't have the block data I didn't think it would work but tried it anyway.
Sorry if this seems really stupid.

Do I need to copy all the wallet data over to the second PC?
I have got both PC's on a home network but pointing to the data directories across the network didn't seem to work either for the 2nd PC.

Anyone able to remove my blinkers?  Grin
1511597086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511597086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511597086
Reply with quote  #2

1511597086
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511597086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511597086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511597086
Reply with quote  #2

1511597086
Report to moderator
1511597086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511597086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511597086
Reply with quote  #2

1511597086
Report to moderator
lassdas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


View Profile
April 01, 2013, 10:09:42 PM
 #2

No, you don't need a wallet, or any blockchain.data on a PC just mining,
it'll get all data it needs from the pool it is connected to.
whitetoo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269



View Profile WWW
April 01, 2013, 10:55:22 PM
 #3

Thanks for the concise answer lassdas.

At the moment, I'm trying to get the second PC to connect up.
However receiving this error through GUIMiner:
Quote
"No Connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it"

I've read in a few places that setting GUIMiner to "Launch Bitcoin client as a server" has solved this, but that's under Solo Utilities and I want to mine in a pool.

Any further help would be greatly received. Thank you
whitetoo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269



View Profile WWW
April 01, 2013, 11:01:53 PM
 #4

(facepalm) figured it out..... my firewall had blocked the file: poclbm.exe which was causing this issue.
Ah so much brainpower wasted for nothing.  Roll Eyes

Thanks again.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!