Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2018, 08:46:55 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience is now dabbling with 16nm ASICs for new designs  (Read 73379 times)
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
November 04, 2016, 06:46:07 AM
 #41

Sorry, I'm just one guy and I've already discussed three distinct design projects for miners, on top of everything else I've got going on.

Now if I end up able to make the S1 refit boards, four of those on a C1 chassis would probably hit 1000W. Or pack 'em in a rack case and hub 'em together for like 2KW. You know, whatever. But a standalone 1000W miner is not on my list.

Very doubtful you'll get enough chips to go that far........  Sad

Hope I'm wrong,but I don't see Bitfury doing anything but teasing us  Roll Eyes

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
1527497215
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527497215

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527497215
Reply with quote  #2

1527497215
Report to moderator
"If you don't want people to know you're a scumbag then don't be a scumbag." -- margaritahuyan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527497215
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527497215

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527497215
Reply with quote  #2

1527497215
Report to moderator
1527497215
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527497215

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527497215
Reply with quote  #2

1527497215
Report to moderator
1527497215
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527497215

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527497215
Reply with quote  #2

1527497215
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1093

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 12:47:24 PM
 #42

Yep, you've been pessimistic about it for months. Noted. I, however, choose the other route because it's simultaneously gonna be awesome for the community and I don't go bankrupt if I'm right.

So anyway. The stickminer question. Let's discuss that instead of everything else that's already been rolled over a couple times.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1212


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 12:54:29 PM
 #43

Yep, you've been pessimistic about it for months. Noted. I, however, choose the other route because it's simultaneously gonna be awesome for the community and I don't go bankrupt if I'm right.

So anyway. The stickminer question. Let's discuss that instead of everything else that's already been rolled over a couple times.

two-three chip  running 90 to 140gh correct?

please build it

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 02:14:15 PM
 #44

I really hope this pod miner / usb stick comes to life.  I want new miner!! lol.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1044


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 04:01:06 PM
 #45

I vote yes for the 2-3 chip stick as well.
As you said it is the least $$ risk for you, good for the community, and at least would prove to BitFury that you can do it right.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1714
Merit: 1038

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 04:09:20 PM
 #46

2-3 chip stick miners works for me.
Waldezz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 04:23:22 PM
 #47

Hello. This is my first post in this forum.

I do not care if I get multiple sticks or one pod miner. I'll take what will come sooner. So for me, if the stickminer come sooner than pod - Build it!
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 04:46:22 PM
 #48

Multi-chip USB stick is good for me aswell.  Grin

Does that mean the auction sticks are now a no go? Would the equivalent value be put towards the new USB sticks?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1093

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 04:55:18 PM
 #49

No, the auction sticks are a real thing and will go out in the next couple weeks.

gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 05:00:09 PM
 #50

No, the auction sticks are a real thing and will go out in the next couple weeks.

Sweet, got a tad confused. But yes a multi chip USB would be a great addition to the USB collection. Ill have to change the current setup now though  Roll Eyes

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1093

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 09:34:14 PM
 #51

I'll be working up a test board which is effectively a 2-chip USB miner. If it works well enough (and can be cost-effective) I'll look into paring it down to a usable stickminer size, ideally same as the BM1384 Compac. Two chips would put it in the same power range but with probably 3-5 times the hashrate.

buysolar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 04, 2016, 10:23:50 PM
 #52

My preference would be 250watt boards for the old S1's. I'd think that would give the most cost effective deployment possible.
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1017



View Profile
November 05, 2016, 12:00:50 AM
 #53

I'll be working up a test board which is effectively a 2-chip USB miner. If it works well enough (and can be cost-effective) I'll look into paring it down to a usable stickminer size, ideally same as the BM1384 Compac. Two chips would put it in the same power range but with probably 3-5 times the hashrate.
Sounds very interesting, would such a miner require a more powerful USB port? I remember one Bitfury-based dual-chip USB miner a few years ago that didn't run for me because some of my USB ports didn't provide sufficient power. Still, I love dual-chip designs, and even if it does need a stronger USB port, I'm willing to fork over more money Smiley

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
          
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                              
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
      ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
 ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 05, 2016, 12:49:48 AM
 #54

I wish had could get a good supply of Chips . i don't btc farm directly any more but would if he could get the chips , I gpu mine now , and doing good .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 05, 2016, 12:56:39 AM
 #55

My preference would be 250watt boards for the old S1's. I'd think that would give the most cost effective deployment possible.
'


and does 10 th i would invert in two or three but that's dreaming now with what may happen in china, i always knew the GOV controlled it all there, but it's worse then i thought .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
November 05, 2016, 01:05:32 AM
 #56

I wish had could get a good supply of Chips . i don't btc farm directly any more but would if he could get the chips , I gpu mine now , and doing good .

Same here,3 380's & 1 390 mining eth & other coins Smiley

What's going on in China?Huh I miss something???

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
heslo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 05, 2016, 02:04:02 AM
 #57

I'd be more keen for a pod miner but I'll take anything that sidehack puts out Smiley

Trezor Hardware wallet AVAILABLE NOW!!! - https://www.buytrezor.com?a=4d90d26cd976
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1093

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 05, 2016, 02:45:43 AM
 #58

I refuse to make anything with fixed specs, so a USB miner would be downvoltable and downclockable to run on a stock USB port. Because of buck losses and control overhead it won't be at its most efficient operating point down there, but it should still run. The BM1384 Compac could run off a 500mA port, or it could be pushed to 2.5A if you wanted.

Yeah I'd shoot for a stock power draw of about 220W DC per S1 board. When you figure in the fan and stuff, and PSU losses, you're looking at a bit over 500W wall. So not as quiet as an S3 but certainly quieter than an S5. I also intend to put PCIe jacks in the right place to still be compatible with an S3 housing. USB cabling internally will be the only worry there.

Nobody ever said a 250W board doing 10TH. That kind of thing is probably two years away at best.

toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 05, 2016, 03:07:52 AM
 #59

I wish had could get a good supply of Chips . i don't btc farm directly any more but would if he could get the chips , I gpu mine now , and doing good .

Same here,3 380's & 1 390 mining eth & other coins Smiley

What's going on in China?Huh I miss something???

crack down on BTC  they can't trade in china with the big banks and money processor, citizen are a loud to have coins but trading them might get them in big trouble. it sad to be under that kind of controll i'd rather have high prices and be free then  be told i can't do this or that if i do im killed or much less locked up .  

and my little GPU farm is growing i getting one two more at the end of month 3 RX470 2 R7 370  i kind of got Swed on, I trusted some one I  could have two 4 gb for the same price, one r9 280 that's the impressive one it all most does what a Rx480 8gb does no lie with silent army kernels, I'll mine Zcash til it dies if it does then back to ETH by die drop below eth prices and settle at xmr prices .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 05, 2016, 03:11:34 AM
 #60

I refuse to make anything with fixed specs, so a USB miner would be downvoltable and downclockable to run on a stock USB port. Because of buck losses and control overhead it won't be at its most efficient operating point down there, but it should still run. The BM1384 Compac could run off a 500mA port, or it could be pushed to 2.5A if you wanted.

Yeah I'd shoot for a stock power draw of about 220W DC per S1 board. When you figure in the fan and stuff, and PSU losses, you're looking at a bit over 500W wall. So not as quiet as an S3 but certainly quieter than an S5. I also intend to put PCIe jacks in the right place to still be compatible with an S3 housing. USB cabling internally will be the only worry there.

Nobody ever said a 250W board doing 10TH. That kind of thing is probably two years away at best.

I know just talk i wouldn't care as long it would be worth using not priced  like bitmian shit and  i know you can make it run better you have .I never said you said that Smiley . Just talk

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!