Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:02:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: R9 280x - need tips/help  (Read 958 times)
makvo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 11:14:02 AM
 #21

This is what VBE is showing for my BIOS.
Overview tab:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/m3xthfui0d6xgl0/gb_280x_1.png?raw=1

Powerplay tab:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ptpkdq2yic6e3ch/gb_280x_2.png?raw=1

When gpu core is running at freq up to 1000MHz then the VRM is programmet to apply 1019 mV.  
When core is running at a freq between 1000 and 1100 then the applied voltage is 1050 mV.
The measured voltage may be lower in both cases.
When I was playing with this a couple of years ago I was using a wattmeter to confirm the effect of the lowered voltage.
Another note: If you are struggling with high temperatures, then it may help to reapply the thermal paste on the gpu chip.
On the Gigabyte you only have to unscrew 4 screws to separate the fan assembly from the gpu.  If you are not sure, there are
plenty of good guides on Youtube.
Cheers.

Okay I just discovered after all this flashing bioses that in GPU-Z my bios version is still original. I tried following http://www.overclock.net/t/1353325/tutorial-atiwinflash-how-to-flash-the-bios-of-your-ati-cards this tutorial. But everything remains same, my GPU reached 89C again and its still going, voltage is same.

What could I be doing wrong? Also. if I re-apply thermal paste, would Deepcool Z5 be any good? I am getting a sewing machine oil today and I will do both paste and fan oiling unless I fix my BIOS problem.
1508767324
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767324

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767324
Reply with quote  #2

1508767324
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508767324
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767324

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767324
Reply with quote  #2

1508767324
Report to moderator
bobben2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 03:12:04 PM
 #22

You can use atiflash to both read and write BIOS to the card.
To store a copy of the BIOS on your GPU to disk,  do the following:

This will save the BIOS on the card to a file named origbios.rom:
atiflash -s 0 origbios.rom  
0 if your card is in slot 0.

Store this file in a safe place for later, when you need to flash the card back to original BIOS.

Open the file in VBE, make the changes described earlier and save the result with a new name, tweaked.rom
Now, you can flash your card with the saved ROM:
atiflash -p 0 tweaked.rom.

Then shutdown your computer and restart and you should be good.
Now, if your computer doesnt boot, then assume you bricked your card.
In that case take a deep breath, flick the switch on the top of the card (you card has dual bios).
Restart the comp.  When up and running, flick the BIOS switch back, then run atiflash -p 0 origbios.rom
to restore card with original BIOS.  Then do your trouble shooting from there.

Have never used Deepcool myself, but by the name it sounds like it should do the job :-)
I have used Gelid GC Extreme in the past and have been happy with the result.

Mining Hobbyist
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
October 23, 2016, 03:30:06 PM
 #23

Since it reaches 94C, are you sure all 3 fans are spinning? Do the thermal paste but if it runs at 94C now then I don't think it will do much. The fan bearing seems shot.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
makvo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 03:31:29 PM
 #24

I have replaced thermal paste. Could not oil fans because I could not quite unplug 3 pin fan connector.

It currently hit 80C, I dont think it will go too much higher its been mining for 8-10 minutes now.

Would 80C-85C be okay for mining 24/7?

You can use atiflash to both read and write BIOS to the card.
To store a copy of the BIOS on your GPU to disk,  do the following:

This will save the BIOS on the card to a file named origbios.rom:
atiflash -s 0 origbios.rom  
0 if your card is in slot 0.

Store this file in a safe place for later, when you need to flash the card back to original BIOS.

Open the file in VBE, make the changes described earlier and save the result with a new name, tweaked.rom
Now, you can flash your card with the saved ROM:
atiflash -p 0 tweaked.rom.

Then shutdown your computer and restart and you should be good.
Now, if your computer doesnt boot, then assume you bricked your card.
In that case take a deep breath, flick the switch on the top of the card (you card has dual bios).
Restart the comp.  When up and running, flick the BIOS switch back, then run atiflash -p 0 origbios.rom
to restore card with original BIOS.  Then do your trouble shooting from there.

Have never used Deepcool myself, but by the name it sounds like it should do the job :-)
I have used Gelid GC Extreme in the past and have been happy with the result.


Hmm, that is what I did pretty much except I downloaded new BIOS (latest one) and copied it and named it "[Its name]MODIFIED", it told me that it was flashing bios and I waited 1-2 minutes and it finished, when I restarted everything was the same.

About fans, yes when I looked all of them seemed to be spinning perfectly and equally at least from what I saw.
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
October 23, 2016, 03:32:47 PM
 #25

try

ATIWinflash -unlockrom 0
ATIWinflash -f -p 0 YOURBIOS.ROM


In MSI Afterburner your Voltage reading should be lower.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
makvo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 04:25:34 PM
 #26

try

ATIWinflash -unlockrom 0
ATIWinflash -f -p 0 YOURBIOS.ROM


In MSI Afterburner your Voltage reading should be lower.

Thanks, I did that but got still same outcome :/
makvo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
October 24, 2016, 09:34:00 AM
 #27

Okay to make it more detailed I just noticed it did change BIOS version. But nothing else was changed. right now its running 82-83C. I am not really sure what else to do  Cry

MSI still shows no voltage at all and CPUID monitor shows original 1.094v


Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!